Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Dureau/Mullen combination

Pika

Walsh has been fit for over eight weeks and played as many trial games.

Let it go. Scott is preferred over Walsh at this stage, end of story.

Karmawave

Pika said:
Walsh has been fit for over eight weeks and played as many trial games.

Let it go. Scott is preferred over Walsh at this stage, end of story.

Pika, tell me honestly, did Luke Walsh achieve his off season goals that the Knights wanted of him?

He might be " fit " and cleared to play.

His illness and injuries prevented him from achieving the offseason weight gain the Knights had hoped of him.

Tell me I am wrong there Pika.

I admitted last week that Scott Dureau is ahead of Luke Walsh currently. For what its worth, I don't think Luke Walsh is that much good either :lol:

I admitted I was wrong - which is a hell of a lot more than anyone here could do.

However, I am merely trying to point out that by having Scott Dureau as our number one half in the club, shows how weak we are in the position - because the bloke wouldnt be playing there in any other club in the entire NRL.

Thats all I am trying to say, so lets ease up a bit on all the wraps he is getting.

Fair dinkum, you'd think the bloke is the next Joey Johns.

Big Tim

How long have you watched Scott play???

Last night was not up to his own personal standard, but it was exactly what the team needed.

The people here pushing Scott are pushing him because for the last few years we have seen Scott lead teams around the paddock, very successfully while the bulk of that time Walsh has sat on the sidelines injured.

Maybe thats the reason why Scott is a better player. I would prefer a player with your "limited" ability who can play every week to a guy with all the skills that is made of glass.

We push for Scott because we know he is a winner.... since he joined the Knights all he has done is win us games.

Im not claiming to know Brian Smith..... nor am I gonna announce that Mullen is our #1 halfback, Walsh is our #2 and Dureau is #3.... but is it not out of the realms of possibility that Smith wanted to see Scott's reaction to not getting a contract.

IMO it has changed the way he approaches the game as a professional.

Some players train the way they play, some need to be pushed at training and others need to be threatened with their jobs.....

Signing Walsh to a 3 year contract is worthless anyway as these contacts are ridiculous. We can terminate any contract at any time, and as Clint showed last year any player can terminate their own if they want.

Karmawave

Once again...

For the dummies.

I am not denying Scott Dureau has good solid leadership, passing skills, kicking skills, organisational skills, and any other bloody skill. :lol:

He is lucky he is playing football at the Knights and that Mullen prefers 5/8, because he wouldnt be playing halfback in any other team.

Like I have said before, why don't we wait until the end of the year and discuss it all then.

roopy

I'll go out on a limb and say Dureau will produce a MOTM performance within our next 4 games.
He was a bit nervous and a bit shy last night, but that isn't his nature, the guy will be trying to run the show by round 5.

~knights~

i reckon he could play no 7 at another NRl team

have a look at joey williams game for the panthers today ,lol

Big Tim

Karmawave said:
Once again...

For the dummies.

I am not denying Scott Dureau has good solid leadership, passing skills, kicking skills, organisational skills, and any other bloody skill. :lol:

He is lucky he is playing football at the Knights and that Mullen prefers 5/8, because he wouldnt be playing halfback in any other team.

Like I have said before, why don't we wait until the end of the year and discuss it all then.

Salary cap doesnt allow you to have a SOO or International quality side 1-17.

What is so wrong with having a halfback that can lead his team to wins??? Kurt is not a talker, he leads by action..... Bedsy is similair, and Mullo is not at all comfortable telling others what to do and when.

Scott does this. We need some leadership from our halves. Scott is the one half in the club that provides that.

You dont think he is NRL quality.... I know he is.

Karmawave

Thats why opinions are so great Timmy boy.

Lets wait until the end of the year.

No one will be happier to have egg on my face than me if Scott Dureau leads us into the Top 8 believe me.

RABK

roopy said:
It was like turning back the clock to the 2004 SG Ball team today.
Dureau makes the bullets, and Mullo fires them.

I've often said the Mullo we have seen in firstgrade isn't the same guy who tore the SG Ball comp apart with his running game, but i can see half the reason is that he hasn't been getting the quality of ball that Dureau has always given him.

Dureau can go for a run himself, but why would he bother when he can feed Mullo all game.

Shutup.

roopy

Looking at the Dureau record - in 2003 he led the SG Ball team to the finals with more wins than loses - in 2004 he shared the halfback role with Walsh in Ball and we won the title and most games - in 2005 he didn't play a lot because of his shoulder injury - in 2006 he played half the season at half and half at 5/8 in Flegg and we hardly lost a game till the grandfinal - in 2007 we faded to finish 4th in PL after coming near last the season before as he led us to a heap of victories.

I'd say through the grades we have won 80% of the time Dureau has played. That includes winning one title and probably losing one because Scotty got us to the grandfinal only to be replaced by Luke Walsh on one leg for the game.

Karmawave

roopy said:
Looking at the Dureau record - in 2003 he led the SG Ball team to the finals with more wins than loses - in 2004 he shared the halfback role with Walsh in Ball and we won the title and most games - in 2005 he didn't play a lot because of his shoulder injury - in 2006 he played half the season at half and half at 5/8 in Flegg and we hardly lost a game till the grandfinal - in 2007 we faded to finish 4th in PL after coming near last the season before as he led us to a heap of victories.

I'd say through the grades we have won 80% of the time Dureau has played. That includes winning one title and probably losing one because Scotty got us to the grandfinal only to be replaced by Luke Walsh on one leg for the game.

Lets wait until the end of the year and see if he can keep his 80% winning record.

Theres a massive step up from what he has played before and first grade.

Pika

He achieved his weight goal. It was set pretty low for the simple fact Walshy has a hard time putting on weight.

Mate you knew Walsh had a disrupted preseason and you still said Scott was third string. Its only an issue now you are incorrect.

Lets be honest, the team gets picked on preseason form, and the last two weeks of training. Walsh has been 100% for eight weeks and has had plenty of time to make his way into the squad.

He is simply not good enough at the moment. How much time does Walsh need to be ready?

He missed a total of six weeks in 20 weeks of preseason, and they were in the first ten.

Scott missed a total of two with groin and hamstring.

Thats a net loss of four weeks in twenty for Walsh.

Our rep players had the same off after rep duty, Gidley, Cross not ready either?

Anyway, all this is just discussion.

Unless we assume we know more than Brian.

keeney

Dureau wasn't doing things that were all that noticeable in his own game. The greatest asset he provided was crisp distribution to Mullen, who looked better than he did most of last year in the 2nd half last night. Sure he had a couplebrain explosions, but even outside some quality touches and the promise this shows for the coming year having Mullo comfortable ensures we score moer points. Something that I haven't really seen in him since Joey retired.

Whats Doing

I thought Dureau went very quiet in the 2nd half but he will grow in confidence.

However as he and Mullo has started the season as the halves pair, they will need time to develop a combination.

Next week will be their big test.

roopy

The other thing Dureau was doing was a lot of work at dummy half - obviously as part of the game plan.
His great passing game and vision makes him a natural for this, and it ensured Bedsy could go for 80 minutes. When he did this Mullen came in to first reciever and Bedsy went a bit wide.
Last year Kidley was doing similar to take the pressure off Bedsy.

Big Tim

roopy said:
The other thing Dureau was doing was a lot of work at dummy half - obviously as part of the game plan.
His great passing game and vision makes him a natural for this, and it ensured Bedsy could go for 80 minutes. When he did this Mullen came in to first reciever and Bedsy went a bit wide.
Last year Kidley was doing similar to take the pressure off Bedsy.

Nicely spotted Roops.

I think Danny was definately set for a rest 10 out from half.... but the Simmo and Vuna injuries meant we had used 3 of our 10 subs.