Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Freshen Up Worked Wonders.

Craig Johnston

jarryd was our best AGAIN and led all players with 160 odd metres. for most players that is exceptional, jarryd's bar is so high, that this is considered "quiet" lol

jayjayselmes

Hate to approach a taboo subject but.......
Hindy was lazy in defense
Hayne was lazy in defense.

f**k me, my childhood hero in Hindy playing lazy in an important game, shattered atm.
f**k me, one of the brightest talents to grace us since Kenny, also lazy. Tip of the iceberg right there.

Id have to agree mate. Hayne was also as bad as anyone. Its like there not interested in making the finals.

Horro was the only standout. Mateo did well to

jayjayselmes

jarryd was our best AGAIN and led all players with 160 odd metres. for most players that is exceptional, jarryd's bar is so high, that this is considered "quiet" lol

Agreed. Maybe the bar is set to high. But he did look very lazy at the back in defense and positional play... they all need a cracker in there bums

boxhead

Fair enough mate. You rate him as a player and we all have opinions on who is good and who isnt. But to be honest I cant see what you see in him? Can you explain what he offers as a halfback that you think he is worth keeping? Id really like to know? I am clearly missing something.

I don't rate him as a halfback at all, I rate him as a five-eighth.
I rate him as a runner of the ball and a support-player, which is clearly what he hasn't been doing this year as he has been forced to organize at halfback.

It's something I think that has directly to do with Daniel Anderson; Mortimer has never shown any qualities of a halfback, unless you actually do want to count his short-kicking and short-passing from last year (which was successful, but obviously not this year).

The one thing that translates well with Mortimer to halfback is his confidence and determination; in my opinion he's like an inspiration, and I guess Anderson thought that having someone with so much heart at halfback could lift the team to play consistently, but it obviously didn't work out.

One thing I have noticed is that when Mortimer has actually been allowed to run the ball, that is when he has played his best footy all year. That's why I keep mentioning his chip-kick try against the Sharks; if you let him play his natural game, he will succeed. However, he is definitely not a halfback, thus why I think people should actually partly blame the coach for moving him to a spot he would never succeed in.

The thing about halfbacks is that they are rare and they are not easy to manufacture; they also usually come into first-grade much later than other players, because an inexperienced halfback can kill a team like nothing else. This is one particular reason why Mortimer, who is only 21 and never played halfback before, being told that he has to play halfback, shift away from his natural game and play a type of footy he has never played before, is something I think Anderson should rightly take a massive part of the blame for.

I bet that if Anderson had of stuck by Robson at halfback and Mortimer at five-eighth, whether we would have found success or not would be irrelevant; I bet everything I own Mortimer would have been playing 100% better, because he would at least be playing his preferred and natural position of five-eighth.

mrpwnd

Id have to agree mate. Hayne was also as bad as anyone. Its like there not interested in making the finals.

I'm mixed on Mateo atm, 60 minutes of absolute brain explosions including a never before witnessed offload to himself.
Then out of nowhere he goes and sets up a try and scores one.
I love Mateo, but i'm going to have to concede the fact that I will no longer miss this fat polynesian bloke. His inconsistency far outweighs his excitement as a player atm.

yy_cheng

Mateo, well so so.

But Benny was outstanding for mine.

He ran hard, defended hard, and he was defending where Taylor was running.

jayjayselmes

Mateo, well so so.

But Benny was outstanding for mine.

He ran hard, defended hard, and he was defending where Taylor was running.
Id agree with that perspective. I would not be un happy if Ben Smith became co captain next year. OR Captain in his own right when Hindy retires.

Craig Johnston

wouldn't read too much into mateo's last try, the bunnies shut up shop. the tackling efforts on him were laughable

jayjayselmes

I'm mixed on Mateo atm, 60 minutes of absolute brain explosions including a never before witnessed offload to himself.
Then out of nowhere he goes and sets up a try and scores one.
I love Mateo, but i'm going to have to concede the fact that I will no longer miss this fat polynesian bloke. His inconsistency far outweighs his excitement as a player atm.

Yeah im going to have to agree. A mate of mine loves him. But i always said he does 3 kick a$$ offloads resulting in tries or huge metres gained. Then does 4 bad things that result in tries against us or lots of defending.

And Inu is a joke. I am sorry but its true. All i can say is i hope we have heaps of $$$ to sign a few consistent player for next year

Casper The Ghost

I agree. His form last year was the temporary part. The way he sold ozzy for 250k was all class

How do you know he is on $250K?
or $200K?

What if there is a deal involving the sponsorship of his dads wines in all of this?
It is possible Ozzie stitched up a deal where Daniel is on lesser money but Mortimer wines gets many a plug for being a sponsor?
Keeping Daniel on the field for so long this year may have something to do with such an arrangement..

1 Eyed TEZZA

Hate to approach a taboo subject but.......
Hindy was lazy in defense
Hayne was lazy in defense.

f**k me, my childhood hero in Hindy playing lazy in an important game, shattered atm.
f**k me, one of the brightest talents to grace us since Kenny, also lazy. Tip of the iceberg right there.

Hindy was very un-Hindy like tonight. Something is very wrong and I think he needs to speak.

yy_cheng

Hindy was very un-Hindy like tonight. Something is very wrong and I think he needs to speak.

Maybe it has just hit him that his best mate is going out w/o a finals run and that he will no longer be there by his side anymore on the field.

At least they are not in denial about it.

Eels coach Daniel Anderson said his side's lack of creativity in the halves was too great an obstacle to overcome.

"That pretty much typified our season," he said of the performance.

"There's a few upset boys in there obliviously ... we're out of our misery as far as September footy.

"We've had difficulty in our halves this year in establishing a confident pairing - we have to improve that area."

Asked if Wallabies playmaker Quade Cooper was an option, Anderson said: "We have to look laterally a little bit, yeah.

"I wouldn't say no to considering anyone at the moment."
http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,27618426-5018866,00.html

spiderdan

something is definitely up. The team just don't look like they want to play for each other. During the piegers game there was a play where they got through our line and grubbered. Hayne, hindy and someone who I can't think of right now did well to clean up. But after it was cleaned up hindy just left hayne there on the ground. No pat on the back or encouraging comment. Maybe I am reading too much into it but from the outside it looked like there was something wrong between some members of the playing group.

Noise

How do you know he is on $250K?
or $200K?

What if there is a deal involving the sponsorship of his dads wines in all of this?
It is possible Ozzie stitched up a deal where Daniel is on lesser money but Mortimer wines gets many a plug for being a sponsor?
Keeping Daniel on the field for so long this year may have something to do with such an arrangement..

Whateva he's on its too much and i think anderson has finally realised that too (with the 'resting' , the desperate search for a halfback and his comments after the game last night) Problem is Ando realised 15 rounds too late. Having Mortimer's wines as a sponsor is no excuse to keep a player, particularly ur supposed playmaker on the field.

On last nights performance a bottle of cheap plonk is all Morts deserves to be on. The kid tries his arse off but so did Finch.

gustarny

Dude, he was one of our better players tonight.
If you couldn't see that, you are blind.

He put in his 100% effort, unlike 14 of 17 players out there tonight.....
Yeah im 44 and i would put in a good effort to which would be a million miles away from nrl standard but one thing i could do better is my kicking game would be longer and short game would be better due to 20 years of soccer.He kicks like a fairy.