Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The game is on today or something. Sharks or someone.

Eels will beat tigers....f**k lets hope im not mr 75% but realistically its closer to 85% then 100% is right?

Didn't expect Evans to look so unco and ordinary, he seems to do his job well at the Roosters but maybe he was efficient doing small minutes in their system.

There is definitely a size and shape issue, and the offseason using a AFL conditioner is an obvious thing to look at, as we seem to lack power in the simple parts of the game , the ability to,control the ruck and dominate with players in the tackle.

No one can be pleased with these first 3 weeks, but we have been beaten by kicks from penalties only in 2 of the games. Trying to forget th Manly debacle.

We played a tough, controlled power game last year, seems to have gone missing and we laughed at Ronnie Palmer ( old fashioned etc, look at the Tigers this year)

Cam Smith held a meeting at the Storm and told Bellamy and others of the need to recruit size up front about 4 years ago, someone should start that process at the club immediately.

Always next week and the opportunity to turn it around, will be there as usual supporting the team, I was there through the 90s so been there, done that.

Totally agree. How is it that the supporters knew that our forwards needed strengthening yet our recruiters / coach didn’t do anything about it apart from signing Evans?? Has the coach become too friendly with the players and doesn’t want to move them on? Even the f**king tigers recruited better than us in the forwards and they were a basket case.

I'm as frustrated as anybody but I don't see replacing Arthur at this stage as being the solution. However, roster acquisitions, home ground roundabouts, injuries, loss of Semi and an ageing forward pack all contribute to where we're at. I'm sure I've missed a bunch.
We give him until round 26. I wouldn't sack him now despite my fear of his lack of real talent as a tactical coach and motivator.

Totally agree. How is it that the supporters knew that our forwards needed strengthening yet our recruiters / coach didn’t do anything about it apart from signing Evans?? Has the coach become too friendly with the players and doesn’t want to move them on? Even the f**king tigers recruited better than us in the forwards and they were a basket case.
Time to get rid of Sharpy avatar, mate.

He is the best coach we have had since Brian Smith and yes we have had shit luck. And like Brian his time may be up.

Chipmunk

I posted sometime ago that I'd be surprised if BA was the coach next time we win the comp and I've seen nothing from the entire time he's been at the club to suggest otherwise.

Having said that, I'd be surprised beyond belief if BA wasn't the Head Coach at the end of the 2019 season. Whether that is good or bad remains to be seen.

His contract is up at the end of 2019 and with these administrators in charge and a new board we will not be paying out a contract again. So he will probably be here unless he fails miserably this year and quits like Hagan and Kearney.

We also got Tony Williams. He and Evans were additions to a pack that won 16 games last year.

Joely01

That’s it.
We are pathetic, there is serious issues at the moment in and around the club.
How do you have so little possession 3 games in a row?
How do you play with absolutely no heart after getting beat by 50 last week?
Why do we continue one up runs and let our best forward (Brown) continually get bashed!
Something has happened in the off season and it’s just all over the place.

People can sit here and say it’s only round 3 we are fine, it’ll come good. But honestly it won’t! Not with how we have turned up so far.
There’s probably 2-3 blokes at best who can go to the sheds with their head up, but they are also the guys that would be shattered.
There are many changes I would be making for next week that no doubt won’t happen, but the whole squad needs a shake up to get them going.
Do it now or it’s too late!

That’s it.
We are pathetic, there is serious issues at the moment in and around the club.
How do you have so little possession 3 games in a row?
We had over 50% possession against Penrith. Three tries each. We were again beaten by penalty goals.
How do you play with absolutely no heart after getting beat by 50 last week?
I thought we played with plenty of heart tonight. I'm feeling a lot better about the season than I was after the Manly game.
Why do we continue one up runs and let our best forward (Brown) continually get bashed!
Fatigue. We had 40% possession in the first half, just like last week. It's a worry. We need to improve our discipline if we're going to keep playing perfect opponents in the first half.
Something has happened in the off season and it’s just all over the place.

People can sit here and say it’s only round 3 we are fine, it’ll come good. But honestly it won’t! Not with how we have turned up so far.
There’s probably 2-3 blokes at best who can go to the sheds with their head up, but they are also the guys that would be shattered.
There are many changes I would be making for next week that no doubt won’t happen, but the whole squad needs a shake up to get them going.
Do it now or it’s too late!
Yeah nah, the team stood up tonight, despite injuries, team changes and and lack of confidence. We've fixed our defence and our attack will come good. Might be some players unavailable next week so I'm keen to see how Wenty go tomorrow.

84 Baby

Is it too late to jump on the “it’s the coach’s fault bandwagon”?
And by that I mean signing that AFL bloke. I believe conditioning is the root of all our woes

We give him until round 26. I wouldn't sack him now despite my fear of his lack of real talent as a tactical coach and motivator.

If we are 0/10 id sack him this year.
However we will beat the tigers.
Hindy111 has spoken.
Enjoy your Sunday i am out making money :slight_smile:

AFL and other sports just don't mix.

I reckon that the AFL guy is today’s scapegoat. It’s like saying that bc Hayden Knowles works with high jumpers, that he has no idea about preparing a footy side.

These guys are all degree qualified physiologists and are more than capable of adapting their skills.

A quick search - Storm; strength guy came from Malaysian Track Cycling team. Fitness guy comes from athletics.
https://www.melbournestorm.com.au/about/staff-listing/