Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Greatest Australian Movie Ever

The Castle. Can watch it any time and it never gets old.

Special mention to Final Winter, well done, great in-game scenes and caught the feeling of the era really well.

God-King Dean

I dunno about greatest, but "Malcolm" deserves a mention.

" Did they put your dads head back on for the funeral Frank? "

The Nugget is up there with the honourable wally norman. Absolute shite.

Australian Rules wasn't bad. Sort of an Australian Outback Romeo and Juliet

Horrie Is God

The Cars that Ate Paris was another ripper film..

The Adventures of Barry McKenzie was good for a giggle too..Bit dated now though..

legend

In no particular order:

The Man from Snowy River
Gallipoli
Mad Max
Mad Max 2
Malcolm
Romper Stomper
Buddies

Horrie Is God

And very politically incorrect too. Not that I'm crying over that.

I've got Barry McKenzie on DVD, dated... yes, funny... yes.

Ya Pommy twinkieh!

"Now listen mate, I need to splash the boots. You know, strain the potatoes. Water the horses. You know, go where the big knobs hang out. Shake hands with the wife's best friend? Drain the dragon? Siphon the python? Ring the rattlesnake? You know, unbutton the mutton? Like, point Percy at the porcelain?"

"I’m as dry as a dead dingoes donga."

"If it was raining virgins i’d get washed down the gutter with a twinkie"

"May all your chooks turn to emus, kick your dunny door flat to the grass, hope your balls turn into bicycle wheels and back-peddle up your arse"

:lol::lol:

Bad Boy Bubby for mine.

Agree with this.

There's a lot of very good Aussie movies though. I think Aus cinema is a bit underrated in this country.

Two Hands doesn't get enough love.

I enjoyed The Road Nihl but I have t seen that for at least 12 years.

Edit

Anyone ever watch The Heartbreak Kid with Alex Dimitriadis and Claudia Karvan? 20 year old Claudia was so sexy. Didn't age very well though

"Now listen mate, I need to splash the boots. You know, strain the potatoes. Water the horses. You know, go where the big knobs hang out. Shake hands with the wife's best friend? Drain the dragon? Siphon the python? Ring the rattlesnake? You know, unbutton the mutton? Like, point Percy at the porcelain?"

"I’m as dry as a dead dingoes donga."

"If it was raining virgins i’d get washed down the gutter with a twinkie"

"May all your chooks turn to emus, kick your dunny door flat to the grass, hope your balls turn into bicycle wheels and back-peddle up your arse"

:lol::lol:

It's great stuff.

His visit to the relos cracks me up too, the old man demanding to be punished...