Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Gruen Transfer hates Rugby League

Doomednow

Get facts straight first. The poster said it was a Melbourne based show. When in fact it is filmed in Sydney. Are you stupid?

No, I'm not actually. But I appreciate your measured response.

AFL is a Melbourne game played in Sydney. My point was that it doesn't need to be filmed in Melbourne to be Melbourne-centric.

Spanner in the works

No, I'm not actually. But I appreciate your measured response.

AFL is a Melbourne game played in Sydney. My point was that it doesn't need to be filmed in Melbourne to be Melbourne-centric.

But it's not Melbourne-centric. Never has been. 99% of the commercials they discuss are broadcast nation-wide. How on earth did you think it was Melbourne-centric????

Hooch

Still think it is anti-NRL then?

You bored or something tonight mate?

I don't think it's anti-NRL as such, but I think they reinforced a whole bunch of stereotypes. I watched the show and raised an eyebrow a bit, especially as they normally try and deconstruct a lot of those sort of things. But I guess for the most part they're from an upper social class and like it or lump it league is a bogans game in their eyes.

Old mate contested the betting angle a bit but that was about it. It would've been interesting to hear them seriously discuss the NRL's image problems from an advertisers perspective and how they would go about changing it. And the reasons behind said image problems, compared to say AFL which has more than it's fair share of scandals. But it's probably too close to home for them.

But I didnt get particularly worked up about it lol. It's the ABC. After the whole matty johns deal what do you expect?

Spanner in the works

You bored or something tonight mate?
Nope. Just seems bizarre for some to call it anti-NRL when everyone is free game on that show.

I don't think it's anti-NRL as such, but I think they reinforced a whole bunch of stereotypes. I watched the show and raised an eyebrow a bit, especially as they normally try and deconstruct a lot of those sort of things. But I guess for the most part they're from an upper social class and like it or lump it league is a bogans game in their eyes.

Old mate contested the betting angle a bit but that was about it. It would've been interesting to hear them seriously discuss the NRL's image problems from an advertisers perspective and how they would go about changing it. And the reasons behind said image problems, compared to say AFL which has more than it's fair share of scandals. But it's probably too close to home for them.

But I didnt get particularly worked up about it lol. It's the ABC. After the whole matty johns deal what do you expect?
I agree with your point about them being part of the upper social class. I don't think they need to discuss the codes image problems - people are employed to do that and it has being discussed at length. Still a few who won't listen - whether that's right or wrong I don't know. Comparing the codes would be good. Although whichever side comes off worse then the paranoia will come out.... Don't have a problem with the ABC most times. It's brutally honest, sometimes to its own detriment, it sticks to the facts for the most part, and is far less sensationalised than commercial television.

I don't watch it, watching something guaranteed to shed my braincells is not high on my viewing agenda.

Australian comedians are dreadful. Carl Barron has his moments but I wouldn't feed the rest.

Green Machine

The ABC is no different to the commercial channels. AFL cheerleaders in all media organisations love to bag Rugby League. There are people inside the ABC who like Rugby League:

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...nother-odd-job-for-bailey-20110917-1kezj.html

Filling Tigers hot seat just another odd job for Bailey

Adrian Proszenko

September 18, 2011
Want to own a peice of your team? From just $1,000.

ipad-art-wide-bailey-420x0.jpg
Top Tiger ... Mike Bailey, the Wests Tigers chairman. Photo: Jon Reid

THE chairmanship of Wests Tigers is not the most unusual position Mike Bailey has held.
Long before he began presenting the weather or entered politics, the veteran journalist - according to his Wikipedia profile - held a job as ''Bargain Sam'' spruiking, among other things, ladies' underwear outside a Sydney department store.
This is only partly true. ''Actually, they got that wrong. It was 'Savings Sam','' Bailey chuckled. ''They were looking for someone who had done some microphone work. Being precocious and wanting a media career, I said 'yeah, I can do that'. They gave me a striped coat - much more striped than the suit I'm wearing today - with grey and blue stripes going down and a boater straw hat with 'Savings Sam' around it. I tell you what, despite my love of journalism and everything else I've done, it was a great way to earn a living.''

For the generation which grew up with Bailey - best remembered as a weather presenter on the ABC - the chairmanship of the Tigers may also appear an incongruous fit. But this is not so. The former Ashfield De La Salle College student is a Wests Tigers man to the core. He grew up three doors down from the great Western Suburbs Magpies and Australian halfback Keith Holman, his father was a Magpies player (albeit the Bellingen variety) and he grew up watching his beloved black and whites at Pratten Park. He drank with the players at the old Dancer's Club when the team moved to Lidcombe Oval. As the years went on, he struck up a friendship with teacher-cum-coach Roy Masters.
''I even took a couple of classes for him once or twice because, in those days, they didn't have home video equipment,'' Bailey said. ''Maybe I shouldn't say this but he'd occasionally look at videos during school hours and I'd go out and talk about weather or something else half relevant [to the class] while he did that.''
There has been a more formal relationship with Wests Tigers in recent times, as the chairman of the Wests Ashfield Leagues Club. The chairmanship of Wests Tigers is shared between the Wests and Balmain branches of the joint venture for a year each - with Bailey slipping into the role just as their winning streak began. Given he ran for Parliament in 2007 - the swing of 4.7 per cent to Labor in North Sydney was not enough to dislodge Joe Hockey - it would seem the perfect grounding for his present role.
''I don't know if it helps at the Wests Tigers, but I enjoyed it,'' he said. ''My wife said that I became a new man as a result of that campaign.'' Bailey's wife of 25 years is ''Miss Helena'' of Romper Room fame - another successful joint venture. Rugby league can now welcome one of its more unlikely power couples.
''I met her at Channel Seven when she got the job,'' Bailey said. ''I started at Seven in 1972 and Miss Patricia was doing Romper Room at that time. I got along very well with Miss Patricia but it was Miss Helena who made the difference … The violins started playing. We got together and it's been a very happy partnership in the years since.''
Other projects, including fund-raising for the Catholic Archdiocese of Sydney, working through issues affecting the club industry and acting as a consultant to the NSW government regarding its emergency management strategies for climate change, have kept him busy.

Wasn't will Anderson the bloke who continually bagged shannon noll. Then noll confronted him, Anderson backed right off but then bagged him again on radio the next day. Then noll went on some other radio show and challenged him to a boxing match for charity but Anderson was too much of a pussy to do it.

Came out later that andersons gf had a massive crush on noll