Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The jack wighton hype

Wb1234

Yeh, the moral high ground has been unraveling for a while now. Remember Rusty making a song and dance about dumping the leagues club because of - you know, pokies. The fact it was a basket case, unattended and bleeding money had nothing to do with it. Then years of putting casino sponsorships on their kit immediately followed and let’s not forget their juniors are funded by one of the biggest pokey palaces in Sydney lol. Enjoying the schadenfreude. And yes, I know I’m jevenile
I was going to mention the juniors being funded by sths juniors that’s a good point

Piggins was a stubborn hard head he could’ve let south juniors own the seniors and they never would’ve got kicked out but his ego wouldn’t let south’s juniors take over

I was going to mention the juniors being funded by sths juniors that’s a good point

Piggins was a stubborn hard head he could’ve let south juniors own the seniors and they never would’ve got kicked out but his ego wouldn’t let south’s juniors take over
Seniors would’ve been successfully run like Juniors but on pokies model. Gambling is under increasing scrutiny and who knows how it’ll effect Juniors in the future. But hey, look where you guys are now. One of the bigger clubs and future assured.

soc123_au

Yeh, the moral high ground has been unraveling for a while now. Remember Rusty making a song and dance about dumping the leagues club because of - you know, pokies. The fact it was a basket case, unattended and bleeding money had nothing to do with it. Then years of putting casino sponsorships on their kit immediately followed and let’s not forget their juniors are funded by one of the biggest pokey palaces in Sydney lol. Enjoying the schadenfreude. And yes, I know I’m jevenile
Guilty as well when it comes to the juvenile enjoyment. All part of the fun of being a fan.

The biggest concern for you guys is the coming almond milk war. Do the suppliers go to Allianz or Homebush? Only one team will get their lattes.

Wb1234

Seniors would’ve been successfully run like Juniors but on pokies model. Gambling is under increasing scrutiny and who knows how it’ll effect Juniors in the future. But hey, look where you guys are now. One of the bigger clubs and future assured.
South’s are one club I have a soft spot for lol

once Balmain got booted due to super league my allegiances have been whored around the nrl

Heck wash my mouth out with soap I even spent a bit of a year in 2000 watching the roosters when they had Morley. What a beast he was

Guilty as well when it comes to the juvenile enjoyment. All part of the fun of being a fan.

The biggest concern for you guys is the coming almond milk war. Do the suppliers go to Allianz or Homebush? Only one team will get their lattes.
We’ll let them have that one

South’s are one club I have a soft spot for lol

once Balmain got booted due to super league my allegiances have been whored around the nrl

Heck wash my mouth out with soap I even spent a bit of a year in 2010 watching the roosters when they had Morley. What a beast he was
Interesting you favour Souths given the traditional animosity (albeit gentle compared to ours) they have with Balmain

I’d agree with you if he was going from the Tigers to you guys but he went from the Storm who have finished above the Roosters from a regular season perspective over the last three years, therefore his earnings potential from playing in the finals would be the same.

Also as you’ve said he was a bench player at the Storm and is now a starting hooker which is a promotion.

Oh okay, so you are saying a player leaving a successful clubs can only leave to sign with a struggling club? FMD. You do know slavery was abolished in the British empire in 1807, as that is effectively what you are proposing.

Chimp

Souths are sponsored by Crown Resorts, Star Casino’s only competitor. Maybe they should have signed Jack to a four year deal from January to October each year.

On notional value did they apply that to the Cheese for taking unders to go to the Roosters or Munster to remain at the Storm? Or does notional value only apply to some clubs?

I find it odd that Canberra registered a contract with the NRL. What did they register? An unsigned contract that only one party agreed to? They could have put any value on it (it doesn’t mean that becomes the notional value).
I may have my Crown/Star mixed up, but regardless, the point still stands around ways around the cap, and that’s what Kent was insinuating was happening here. I’m not saying it’s happening, but there’s clearly ways and means for it to happen.

And yes, we’ve heard of players taking ‘unders’ before, but not sure there’s been many examples of $300k per year, for 4 years style unders… that’s why this has caught the interest of so many - the clubs involved are irrelevant. And clearly, Jack taking such significant unders to leave a club that he has been at for so long, rightfully raises eyebrows - it doesn’t really seem feasible, particularly when you throw in the significant increase in cost of living in Sydney.

It doesn’t pass the pub test. I don’t really care personally, infact if anything, I think it’s really good - on the one hand, I think the Raiders have dodged a 4 year at $1.1m for a pretty average 5/8 bullet, but it still leaves them in a massive hole as they’ve got money to burn, but nobody half decent to chase with it (or likely willing to move to Canberra and play under Sticky), and Souths will be paying £800k for a centre who’s as dumb as a plank, and has a risk of going off the rails in Sydney, and taking his mate Trell down with him.
For all non-Raider or a Souths fans, this could be delightful!

MKCS

To see us now as a club who are not laughed at, but perennially a final four side and openly disdained in the Rugby League discourse.... f**k me I love it. We are one of the big boys. It warms the heart.

If your club was one of the big boys they wouldn't have gone almost a decade without winning any notable trophies (No, the charity shield doesn't count)

gerg

There is no problem with either but the entertainment value with simple Jack is way higher for a couple of reasons.

First, we have souths fans going full roosters with their defence of this. We at least recognise who we are, souths fans will never do that because they legit think they follow a battling people's club.

Second, Cheese didn't leave the storm because he doesn't think they can win a comp, he was behind Grant. Sure, he chose us over dolphins for that reason but at least he didn't essentially tell his current team that they suck.

It appears his team mates are too stupid to see the truth too because Hudson young was on the radio this morning and said it was a "family decision" because taking significantly less money than your current employer is offering is definitely best for your family lol. He actually said that without a hint of sarcasm.

As a Raiders supporter I'd have no problem if he just came out and said his missus hates Canberra and the cold winter weather. Fair enough, I love the place but can understand a heap of people hate it.

But to publicly say "you're testing your value on the open market" and then taking the lowest of the three offers. And/or "he wants to win a premiership" and has to leave his club because he thinks they're shit - well that's even worse. Maybe the 'simple' in Simple Jack has rubbed off on his team-mates?

Apey

To think, the last game he plays for the Raiders might be the last time see him kick it out on the full 😭

As a Raiders supporter I'd have no problem if he just came out and said his missus hates Canberra and the cold winter weather. Fair enough, I love the place but can understand a heap of people hate it.

But to publicly say "you're testing your value on the open market" and then taking the lowest of the three offers. And/or "he wants to win a premiership" and has to leave his club because he thinks they're shit - well that's even worse. Maybe the 'simple' in Simple Jack has rubbed off on his team-mates?
Felt the same way when Trell left us. If he had just said that he was a proud aboriginal man and wanted to play for a proud aboriginal club like his dad before him, no one would’ve had an issue but he bullshited people. Both ugly departures

big hit!

The Family want to see him win a comp perhaps? Plus they get to go and get some culture and shit at Uncle Trell's joint when they get a bye. Gotta be worth 300k p/a.

It is pretty funny watchng Souffs become everything they say they hate though. Once Rusty got the boys into Armani it was only ever going one way. Cant wait to see the derros in the burrow pulling artisan franks from a thermos to slap on an organic sourdough roll made from Gwynth Paltrows special yeast blend.

A club's fans hate anything they're not!? Except tigpies fans. They hate what they are right now.

But after a couple of decades in the 90s and 2000s where Souths were a place for spuds to try and get a game, they're now a destination club. And why wouldn't a club what to be that! It means you don't have to pay overs at attract and retain quality players. At the end of the day, premiership teams are those squads that can fit in the most quality players, and to do that you've got to be smart about how much you pay and direct the focus to what you can offer outside of financial incentives. Souths have a competitive footy team, and are in a premiership window, and now have one of the best facilities in the comp.

But their fans will always be derros. Collingwood are similar. Big, powerful, competitive, destination club, supported by plenty of derros.

big hit!

Juniors were the financially endowed partner in the arrangement with Souths, but they are actually doing it tough recently. A combination of the light rail construction taking away their parking, and COVID, have led to lean years. To the point the NRL club leased admin space at Juniors Kingsford to assist the juniors club. The NRL club largely took over pathways development too. Privatisation has been the best thing for Souths. They hired extremely capable football and front office staff that have turned the club around, and do it with little waste that you find at some of the other clubs that are funded by leagues clubs. That leagues club money has to be spent, and generally it's not spent well.

Just wondering, do the kids still get free kit and rego?