Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The little things

BD5733

Before you go on and read this I'd like to point out that I know alot of these things can be considered tiny, petty things and why bother worrying about them.

But I counter this with, if they are so tiny, and petty, why can't the club just ensure they happen correctly, the way they should happen in a professional sporting club.

Yesterday was my first game back at Parra Stadium after 18 months away. Maybe I was spoiled when I went overseas, I went to a heap of Premier League games, 1st/2nd Division games, Cup finals, EURO qualifiers, UEFA cups, an NBA game, an NHL game and a baseball game.

The quality and package offered at those games was far superior to what was on offer yesteday. Now ofcourse we don't have the cash to compete or even compare to some of the events I was able to go to, but the club CAN do alot of little things better.

So here is my list of small, petty things, which I feel if the club took on board, even some of them, the Parramatta Eels would benefit.

- More pride in player achievements, also giving fans a chance to show their appreciation
- More recognition of past greats (The Price statue seems to be a step in the right direction
- Our grandstands are called the Ken Thornett Stand and the Mick Cronin Stand....can the ground announcer please call them this? Rather than the eastern and western sides
- Why are the signs that name the stands and terraces in blue and white? We are blue and GOLD!
- What's with the big, ugly, white lights. Surely it would look great if some sort of Blue and Gold pattern was put on them.
- Our main scoreboard. FFS can we get someone up there to dust off the globes, they were so filthy yesterday you could barely see some of them.
- Our new, smaller scoreboard wasn't working properly yesterday, some slots broken.....fix it. We are a professional sporting club not some A grade footy team.
- A few years ago when we had new seats put in I also bought this up, but why aren't they blue and gold. How good does Skilled Park look!!
- A bricked path where fans could 'buy a brick' would be great...and could also be used to fund alot of the things mentioned above.
- The crowd control when leaving the leagues club car park is terrible. If other stadiums can manage with 60,000 fans leaving, surely we can improve on whats in place atm with only 12,000 fans leaving
- Is the 'No Eels jerseys in the Leagues Club' still in place? I'm not sure if it is....but this rule was laughable

Well, I think that's about all I have now. Some are so small but I don't think it makes them insignificant, it just means they should be easy to fix.

I know alot of people on here have a better insight into how the club works. So please if you know why some of these things aren't happening, let us all know. And also if some of them are in the pipeline, great. Also feel free to add to the list if you have anything.

And if you've read this far......thanks.....or sorry? :crazy:

B-Tron 3000

Good post.

Little things like being proud of player achievements and having seats/signs in Blue and Gold would make a difference.

I also like the idea of calling the stands by their names. Overseas teams are proud of the names of their stands/names in their history, and it gives the club character and something that people attach to the club.

In fact, the club should ask Rabs Warren to refer to the Michael Cronin and Ken Thornett stand by name every now and then. These sorts of things could help league in general.

Instead, every second game is played out of ANZ/Telstra/Fill In Latest Sponsor Here Stadium.

Before you go on and read this I'd like to point out that I know alot of these things can be considered tiny, petty things and why bother worrying about them.

But I counter this with, if they are so tiny, and petty, why can't the club just ensure they happen correctly, the way they should happen in a professional sporting club.

Yesterday was my first game back at Parra Stadium after 18 months away. Maybe I was spoiled when I went overseas, I went to a heap of Premier League games, 1st/2nd Division games, Cup finals, EURO qualifiers, UEFA cups, an NBA game, an NHL game and a baseball game.

The quality and package offered at those games was far superior to what was on offer yesteday. Now ofcourse we don't have the cash to compete or even compare to some of the events I was able to go to, but the club CAN do alot of little things better.

So here is my list of small, petty things, which I feel if the club took on board, even some of them, the Parramatta Eels would benefit.

- More pride in player achievements, also giving fans a chance to show their appreciation
- More recognition of past greats (The Price statue seems to be a step in the right direction
- Our grandstands are called the Ken Thornett Stand and the Mick Cronin Stand....can the ground announcer please call them this? Rather than the eastern and western sides
- Why are the signs that name the stands and terraces in blue and white? We are blue and GOLD!
- What's with the big, ugly, white lights. Surely it would look great if some sort of Blue and Gold pattern was put on them.
- Our main scoreboard. FFS can we get someone up there to dust off the globes, they were so filthy yesterday you could barely see some of them.
- Our new, smaller scoreboard wasn't working properly yesterday, some slots broken.....fix it. We are a professional sporting club not some A grade footy team.
- A few years ago when we had new seats put in I also bought this up, but why aren't they blue and gold. How good does Skilled Park look!!
- A bricked path where fans could 'buy a brick' would be great...and could also be used to fund alot of the things mentioned above.
- The crowd control when leaving the leagues club car park is terrible. If other stadiums can manage with 60,000 fans leaving, surely we can improve on whats in place atm with only 12,000 fans leaving
- Is the 'No Eels jerseys in the Leagues Club' still in place? I'm not sure if it is....but this rule was laughable

Well, I think that's about all I have now. Some are so small but I don't think it makes them insignificant, it just means they should be easy to fix.

I know alot of people on here have a better insight into how the club works. So please if you know why some of these things aren't happening, let us all know. And also if some of them are in the pipeline, great. Also feel free to add to the list if you have anything.

And if you've read this far......thanks.....or sorry? :crazy:

great post mate

some will argue that you go there for the game only but......

when you pay $35 a ticket (Cronin stand) $12 for a pie,chips and drink, PLUS the time and money to get there (we all travel from different areas), Then we deserve a bit better than what is being dished out.

the ground announcer sh*ts me no end, especially as the toyota cup game finishes a good 35-40 min before 1st grade kicks off and all we have is to listen to him shouting crap throughout (eg lets hear how loud the eastern stand get can crap :roll:)

Id rather they get an upcoming rock band playing for 20 mins or even a virgin playing a flute would be fine

Some very good points made, about the club's operations, and it's role and influence as the major tenant of the Stadium.

The pre-game ground announcer guy is truly dire, isn't he? So much more could be done, by talking half as much, and getting someone who knows what it is they are talking about.

And would you believe the crowd control at the leagues club car park was probably the most organised I've seen in many years on Sunday? I guess if the club hadn't spent years discouraging anyone in footy jerseys from going inside after the matches, then the crowd control problem would be a lot less to handle...

Hopefully Sunday's post-game function on the top floor (well away from the supposed dip in revenue at risk on the pokies floor :sarcasm:) will show this leagues club the way to move forwards, not backwards!

apeman

we need those huge flags back that use to dominate the hills of stadiums in the 70s/80s. A group of 10 large flags sets a great mood for the supporters and looks great on TV.

We need large banners/flags to encircle the outside of the ground. Similar to the symbolic use of flags that dictators or armies use. They know the emotional attachment flags generate in ppl. ffs even councils use flags more than us.

get rid of the cheerleaders. wasted money. no one takes notice of their pathetic routine. The only ppl who notice them are the unsophisticated degenerates.

the mascot sparky needs a increased role! watching U.S. mascot dance/fight/jump through hoops/get set on fire/ etc etc. they are loved my the crowd and provide cheap entertainment for the club. eg this weekend, tape a stuffed panther to a remote controlled car, get sparky to stalk it to the JAWS music then catch it and bash it. or get sparky to ride a toboggan down the grandstand steps. watch mascot on utube to see how U.S. sports utilize their mascots.

the ground announcer is a goose.

allow the ppl to walk around the ground. The ground feels like long bay jail! we are allowed in one area only. Almost all grounds give u freedom to walk around ffs. Yesterday, i took the smokers pass out to go watch to boys warm up because its so boring for 40min before the game. On the warm up field, the sun was shining, my neice could play on the grass. The grandstand was like long bay.

why is there so much security/cops these days. do they think footy fans are so wild that we deserve to be watched like animals.

The Statute is a Stadium Initiative, I personally would like to have more than Pricey as a Statue at Parramatta Stadium, there are more Just as deserving as he.

Send an email to [email protected]

The Stadium is owned by the State Government who also lease it out to other users, but since it is theirs they decided on the Colour.

Contact the Stadium Trust at [email protected]

I don't know what lights you mean but if you are talking about the Flood lights for the pitch. Then See the above answer, Contact the Stadium Trust at [email protected]

Again not our ground we just hire it. But from where I was sitting I had no problems seeing the Main Scoreboard all day long.
Contact the Stadium Trust at [email protected]

Again it is a multi purpose venue, Why are the Seats at the SCG not Red and White or Gold and Green. Are they Sky blue because the NSW Cricket Team plays there? But for the answers Contact the Stadium Trust at [email protected]

In what way is it terrible, it is okay to make a statement like that but it is very broad ranging, Some stadiums that carry 60,000 like Suncorp in Brisbane, Shut down an entire street into the City to let pedestrians and busses ferry people away from the ground

Hasn't been in place for a Few years know. Since the government Stopped 24 hour trading. However you are still not allowed to wear a jersey with a number on it except for on game day.

rambo1

I agree with most things suggested, particularly

More pride in player achievements, also giving fans a chance to show their appreciation

forward pass

And what about the fabulous pre-game entertainment - watching the Storm warm up for 20 minutes. f**ken ridiculous.

I agree with PTB - why does the Toyota cup game start and finish so early. I would love to watch it but can't spend all afternoon out there. Why can't they kick off at 1.30??

barney gumble

An excellent post.

I'm a shift worker so season tickets aren't really an option.
A trip to the footy with the family leaves very little change out of $200, and after the Storm game you seriously question the value for money.

fish eel

I agree with PTB - why does the Toyota cup game start and finish so early. I would love to watch it but can't spend all afternoon out there. Why can't they kick off at 1.30??

That sh*ts me as well.

The good old days....you had a 12 noon kick off, 1.30 and 3pm.

Nickeel

Some PA speakers on the hills might be nice, too. That way I might actually be able to hear the irrelevant stuff the ground announcer has to stay, instead of straining to listen to the grandstand speakers.

Nick

fish eel

I hear NSW Soccer are in that Stadium more than the Eels these days, I have also heard tell that the Eels are forced to leave after a certain time so NSW Soccer can have the Dressing Rooms and the Rest.

for training? the socceroos used it.

but it the fair dinkum stakes, without us bringing the punters in, it is a white elephant. It aint for all intents and purposes a multi purpose venue when only one event gets people through the turnstyles

for training? the socceroos used it.

but it the fair dinkum stakes, without us bringing the punters in, it is a white elephant. It aint for all intents and purposes a multi purpose venue when only one event gets people through the turnstyles

Yes mate I know that the Socceroos use it, but apparently the NSW Soccer Academy or the like are using it more then the Eels do for training an the like. I asked about that when I saw the state of the Pitch at our last home game against the Raiders. Did anyone else notice that the ground seems a little bare underneath the Goal Posts and out to about the 10 metres. I don't mean it looks like the Base line at Wimbledon during the 2nd week but it is still a little bare.

fish eel

Yes mate I know that the Socceroos use it, but apparently the NSW Soccer Academy or the like are using it more then the Eels do for training an the like. I asked about that when I saw the state of the Pitch at our last home game against the Raiders. Did anyone else notice that the ground seems a little bare underneath the Goal Posts and out to about the 10 metres. I don't mean it looks like the Base line at Wimbledon during the 2nd week but it is still a little bare.

I'm talking about public events though Mark. Not closed door stuff.

The stadium to the public is NOT a multi purpose venue.

Check their website and upcoming events.

There is no non league event listed.

I'm talking about public events though Mark. Not closed door stuff.

The stadium to the public is NOT a multi purpose venue.

Check their website and upcoming events.

There is no non league event listed.

I am not talking about what is booked I am talking about what it could be used for. The Stadium has been the Previous homes of the Sydney Jays, Sydney United, Parramatta Power, and the Parramatta Two Blues. It was used for 2WS Carols by Candlelight for 5 or so years, the Paul McCartney Concert was held there. It is a Multi Purpose Venue. That the Stadium Trust and by indirect result the Government who own it can't get more Events does not take away from the fact it is a multi purpose venue.

fish eel

I am not talking about what is booked I am talking about what it could be used for. The Stadium has been the Previous homes of the Sydney Jays, Sydney United, Parramatta Power, and the Parramatta Two Blues. It was used for 2WS Carols by Candlelight for 5 or so years, the Paul McCartney Concert was held there. It is a Multi Purpose Venue. That the Stadium Trust and by indirect result the Government who own it can't get more Events does not take away from the fact it is a multi purpose venue.

How many of those still take place? :lol:

I did read a story however there are plans to try and bring open air concerts back.