Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The NRL neglects the Central Coast.......

But dodge according the NRL draw on nrl.com,

Round 22
Roosters Vs Knights at Central Coast Stadium

there could be others thats the only one I know so far, are they gonna have Canberra game up there or something. Souths shouldve put at least one game up there.

When I looked on www.centralcoaststadium.com.au, yesterday, there were no events relating to Rugby League after Saturday's trial. In fact, there were none at all. Newcastle have the game mentioned on their site, as do NRL, but no official mention has been made as yet, from what I can tell.

sunny

dodge said:
What the f**k would you know? Have you ever lived here?

I personally think 17k is excellent for a 19k stadium, which is the average in the first few games as the NE. Picky? People left in droves once Manly stepped in and basically ran the ship again. Either way their home crowd average always was and still does remain higher than the Mariners if I'm not mistaken.

Finally, to suggest that this place has embraced soccer is a joke. The only reason there is ANY hoo-ha about it is because the local radio station is giving a way a f**kload of money to the best display.

Pisspoor attempt at making soccer look good :roll:

Another car crash of a post by dodge :lol: People didn't support half a team, why would they support a full one?

sunny said:
Another car crash of a post by dodge :lol: People didn't support half a team, why would they support a full one?

:lol: I think you need to take a bex and lie down mate.

sunny

Well, you're the one swearing and attacking people, but I wouldn't mind a lie down anyway...:lol:

doctor death

Let's get some facts straight:

The Bears are alive and playing premier league - still supporting league on the north shore and keen to get the CC Bears up and running.

You will never ever read any of this in the mainstream press, but the whole Northern Eagles thing was a cobbled-together scheme to reduce the Sydney teams, save Manly's hide and, as you can see now, the NRL couldn't give a toss if the Bears live or die. The Bears were not broke or likely to be. They just had too many people within and outside the club who ignored the fans/members and wouldn't put up a fight - like Souths. Example - Bears' biggest creditor at the time was its own leagues club! Thanks, guys!

Result now - Singo has 80% of Gosford Stadium. Leagues Club has 20%. NRL is whoring itself with $10-20 million to any team to relocate to Gosford - but they just ignore the Bears. the Gold Coast inclusion was the latest knife.

Until the NRL addresses this, the credibility questions over the NRL and rugby league are masive!

MrCharisma

I'm a Central Coastie and I think the NRL has lost the Central Coast.

We had Rugby Union play some of it's World Cup games up here and Union is starting to bloom in the junior levels.

As we all know, Central Coast also has an A-League soccer team in the Mariners. They are going well and I think from Day 1 the Coast has really taken to the side. I think in a couple of seasons, they'll be the Newcastle Knights of Newcastle.

It's a shame. I want a Rugby League team up here. To play fulltime at Gosford would be amazing. It's a great location and one of the nicest scenic stadiums around. Unfortunately I think it's too little too late.

We started taking to the Bears before they were screwed out of the NRL. We rejected the Northern Eagles because they were never our team and it looks like the only way we'll ever get a team is for one to relocate and I fear that if that ever happens, we'll treat it like the Beagles. They would be purely NOT our team

eelandia

MrCharisma said:
I'm a Central Coastie and I think the NRL has lost the Central Coast.

We had Rugby Union play some of it's World Cup games up here and Union is starting to bloom in the junior levels.

Yet Gordon playing games there was a failure after some initial interest.

MrCharisma

eelandia said:
Yet Gordon playing games there was a failure after some initial interest.

I don't know the exact story, I'm not a die hard Rugby Union fan

But at the end of the day, we all know it's the Super 14 and International level which attracts the interest of Rubgy to most fans. I mean you only need to look at the fact that ABC has the rights to the Sydney comp. I probably couldn't tell you one player who plays for Gordon (I know one of my best mates Dads used to play for them)

But I know Rugby Union is pretty strong with kids on the Coast. I've noticed around Erina Fair that AFL is picking up strong momentium too.

Ron Jeremy

Knightmare said:
Been through Gosford the last few days?
Yep, no coverage, noone barely knows about it apart from some fish & chip shops & some over smaller shops looking for attention.

The Central Coast had a side, it failed in the arse. They too started of with good crowds...then after the novelty wore off the beach & the night life became more important!.

And before you give me thatsh*t about how " the Central coast didn't accept Manly" or " We wan't our own team" i'll say this!........the Central Coast has had a number of trials up here over the past 3-4 years.....almost all of them have attracted around the 10,000-12,000 mark, thats pissweak for an area of this population for an area who apparently wants a RL side.

People living in places like Terrigal, Avoca, Wamberal prefer to go to the beach on the weekend or vist night clubs like Largo....people living in Gosford, Narrara, ourimbah prefer nightclubs like Troppo on the weekend and looking for jobs during the week lol.

No pun intended.

Ron Jeremy

Another thing i forgot to mention is that plenty on the Central Coast travel to Sydney for work each day, the last thing they want to do is to go to a Football game on a Friday night or miss heading down to the beach on a Sunday arvo for a surf & beer in the beer garden at Terrigal.

brooksy19

Ron Jeremy said:
Another thing i forgot to mention is that plenty on the Central Coast travel to Sydney for work each day, the last thing they want to do is to go to a Football game on a Friday night or miss heading down to the beach on a Sunday arvo for a surf & beer in the beer garden at Terrigal.

bullsh*t. If the Central Coast was given a team, theyre own team the stadium would be packed. Play it on Fri/Saturday Evenings everyone would start their night off at the game then walk accross the road to either the leagues club or Iguana's.

The major problem is there is alot of people who have moved from Sydney who already support a team, but I reckon they'd still go to the games though.

eelandia

brooksy19 said:
The major problem is there is alot of people who have moved from Sydney who already support a team, but I reckon they'd still go to the games though.

Therein lies the problem...after all the CC is often referred to as the western suburbs of Sydney on the beach. A couple of friends I grew up with around the Parra area live there now but would be unlikely to follow a coastal team over their respective Sydney teams. They may go to the odd game out of curiosity, but would more likely travel to Sydney which is less than an hours drive and watch Parra.

borat

Seriously, the CC coast don't have a team and won't ever have a team because no one cares!!!!!!!!. I hear lawn bowls is awful poplular with the retirees.