Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The "PLEASE Brian, sign a halfback" Thread

Apey

Should never of lost that game.

agreed. I don't give a flying f**k if it was the Melbourne Storm, at the end of the day that was somehow our game to lose, and we lost it.

very disappointing, and absolutely gutting... if I was a drinking man.. :lol:

League_God

can everyone that seems to think that having two 5/8s running around works..clearly see now that it doesnt? 7.wallace/pearce/jones/kimmorley/hornby/tim smith/f**k it even walsh
6.Mullen

we win that game.

end of story.

Serc

Alex

Yes thats right, I was just pointing out the rough percentages of those for and against.

Good for them if some people think he is awesome, and you can point out how inappropriate you think he is until you're blue in the face...but as they say, opinions are like arseholes, everyone's got one ;-)

Karmawave

I just spent the entire game watching Mullen mostly receive the ball at 2nd receiver, so unsure exactly how he wasn't playing 5/8 even with the 7 jersey on his back.

I'd like to watch the game on TV. I'd be almost certain that Gidley received the ball more at first receiver tonight than Mullen, and on occasions Rogers received one pass off the ruck too.

Mullen was playing five eight tonight in attack. No matter what number was on his back.

voltron

I just spent the entire game watching Mullen mostly receive the ball at 2nd receiver, so unsure exactly how he wasn't playing 5/8 even with the 7 jersey on his back.

I'd like to watch the game on TV. I'd be almost certain that Gidley received the ball more at first receiver tonight than Mullen, and on occasions Rogers received one pass off the ruck too.

Mullen was playing five eight tonight in attack. No matter what number was on his back.

then who was playing halfback?
did we have two five-eigths?
thats pretty useless.....

Karmawave

Gidley was first receiver - ALOT. In fact throughout the game I witnessed Rogers play first receiver, Gidley, and even Matt Hilder on the odd occasion. Sure Mullen went into first receiver too - but what 5/8 doesn't? Ever watched Barrett/Campese et al?

Forget the term ' halfback '. Mullen might be wearing the 7, but he is playing a halfback's game about as much as Danny Wicks is.

The number on his back is completely messing up peoples minds on here into thinking he is playing a 7's game, when he isn't.

It's just a NUMBER.

mozza91

Then we definately need a half back then dont we...
Don't tell Karma but we've already have a pretty good one his name starts S and ends with cott Dureau
It's Scott Dureau in case you were wondering

Karmawave

Problem is all the Dureau fans forget there's two parts of a game of rugby league - and one of them is defense.

Ben Rogers is a 1000 times better defender than Dureau will ever be, and tonight for the most part, our defense was great - apart from a few forward lapses.

If Dureau had heaps and heaps of points in him , it would be different.

He doesn't.

And his defense doesn't make it up.

Rogers gives away dumb penalties sometimes, but his defense is very, very strong for a half.

There's 2 parts of a game for a footy team.

Big Tim

So for the sake of solid defence and guaranteed penalties we go with only one half......

Although if you add up Gidley, Hilder and Rogers you might be able to substitute a half there, at least until we get to the 5th tackle.

Karmawave

Fair dinkum , if we had Inglis/Folau/Jennings or some attacking strikepower out wide, I can understand the issue with the halves as they currently stand.

They are throwing the ball out wide to devastating attacking weapons in Keith Lulia playing CENTRE, and then out to McDonnell, and then out to a centre who doesn't pass ( Sau ), and then Wes Naiqama when he comes onto the park, not to mention devastating backrow attacking machine Marvin Karawana who started the game.

What are they meant to do with an arsenal as AVERAGE as that?

The answer is what they did last night - grind out tough defensive wins. Some go our way, some don't. Until we get Doogs back, and Simpson, and rid ourselves of the few passengers in attack, we aren't going to score more than 20 points very often.

Yet Mullen playing halfback is to blame? HAHA.

Jobdog

Come on Serc...it is no coincidence that he has either not appeared in our best performances, or has appeared in our best performances yet not played 80 minutes in those games (being substituted for Rogers)?

Again...not saying Rogers is the answer either but it's easy for non-Knights fans to come here saying he is an immense talent when they don't watch him week-in/week-out. If you think of the halves that have bolted on to the scene over the last few years then faded away (think Head, Firman, et al) he hasn't even looked as good as them, let alone a regular first grade halfback.

He might have been the greatest junior in the world but he is out of his depth in first grade.
You are surely not fair dinkum. Bulldogs and Broncos games anyone?

FMD, two of your best wins of the year included Dureau - vs us he worked impeccably with Mullen, and vs Brisbane.

I'm sure there's some bullsh*t excuse, but saying Rogers is the long-term answer to the halves problem in Novoland is delusional, stupid and ignorant. He's an a-grade penalty merchant with NFI when it comes to playmaking. And he's keeping Mullen out of his natural position. Simple as that.

I love how Karma's answer is to replace allegedly average players rather than encourage them to up their game :lol:

Karmawave

I love how Karma's answer is to replace allegedly average players rather than encourage them to up their game :lol:

Average is average. Can't get blood from a stone Timmah.

I personally have no problems at all with the way the Knights played last night. For some reason everyone here wants to knock our attack.

I thought we did as well as the Melbourne Storm let us. We are playing from home in Melbourne - its not an easy game for any team. And the Knights did fine.

I'm sure there's some bullsh*t excuse, but saying Rogers is the long-term answer to the halves problem in Novoland is delusional, stupid and ignorant. He's an a-grade penalty merchant with NFI when it comes to playmaking. And he's keeping Mullen out of his natural position. Simple as that.

No one here has ever suggested Ben Rogers is the long term answer to the halves issue.

Not one person. Instead of sticking your nose in here once a blue moon, maybe you can educate yourself a bit more before opening your trap with crap.

Rogers sucks too. Dureau sucks worse.

I've called them crap and crapper in here before, and that just about sums them up.

Neither are long term solutions.

Dureau is great in home games, when leading. He is a front runner that's for sure, but lacks important segments to his game. He has no tackle busting or line break ability whatsoever, and woeful speed for a halfback. The only possible way Dureau can ever turn a match is with a 40/20 which is a low % success play anyway.

The persistance with Rogers is more about his defense and genuine match winning ability ( as erratic as it may be ) than anything else. When Rogers has a good game, its very very good. His bad games are woeful. His very best, is better than Dureau's very best and Rogers worst games are worse than Dureau's worse games. Its a catch 22.

I don't want either in the halves here next year - but at least one will be.

Jobdog

No one here has ever suggested Ben Rogers is the long term answer to the halves issue.

Not one person. Instead of sticking your nose in here once a blue moon, maybe you can educate yourself a bit more before opening your trap with crap.

Rogers sucks too. Dureau sucks worse.

I've called them crap and crapper in here before, and that just about sums them up.

Neither are long term solutions.

Dureau is great in home games, when leading. He is a front runner that's for sure, but lacks important segments to his game. He has no tackle busting or line break ability whatsoever, and woeful speed for a halfback. The only possible way Dureau can ever turn a match is with a 40/20 which is a low % success play anyway.

The persistance with Rogers is more about his defense and genuine match winning ability ( as erratic as it may be ) than anything else. When Rogers has a good game, its very very good. His bad games are woeful. His very best, is better than Dureau's very best and Rogers worst games are worse than Dureau's worse games. Its a catch 22.

I don't want either in the halves here next year - but at least one will be.
Hmmm, I'm pretty sure Toyota Park is an away game.

While Dureau may not necessarily have this "match-winning ability" you speak of, when was the last time Rogers won the Knights a game with these fabulous match winning skills?

Alex28

You are surely not fair dinkum. Bulldogs and Broncos games anyone?
I can be. Dragons was by far our best win, and Roosters was our most dominant performance. We got the Broncos on an awful night and they were out of form, and the Bulldogs was another case where we threw it away in the second half.

Only those with an agenda to push would put the Broncos and the Bulldogs above our two most dominant wins of the season...

Jobdog

I can be. Dragons was by far our best win, and Roosters was our most dominant performance. We got the Broncos on an awful night and they were out of form, and the Bulldogs was another case where we threw it away in the second half.

Only those with an agenda to push would put the Broncos and the Bulldogs above our two most dominant wins of the season...
The Broncos were out of form were they? When we played them I'm pretty sure they were top of the table and were aiming for four straight wins. The 'Dogs were top of the table when we played them too ...

Alex28

The Broncos hardly played well on the night - that's what I meant about form...sorry for the wording.

And the dogs...the game was there for us to win and we were awful in the second half. That was the day that kicks were going out on the full all over the place right (from both Mullen and Dureau)? We were great in the first half, but threw it away in the second...

Karmawave

Hmmm, I'm pretty sure Toyota Park is an away game.

Are you still clinging to that one decent away performance of his career against the Cronulla Sharks 2009 version?

Blimey.

The Broncos were out of form were they? When we played them I'm pretty sure they were top of the table and were aiming for four straight wins. The 'Dogs were top of the table when we played them too ...

That Broncos game was as much decided by Mother Nature than anyone on the field.

That Dogs 2nd half performance was total crap. Personified Smith's Dureau concerns from earlier in the year when he said Dureau wasn't finishing off games.

Starts well , and fades. Exactly like our Bulldogs performance.