Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The "PLEASE Brian, sign a halfback" Thread

Joker's Wild

We defeated the Dragons away from home with Mullen/Rogers.

Was that a fluke?

Dont forget we got beaten with that same combo too against sides like NZ, Nth Qld, Wests and the Titans

But no it wasnt a fluke mate but a fair amount of circumstance went our way in that game. As Serc has already stated it was probably one of their weakest teams they have had to play with all year given they were missing Cooper, their best pressure defender, and Weyman, their best middle man. Their forwards didnt provide them with the best field position to pressure us and when they did it was our defence that got us through.

We could have easily lost that game the way we played the 1st half, we were just lucky the Goons didnt manage to put it together either.

Yosh

Dureau will definately get more game time as the year goes on and I guess this will be the time (before the finals) to make or break his career at the Knights. I really do believe he does have it in him to make the no.7 jersey his, I mean in all honesty Mullen and Kidley have more than enough creativity in them, all he has to do is give early ball plus chip in with a few kicks here and there. We dont NEED Rogers who will try scoring off our own tryline.

Karmawave

Surprised you didn't include the Roosters game Karma ...

I stand out the Dragons game because of the strength of opponent, and the Dragaons great season form.

The Roosters game was a great performance too - and it was away from home.

The Dragons game to me though, was against the best team all year, away from home, and therefore our best win.

There's a difference between best performance and win. We played our best attacking footy all year against the Roosters when we scored 38 points. ( With Mullen/Rogers as the halves )

That best win in my opinion was Mullen/Rogers together against the Dragons though, with factors such as coming from behind on the scoreboard, and the state of the game itself coming into play. ( Similar to the come from behind Souths win also ).

As for Wendell not playing? He scored 2 tries and had that classic showdown with Mad Dog?

Sure, Dureau/Mullen might be a good option too, but I'm not prepared to write off the performance Rogers/Mullen have done together either.

Either combination of halves will win us games - if the forwards go forward - and win the games for them.

Rogers and Mullen are definitely not useless together though. There's been too many positives with them together this year to write them off completely.

If they can do it once - they can do it again.

Dureau is a good front runner, and plays well when in the lead, but he isn't the answer if we are under the pump and need to grind out a come from behind win. No way in the world.

League_God

I stand out the Dragons game because of the strength of opponent, and the Dragaons great season form.

The Dragons game to me though, was against the best team all year, away from home, and therefore our best win.

There's a difference between best performance and win. We played our best attacking footy all year against the Roosters when we scored 38 points. ( With Mullen/Rogers as the halves )

That best win in my opinion was Mullen/Rogers together against the Dragons though, with factors such as coming from behind on the scoreboard, and the state of the game itself coming into play. ( Similar to the come from behind Souths win also ).

As for Wendell not playing? He scored 2 tries and had that classic showdown with Mad Dog?

Sure, Dureau/Mullen might be a good option too, but I'm not prepared to write off the performance Rogers/Mullen have done together either.

Either combination of halves will win us games - if the forwards go forward - and win the games for them.

Rogers and Mullen are definitely not useless together though. There's been too many positives with them together this year to write them off completely.

Dureau is a good front runner, and plays well when in the lead, but he isn't the answer if we are under the pump and need to grind out a come from behind win. No way in the world.

also, i can see where your coming from in the bolded statement but at the same time if we are under the pump and need to grind out a come from behind win, we need a good kicking game...which dureau is miles ahead of rogers.

K-Man

As someone who is neither a Rogers hater nor Dureau lover (they both have their strengths and weaknesses, and both offer different things to the balance of the side) - I pretty much agree with everything in this post.

Rogers could win or lose you a grand final all on his own. But Dureau would never get us back into a grand final if we were down 12-0.

Also I was at that win at Kogarah and Rogers/Mullen went extremely well. Rogers in particular just had a fantastic match against a quality side. On its day it can work.

Alex28

Our best efforts this year have been against the Dragons, the Roosters and the majority of the second half against the Rabbits last week. We got pretty lucky we played the Broncos in the wet and cold at home. If we didn't, they probably would have beaten us.

Oh that's right...Scotty didn't play against the Dragons, Roosters and the Rabbits did he...

Liam

I thought the first half against the Bulldogs was our best half of footy.

Serc

Yeah a lot of people forgetting the Dogs game, thats easy top 3 games for us this year I reckon!

Karmawave

Yeah a lot of people forgetting the Dogs game, thats easy top 3 games for us this year I reckon!

No ones forgetting the Dogs game at all.

It was at home. If we are serious finals contenders, we need to be winning 75% of our games at home at least.

We all know Dureau has a big gap in his performances comparing his home form to away from home form. ( Or do we admit it yet? )

Yes , yes , we also all know he played a good game away against the Sharks ( those high flying Sharks ) earlier this year.

That's one decent away game in how many.

Maybe if the Grand Final was played at EAS , he might get a run.

Be interesting to see how he goes in Melbourne tonight when he gets a run won't it...

Serc

I wasn't even thinking of him when I posted that...but yes I know he played that day (even got a try in the 1st half and a try saving tackle near the end - almost better than a handshake! :p)

But I was seriously impressed that day with the team because we were so undermanned...the new guys like Natusch and Mika (on debut) stood up and we won with Wes at fullback!

Got some quality Karma mail that tells you your favourite halfback is playing tonight eh? I noticed Smithy might have been hinting at a little something on his match review interview thingy on Thurs...

Karmawave

Got some quality Karma mail that tells you your favourite halfback is playing tonight eh? I noticed Smithy might have been hinting at a little something on his match review interview thingy on Thurs...

Not yet.

Trying to use reverse psychology so he doesn't.

Then again, apart of me is really hoping he plays tonight. Melbourne Storm away at Olympic Park. There's a true test for him.

If Rogers runs out and we get smashed, it will be a free for all against Rogers.

Because I have a feeling we are getting smashed tonight whether Dureau runs out, Rogers runs out or Joey runs out. So if that's the case, it would be much better if it's Dureau.

You simply can't handle Dureau being a good player, that much is evident.