Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Rumours Thread

TheRev

I think Allan will be the fullback or a ctr.. but I suppose he could be on the wing.. probably nobody has decided this stuff yet.. they will all get a crack at it during pre-season.. I'd imagine guys with footwork like Sloan and Amone look amazing at training.. but its a bit harder in a real game, 80mins where ur so far beyond wrecked.. and ur up against a defensive line that means business...

It'll be interesting to see how seriously Flanno sees Zac as a fullback.. because the pressure to move him might have just gone away..

Auntie.Gerald

in the media release by the dragons they said Allan will be competing the likes of Sione Finau ????

then the next time i looked at the media release it deleted that info?

good cover and will now lead to probably a couple players being told to move on into 2024?

Parko1310

Wow huge day. Luki touring our facilities is exciting. I'm sure we would've given him the run down of the CoE that will hopefully be up and running by his potential arrival in 2025. Really like him as a player and I'll be over the moon if we get him.

Corey Allan - 1 year deal, decent back-up in positions we needed it. Can't complain. I think a lot of the gripes coming from fans recently was concern about how thin we were in some positions, and whilst we understood 2025 was the main goal we were all (a lot of us were) in panic mode because we didn't want 2024 to just be a shit watch. Allan provides cover and competition where we needed it. Now hopefully we can grab a half to cover those positions.

AFB news. So the Dogs have pulled out.. Why would Gus "pull out" of a race where he was reportedly willing to sign AFB on $1M a season? Why would he pull out of a race where the Dragons and Tigers' offers are only valued at 100k a season more? I think Gus knows he's lost out, and he'll tell his mates in the media he "pulled out" to save his ego. Moses Suli reportedly re-signed this week. Dragons offer to AFB comes to light today at the same time or shortly after Gus' narrative that he pulled out of the race came to light. I don't think this is a coincidence. I think he's ours. Obviously now things will take a little longer given we might have to sort out a player swap or at least some form of compensation for the Warriors. But in my opinion, I think AFB has decided he wants to be a Dragon.

Gardenia

100% the club would now be within their rights to terminate Amone's contract if they see fit. Probably could've done it when he was found guilty tbh, obviously legal advice suggested waiting for sentencing.
Whether they do or not depends on whether Flanagan decides Amone will be a good footy player in his position, and whether he's a popular or a destabilising member of the squad.
Personally I would get rid of him as I think what he did was unforgiveable and someone could've died. However I'm more than happy to leave it with Flanagan and if he decides to keep him, he serves his suspension and we can all just move on.
Agreed. Although he is young and can therefore understand the Judge's ruling. It is a bad look and he is so lucky that this did not end very very badly.

Wolfgang90

If we get AFB it looks like it'll have to involve a player swap as he's contracted until 2026 to NZ. The player must agree to the swap. Apart from potentially Su'a, I can't see any player the Warriors would want from the dragons. They're stacked in the backline, so it'll have to be a forward. I think AFB will decide on 2 teams & whatever is the best deal for warriors they'll proceed with that option.

Slippery Morris

Rumour is Saints got Corey Allan because Warriors want Feagai for AFB in return so they replaced Feagai asap........just kidding.

Corey Allan may be a good signing. He did play for Qld so can't be that bad? Qld don't usually select duds. He was ok at the Chooks but they then got stacked with outside backs from their lower grades which were cheaper options much like why they got rid of Flanno Jr.

NRL360 was great until Anasta took over and has the obvious bias for his beloved Dogs and cannot stop grinning and smiling when Saints have some bad press and quick to throw mud at them. He also slams the Chooks and Tigers at times for which he played for which I find pretty sad. Ben Ikin was really good and the journo's, well, listening to them talking about games is funny, as if they have a clue, all they want to talk about most of the time is off field scandals and less on field stuff which ends up as bull$hit anyway. The show has gone downhill big time since Ben Ikin left.

Dragon David

Rumour is Saints got Corey Allan because Warriors want Feagai for AFB in return so they replaced Feagai asap........just kidding.

Corey Allan may be a good signing. He did play for Qld so can't be that bad? Qld don't usually select duds. He was ok at the Chooks but they then got stacked with outside backs from their lower grades which were cheaper options much like why they got rid of Flanno Jr.

NRL360 was great until Anasta took over and has the obvious bias for his beloved Dogs and cannot stop grinning and smiling when Saints have some bad press and quick to throw mud at them. He also slams the Chooks and Tigers at times for which he played for which I find pretty sad. Ben Ikin was really good and the journo's, well, listening to them talking about games is funny, as if they have a clue, all they want to talk about most of the time is off field scandals and less on field stuff which ends up as bull$hit anyway. The show has gone downhill big time since Ben Ikin left.
Braith Anasta always looks agitated and impatient like he is dying to go to the shithouse to do a big fat turd.

Phantom V

Agree Slippery, I thought Ikin was outstanding! I still watch the show but Anasta seems a little cocky now that he’s settled into the chair.

Dragon David

Richardson will help them at one stage it was rumoured he was coming to us
He will now be involved with negotiating to get Luai signed for the Tigers for 2025 I reckon. He knows how to get the players a club needs and yes, when we thought that we had Jason Ryles coming to us as the head coach there was some talk of getting Richo as well but of course never happened and I now have faith in the current administration to get the club back up the success ladder.