Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Rumours Thread

Saint_JimmyG

We whinge about speed so we get wingers with speed.We whinge that Widdorp has left us in the lurch so we get Norman. We whinged 18 months back that we needed a representative half back so we get Hunt. Also resign representative forwards Frizzell, Vaughan & Debellin as well as Mcinness.We buy a hard nose Front rower in Graham to lead this pack. All this whilst holding on to our most promising juniors ( for the first time in a decade ) AND not paying overs to retain players ( Merrin, Packer , Dugan haven't exactly set the world on fire have they ? )

Whingers always dissect any decision the club makes to criticise. Sometimes it is valid but jesus not always.

There’s nothing wrong with a good whinge. And, it’s actually James, but please carry on.

Saint_JimmyG

and i second that theres a large number of these so called SUPPORTERS wake up to yourselves ,why not try something different like actually supporting this great club .........

It’s also fair to say there’s a large number of fans who relish mediocrity by exclaiming “you’re not a true supporter” to anyone who dares criticising the club.

With this mindset, there’s little wonder why the Dragons have only won one premiership in 40-years.

Steve Waugh once wrote a book entitled “Never Satisfied”. This is the type of attitude which separates the go-getters and underachievers.

and i second that theres a large number of these so called SUPPORTERS wake up to yourselves ,why not try something different like actually supporting this great club .........
For those that you believe have "supported" the club, can you tell me what they have got in return for all that optimism especially the period post 2011?
All the excitement from the "pro everything lobby" when we signed Masoe, KFFL, Lafai, Nielsen, Nabuli, Harrison, Farrell, Mc Crone but to name a few, so how did that all go for us?
We have been through a plethora of dud signings that have achieved SFA and yet they keep coming up with them and at the same time they get applauded by people who thought all the aforementioned were going to do it for us and then the "true supporter lobby" criticise those that see the majority of the signings as same old same old.
In fact the pro signing lobby actually hold the same old same old philosophy themselves which is the ironic part

RedV1

For those that you believe have "supported" the club, can you tell me what they have got in return for all that optimism especially the period post 2011?
All the excitement from the "pro everything lobby" when we signed Masoe, KFFL, Lafai, Nielsen, Nabuli, Harrison, Farrell, Mc Crone but to name a few, so how did that all go for us?
We have been through a plethora of dud signings that have achieved SFA and yet they keep coming up with them and at the same time they get applauded by people who thought all the aforementioned were going to do it for us and then the "true supporter lobby" criticise those that see the majority of the signings as same old same old.
In fact the pro signing lobby actually hold the same old same old philosophy themselves which is the ironic part
Old Timer don’t you think we have a good roster for 2019

When you say roster do you mean the entire 30 or the top 17 or 18?
I think we are light on in the centres and possibly the wing and I also believe we have a few too many mediocre older fillers.
To determine if we are strong you also need to understand the coach’s philosophy for the top 18 and where he intends to play Norman.

ALSGI

Lol, so you’re now the true supporter becuase you have the ability to put shit on everyone the club signs.

I remember all the shit you put on signing Tariq, how did that turn out true supporter?

Lol, so you’re now the true supporter becuase you have the ability to put shit on everyone the club signs.

I remember all the shit you put on signing Tariq, how did that turn out true supporter?
At least I own up when I get it wrong and that is exactly what I did re T Sims
and I’m on the record for that.
For the record you can stick “true” up your arse, as I can actually comprehend that you don’t have to agree with everything or even a majority of things to be a supporter.
I note a lack of opinion by you on the other signings mentioned in my post.

RedV1

When you say roster do you mean the entire 30 or the top 17 or 18?
I think we are light on in the centres and possibly the wing and I also believe we have a few too many mediocre older fillers.
To determine if we are strong you also need to understand the coach’s philosophy for the top 18 and where he intends to play Norman.
I am looking at the top say 17, those that are our playing in our top team.
We must all realise that we can’t buy every good player that comes on the market, due to current contracts/salary cap.

I am looking at the top say 17, those that are our playing in our top team.
We must all realise that we can’t buy every good player that comes on the market, due to current contracts/salary cap.
Ok
From last year I think we are weak in the centres, the wings and by using Latimore
Pereira did well for the rookie he is but IMO he is tradesman quality and we need better
Lafai & Aitken are limited and everyone knows my opinion on Lats
Can we strengthen the side from what we have on the books us the question that needs answering.
Lomax looks the goods for 1 centre spot but IMO we are still 1 quality player short
Host for Lats looks correct for me.
A lot riding in Pearson and Radalawa
So in effect if our mid quality player purchases don’t come off we could be worse off than last year.
The conundrum remains re where Norman slots in as he doesn’t look like he addresses the centre or wing issues.

Warabrook saint

at the end of the day ALLclubs do what they can, i don't think any club sets out to finish 16th.a lot of things have to go right to win the premiership each year.
Yes but the richest always seem to have the smartest in charge and the best on the field

Warabrook saint

Ok
From last year I think we are weak in the centres, the wings and by using Latimore
Pereira did well for the rookie he is but IMO he is tradesman quality and we need better
Lafai & Aitken are limited and everyone knows my opinion on Lats
Can we strengthen the side from what we have on the books us the question that needs answering.
Lomax looks the goods for 1 centre spot but IMO we are still 1 quality player short
Host for Lats looks correct for me.
A lot riding in Pearson and Radalawa
So in effect if our mid quality player purchases don’t come off we could be worse off than last year.
The conundrum remains re where Norman slots in as he doesn’t look like he addresses the centre or wing issues.
I reckon a top quality coach would have Laffai play like we know he can every game, and even turn Aitken into a gun center

ALSGI

At least I own up when I get it wrong and that is exactly what I did re T Sims
and I’m on the record for that.
For the record you can stick “true” up your arse, as I can actually comprehend that you don’t have to agree with everything or even a majority of things to be a supporter.
I note a lack of opinion by you on the other signings mentioned in my post.

You can stick ‘true’ supporter up your arse, as you’re the one that raised it, it’s not a term I use.

As for my opinion on the other select players in your post I’ve made plenty on Lafai but the rest are long gone so WTF even raise them?

Why?

You simply used a very select group of bad signings that are irrelevent now and yet per usual failed to mention any good signings because you’re a negative old prick. You can sugar coat it all you like, fact is you’re just plain, boring and constantly negative.

I’ve said it before, you have obvious footy knowledge and passion for the club but your negativity is tiresome.

RedV1

You can stick ‘true’ supporter up your arse, as you’re the one that raised it, it’s not a term I use.

As for my opinion on the other select players in your post I’ve made plenty on Lafai but the rest are long gone so WTF even raise them?

Why?

You simply used a very select group of bad signings that are irrelevent now and yet per usual failed to mention any good signings because you’re a negative old prick. You can sugar coat it all you like, fact is you’re just plain, boring and constantly negative.

I’ve said it before, you have obvious footy knowledge and passion for the club but your negativity is tiresome.
Ha ha. Why didn’t you tell him what you really think.lol

jak

Yes but the richest always seem to have the smartest in charge and the best on the field
your right mate,but thats life you could always follow one of those teams but just like me you have red and white in your blood, and if your old enough we had a fair run at the top of the tree have a look how many games thr chooks one in 1966 that will make your xmas for you. have a great christmas.