Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Rumours Thread

justadragon

Thankfully not anymore. Finally supporters from other clubs are starting to out Ben Hunt and are realising how much of a flog he's been
Too true KW, it would take a brave person to come and say that Hunt has been a good buy for the Dragons. You would have to be a complete imbecile to think our return on our investment (which was Hunt) has been nothing short of deplorable in every facet.

BLM01

It was so sad that day that I then went for the Chooks for a short period because of it as that is where Slippery ended up. I was young and it did not last long as I realised my heart was with the red V.
Not as sad as I was when BMoz left
Jmoz I was Ok with at the time but still would of been good to see him snd his bro form a lethal combo under Bennett

dungay dragon

Is the club’s expectation that Cody will be back better than ever ?If so with Finau, Sloan, Ramsey & Allan, why would we be after Addo Carr ?
would go after the Bunnies Tyrone Munro DP ..Plenty of scope there
Only young and could be real star of the future and cover multiple positions
Got that touch of Inglis about him at the same stage {age}

BLM01

Papenhuyzen at $1m a season would not be a good deal.

Makes your wonder yet again how the Storm keep the big 4 on top $$$ and other big names under the cap.
Why was Grant in a hurry to take his option when he could’ve tested the market come November to gauge his possible true worth?
It’s Ok we all know NRL sanctioned third party deals are the cause of the imbalance

now what about the fact nearly every position it is being reported not enough decent level 1st grade talent, nothing available on the market as they get locked up long term before being available
Be worse with expansion
Solution for any coach like ours going forward is to develop a champion team from within not a team of champions from out

Just a suggestion what if we got Papenhuyzen for like 850k and get Gutho to play 6 with Flanagan at 7.

1. Papenhuyzen
2. Tuipolotu
3. Holmes
4. Suli
5. Sloan
6. Gutho
7. Flanagan

I don't mind it. Flanagan can just concentrate on kicking and defending well and Papenhuyzen and Gutho can lead the attack.

Parko1310

Papenhuyzen won't leave Melbourne would be my guess, you'd have to pay 900k plus. If we get Gutho, he's not a 6, he's a fullback so it wouldn't work anyway. Theoretically if we had the two in our team, we'd be tying up too much cash in the backs when we need to be spending big on a couple forwards. We can only fit one I'd say, especially with the overpaid Lawrie and Ravalawa still eating up valuable cap space (well done Ben Haran, what a couple of deals)

Papenhuyzen won't leave Melbourne would be my guess, you'd have to pay 900k plus. If we get Gutho, he's not a 6, he's a fullback. Theoretically if we had the two in our team, we'd be tying up too much cash in the backs when we need to be spending big on a couple forwards. We can only fit one I'd say, especially with the overpaid Lawrie and Ravalawa still eating up valuable cap space (well done Ben Haran, what a couple of deals)
But if Hunt goes that frees up 900k and they are spine players (Gutho and Papenhuyzen) and we need a better spine. I agree Gutho isn't a 6 but i think he'd do well there in our team and Gutho and Papenhuyzen is better than just one of them in the team if the team doesn't have a great 6 like us. I think we will get Lodge and hopefully someone like Xavier Willison plus we've got Loko who should be ready at least by the end of next season.

maestro1

Papenhuyzen won't leave Melbourne would be my guess, you'd have to pay 900k plus. If we get Gutho, he's not a 6, he's a fullback so it wouldn't work anyway. Theoretically if we had the two in our team, we'd be tying up too much cash in the backs when we need to be spending big on a couple forwards. We can only fit one I'd say, especially with the overpaid Lawrie and Ravalawa still eating up valuable cap space (well done Ben Haran, what a couple of deals)
Aspects of Gutho's game is so much like a 6 every time he takes the field.

It may not be widely known, but Betaine HCl (Betaine hydrochloride) is a great treatment for a wide range of IBS-similar digestive and intestinal problems, like Crone's or - a common problem as we age - weak digestion. Weak digestion is dangerous bcs improperly-digested proteins can breach the intestinal wall and be recognized by the immune system as a foreign protein and provoke a storm of auto-immune responses, which can become chronic.

Betaine HCl can be bought over the counter - it is just a simple stomach acid supplement - but the cost can add up. Much much cheaper to order it online in powder form (about $5/kg) and put it in your own gelatin capsules. This will last a couple of years.

Betaine HCl is used worldwide as a supplement in animal feed to promote appetite (I can testify it does that) and lean muscle. It has been used since 1952 in Europe and is safe for all animals, including humans. People usually take it before a meal that is heavy in fat or protein. You can read more about it online. I have taken it for years and it has all been positive.
Thanks jubilee I will get some and give it ago

They can paint us anyway they like ND, the old lets not let the facts get in the way of a good story. Unfortunately for them we now have a coach that can stand up to the media and provide actual data as to why Ben Hunt is a busted arse. The absolute next step here should be remove the captaincy from him regardless, this is the line in the sand.
I don't want the captaincy taken from him I want him gone. He is not going to put any effort in for the dragons he is a spent force. He will pull down the whole team if he is on the field and there will be no finals footy in 2025. We would be better of running on the field without a 7 than with him.