Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Rumours Thread

hewi

Whispers are that he was approached by third parties and they got into his head.

See where he ends up and when.

This is a verified rumour from ex nrl footy junior mate at work.

Flanno considered innocent by the loop.

I suspect you are correct and IMO the club should do a Tallis to him , no pay no play for the next 2 years PLUS the NRL should tell him they will not register any contract for him. Enough is enough.

Dragonslayer

The Molo case is interesting as far as how something can deteriorate at such a rapid rate.

All seemed rosy up until the Christmas/New Year break, then this.

So given the time line, Molo hasn't been back at training for 10 days, around the same time we announced our co-captains, and most probably the senior playing group.

Molo, or Molo's management have said there's no issue with Flanno.

He has been granted "leave" on compassionate grounds. With a meeting between him/management scheduled for next week, where it seems a release will he requested formally.

So, my 2c worth is:
1. Agree with Sugar, that Frank may have had a falling out with a player, or playing group.
2. He may have his "nose-out-of-joint" for not being selected in the senior group (or maybe he had and refer back to point 1)
3. As some have already said, he may gave an offer elsewhere, but who has a spot available in their top 30 at his salary range given the NRL won't register a ridiculously low contract.

Also, Lodge being offered a T&T, seemed to me like Flanno wants to try yo smooth the water with Molo first, and not burn the last top 30 spot, to which I believe he wants to keep open. If, and only, if, that Molo is granted a release we may then have a different approach to Lodge.

That's my take, and i might be light years away from the actual, but the Molo situation is looking untenable and, for whatever reason, he doesn't want to be here, then it's best to part ways, sooner than later.

Phantom V

I have been really disappointed by Francis Molo , I agree with many who have stated he is inconsistent, but least he has had the capability to be the alpha. If there were heaps of props on the market I’d happily say bye, but as it is lodge has been the closest we have found recently, and I Don’t want him. So lest say if he is adamant to leave, play this year like Lomax did last year and then leave if you want. otherwise he sits out. And we hope we can get thru the next 12 months and use the cash in a hopeful way. With luck the youngsters pay off early or at least arent hurt by stepping up ealry
I’m as disappointed as you are SD but we can’t let him stay knowing he doesn’t want to be here. FFS it’s dejaviu all over again

RedVDave

There is something wrong with the culture of the dragons and it goes way beyond the coach!, I don't know how many ex players race out the door citing a toxic culture, we have had 2 captains in Hunt and McIness leave, Frizzell hated the joint rushing to a Team that had even less success, the Morris twins have never stepped back into the club, Lomax dropped $200K a season for 2 years to get out and now Molo there has to be a root cause!
Well said there's no doubt in my mind, even past club legends like Matt Cooper have shafted us.

Adolf_Spritzer

Fonua Blake (strictly speaking he was sacked however that was a dumb move)
So you reckon kicking your pregnant partner in the stomach is okay and worthy of maintaining employment? That's real uppercut material. I understand you're frustrated, but he could win a premiership with the scum this year and I would still applaud the club for drawing a line in the sand on things like that because that's garbage human behaviour.

Jubilee

If Molo is not replaced by someone as good if not better, and we don't find another comparable middle we won't be playing semi finals and should turn our attention to 2026 and beyond....there you go controversial but factual
Ilias and KF will do their best but it will be tough if we don't have at least one more hard-to-tackle metre-eater. I wonder what young Atkinson is thinking now?

Harry Bath

So you reckon kicking your pregnant partner in the stomach is okay and worthy of maintaining employment? That's real uppercut material. I understand you're frustrated, but he could win a premiership with the scum this year and I would still applaud the club for drawing a line in the sand on things like that because that's garbage human behaviour.
He should not be allowed to play at all then!!

Jubilee

Obviously what he did was wrong but so is driving while coked to the gills. The question is, how do we handle these affairs correctly from a welfare and correction point of view while not simply handing the player over to another club?

The Broncos show how. You get the malefactor "treatment and education" and briefly suspend and fine him.

But you keep the poor misguided axe murderer under contract.

If we want these issues addressed, it can only be at the level of NRL policy. Players suspended for cause cannot be hired elsewhere.

Slippery Morris

Saints can now bring in Welch and Lodge if Molo is out. 2 experienced props to help the young fellas over the next year or so to develop.

What sux about this is if this Molo crap happened much earlier, Saints may have ended up with Saifiti or RCG by offering them more to join asap. They could have maybe ended up with both. How good would that have been to have those 2 big boys join the group at the expense of the Molo's.

Harry Bath

Ilias and KF will do their best but it will be tough if we don't have at least one more hard-to-tackle metre-eater. I wonder what young Atkinson is thinking now

Well said there's no doubt in my mind, even past club legends like Matt Cooper have shafted us.
The problem goes beyond the coaches maybe the issue is that the Board are toxic to the players, I heard previously that Craig Young in particular was hated by player managers as being caustic, rude and not that smart, maybe it is the Managing director Harran who seems to be impervious to scrutiny, I heard he also is difficult to deal with!, what ever the answer is it needs to change otherwise poor Flanagan is simply moving the deck chairs on the Titanic

Harry Bath

Saints can now bring in Welch and Lodge if Molo is out. 2 experienced props to help the young fellas over the next year or so to develop.

What sux about this is if this Molo crap happened much earlier, Saints may have ended up with Saifiti or RCG by offering them more to join asap. They could have maybe ended up with both. How good would that have been to have those 2 big boys join the group at the expense of the Molo's.
it almost seems deliberate !

Dragons4me

The problem goes beyond the coaches maybe the issue is that the Board are toxic to the players, I heard previously that Craig Young in particular was hated by player managers as being caustic, rude and not that smart, maybe it is the Managing director Harran who seems to be impervious to scrutiny, I heard he also is difficult to deal with!, what ever the answer is it needs to change otherwise poor Flanagan is simply moving the deck chairs on the Titanic

Until we know the full story, everything is just speculation. Us fans just have to cop smart ass comments on other team forums, and wait for anything positive to come out. I know. Just ignore them which I generally do, but the momentum of positivity from recent weeks has taken a hit. One step forward and three backward.

That will never happen again.

The NRL has gone soft on these types of things for too long now...

Thats true.

Everyone knows it.

He’ll be playing for another club, hopefully not the Tigers.

But you’ve got $600k at least or something like that to plug the gap in the short term or you could have an Edwards arrangement of backloaded bonanza.

A down payment on a marquee who starts this year.

Im thinking you might want a younger forward and barring contingencies, you’ve got the pick of the comp fringies and youngsters.

Losing Stefano and Paps, helped us get 6 of the 8 we wanted and we jagged May for a Christmas bonus.

And if he’s not behind the club, Gutho and cook etc 100% then he’s got to go. No weaknesses of the heart should be contaminating the group. Get with the program or piss off.

And these days, plenty of players are considering their options late into the pre season. They’d be a bunch not happy where they are for whatever reason.

So it’s not catastrophic until you see who the replacement is going to be. That’s what we learned this year. A bit of patience and faith.

$600K is a fair whack. That’s much better than average dollar and approaching sub-marquee. Be a lot of players interested in dining out on that.

Adolf_Spritzer

Obviously what he did was wrong but so is driving while coked to the gills. The question is, how do we handle these affairs correctly from a welfare and correction point of view while not simply handing the player over to another club?

The Broncos show how. You get the malefactor "treatment and education" and briefly suspend and fine him.

But you keep the poor misguided axe murderer under contract.

If we want these issues addressed, it can only be at the level of NRL policy. Players suspended for cause cannot be hired elsewhere.
The donkeys lost a lot of face with that decision, they may have retained the player but at what cost to the little integrity they have? There's a good chance the whole thing could implode and derail their season. IMO it was very poorly handled, by both club and the NRL. And if they win the comp it'll come with a big asterisk, same with the scum and AFB.

My biggest issue with it all is you're damned if you do damned if you don't. You look weak if you don't act, but you're equally punished by the incompetence of the NRL that allows a club to swoop in after you show a bit of integrity, something the league likes to pretend it has i.e no fault stand down but shows very little when it really matters. The situation was made worse with us because AFB turned into one of the premier props, a position we've lacked in for quite a while so it just feels extra shit. But I'll forever back the club for what they did.

Cheese sandwich

I note that you just sent me a PM

Seeing you had made a big deal out of putting me on ignore just a few days back you proved my point that you creep and crawl around waiting to pounce when it suits you all the while taking the bug I’ll put you on ignore good bye buddy approach.

Now to the important part if you want to make physical threats please do so in the open part of the forum so all can see you for the two bit twerp you are.
I called him a name too just to see if I got a PM too. It worked :)

Corey Parker takes a brave stand against the NRL's soft stance on hard drug users and dangerous traffic felons.

Good on him!

Agree with his stance on drugs and felons but he's kidding himself regarding 'double standards'.

Clubs are accountable for results within rules dictating the number of players and how much you can spend. If a player is under performing or have a bad attitude or whatever other reason and then receives a tap on the shoulder mid contract. The onus is still on the club to ensure the same financial return to the player for the contracted period (Contribute to next contract if required)

No fan cares

But decent players who request a release to seek another opportunity, especially when no other club should be approaching said player with an opportunity, really screws the club over. Molo's timing is total bullshit for the club. Can Molo ensure we receive a player of the same quality? NO. We are left up the shit.

The idea that the player wont honour his contract then loses the respect & trust of the fans. Of course we erupt and the media knows it.

Sorry for the rant but Parker's article, apparently inspired by the Molo situation, made me see RED- without the V!

P.S. I should have waited till we know the full details but
I DIDN'T

I called him a name too just to see if I got a PM too. It worked :)
He accused the poor Eels guy and other welcome visitors of being trolls fmd he’s the troll.

He doesn’t realise I have a black belt in Origami and could fold him like a piece of paper.

Anyway back to footy we certainly have a few issues bubbling away hopefully we get it sorted before too long otherwise it will cause even bigger issues down the track.

Dragon David

He accused the poor Eels guy and other welcome visitors of being trolls fmd he’s the troll.

He doesn’t realise I have a black belt in Origami and could fold him like a piece of paper.

Anyway back to footy we certainly have a few issues bubbling away hopefully we get it sorted before too long otherwise it will cause even bigger issues down the track.
Agreed 100% OT.