Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Travel Thread

Johns Magic

Partying is good & there are bars everywhere. I liked the area on HK island near all the Ferrari & Lambo dealers. It seemed to be a bit of an expat area & was pretty wild. Cant remember the name of any of the places though.

I now live in HK, on the island.

If you are looking for a night out your three best options are Lan Kwai Fong(LKF), Wyndham Street in Central, and Wanchai.

If you are looking for the most appropriate place for a night out with the wife I would suggest Wyndham Street...it is busy like everywhere in HK on a weekend, but it has a lot of nice restaurants and more upper-class bars.

LKF is a real party spot where you probably only want to go if you want to have a huge night. If you were a single guy with mates that's where I'd suggest, it's where I usually go on weekends. Upside down jelly vodka shots hanging from the roof by your legs is not unusual in LKF.

Wanchai is a mix of pubs and a few clubs at night. It is the red light district of the island but it's not that bad in that regard. A lot of partygoers migrate from LKF to Wanchai at around 3am when LKF starts dying down...Wanchai basically goes all night. But there are plenty of places in Wanchai where you can just sit with beers and watch the footy(mainly soccer) on the big screen.

Johns Magic

Living the dream. If I was younger & single I would love to give that a try for a year or so.

Yeah I got here about six months back and am in no rush to go back to Aus. I'm here for work but it's just a lot of fun here. A strong expat community makes it pretty easy as well. I'm 24 now and reckon I'll be here for a few years at least.

Johns Magic

What takes you to HK, JM?

I work for a bank and was on the Sydney desk, and the chance to transfer to the HK desk came up. Career-wise it was a good move for me because of the markets I do, but I probably would have moved anyway for the exact same role I had in Sydney.

I was pretty over the Sydney bubble and knew there was more out there to explore, and wanted to do it while I was still young enough to take advantage of it. After six months I have a good feeling it's the best decision I ever made.

Misanthrope

I work for a bank and was on the Sydney desk, and the chance to transfer to the HK desk came up. Career-wise it was a good move for me because of the markets I do, but I probably would have moved anyway for the exact same role I had in Sydney.

I was pretty over the Sydney bubble and knew there was more out there to explore, and wanted to do it while I was still young enough to take advantage of it. After six months I have a good feeling it's the best decision I ever made.

Fantastic, mate. I've only paid a brief visit to Hong Kong, but anything is a nice change from the humdrum hustle and bustle of Oz in my eyes.

Red Bear

Air NZ were way cheaper than Qantas when I went to the states and have (in my experience) the friendliest cabin crew. Was nice after 6 weeks in the states to deal with kiwi's (not that the Americans were in any way bad, was just a sort of home reminder).

Stinging to go back to the Americas. Not sure when/how long that'd be possible, probably 18 months away if im realistic, but I think that'd be a big trip. Some sort of jaunt in south america (Boliva and Peru probably the priorities, Inca Trail would be fantastic), then I want to go to the desert, Joshua Tree/Death Valley National Park/Grand Canyon area. Then some snow somewhere, Colorado or Canada. December 2015/january 2016 most realistic time I think.

Other place I'd love to go at the moment is Scotland. Sounds great.

Misanthrope

Headed to Scotland (only for three days) in early May. Got four days in London, two down south, four in Nottingham for a wedding, and then the final three days in Edinburgh.

Looking forward to the pricey trip!

Dragon2010

HK is beautiful apparently. Whenever my dad take a business trip to China. He always travels via HK for that reason alone. He loves is there.

I've got my flights somewhat secured for my USA trip. Planning to leave early August and land in LA, a few days there and off to Montana for my study. Between my studies I want to slot in Las Vegas, New York, Boston and hopefully Denver or Seattle.

Won't be at all that expensive. Getting around USA is cheap and easy.

I also have my cousin who will be over there in September for her round the world trip and she asked me to pop into NY and say hi.

LESStar58

What takes you to Chicago?

Well, in 3 months time I will be in Madison Wisconsin as I am heading to a festival about 2 hours north of there in a little town called Sprague and decided I should go to Chi-town for a few days before I go and gourge myself on copious amounts of cheese.

My dad went to Chicago 2 or 3 times on business when he worked for Unilver and he raved about it. Splashing out there (spending close to $600 on a hotel in the North River Neighborhood for 3 nights) and want to do the ferry/architechture tour. Chicago from Lake Michigan looks stunning!

Also just want go walkabout, see bands, hang out in bars. Prior to Chicago I will be in Nashville for 4 nights (including 4th of July!) and I'll be drunk in dive bars for the majority of the time. I've never been to the states and this is the first time I've travelled on my own and I'm 34 years old. I cannot flucking wait!

Misanthrope

Jealous, mate! I only had 2-3 days in Chicago and I was so busy getting ready for a mate's wedding that I didn't really get to get a feel for the city beyond doing some shopping, eating at Pizzeria Uno, and seeing The Dark Knight Rises :lol:

Misanthrope

This time in two days I'll be en route to London.

I've got four days in the British capital. Any suggestions as to how I spend them? I've not been before.

Dutchy

The usual sights. But get around on the Barclays bikes, a lot of fun.

Evening and night get hammered. It's not as expensive as people make out.

Dragon2010

Self-hire bicycles, Mis. You rent them from a station and return them to other stations. Melbourne have it too (From memory).