Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The TV rights thread part II

Providing the price is right which is your preferred FTA broadcast option?

• All games on Seven

Votes: 11 4.2%
  • All games on Nine

Votes: 17 6.5%
  • All games on Ten

Votes: 59 22.6%
  • Seven/Nine split

Votes: 10 3.8%
  • Seven/Ten split

Votes: 109 41.8%
  • Nine/Ten split

Votes: 55 21.1%

beave

Exactly, if it allows me another 20 mins at the game to get my drink on (1-2 more bar runs) then I am all for it!!!!!

unforgiven

The old guard will kick and scream about 'Americanisation', but rugby league needs to be played in quarters. For the extra TV revenue if nothing else.

I would not have a major problem with this as long as it was a very short break (less than 2 mins) near the 20 min mark, in a natural break in the game (a scrum for example). I would also like to see its implementation correspond with a reduction of the interchange to allow us to keep the gladatorial aspect of out game.

docbrown

Expansion doesn't necessarily have to put a 'strain' on a comp. If done right, it can do the opposite and bring even more value. I think Perth and another Brisbane team would do this.

Just as long as the NRL doesn't go down the AFL path and put expansion teams in already saturated markets and into areas that don't really need or want a team.

AFL expansion into the GC and western Sydney will go down in history as one of the most misguided ventures in Australian sporting history.

I don't think we've got that problem.

Winter teams in high profile national comps:

Perth - 3
Central Coast - 0
Central Qld - 0
PNG - 0
Wellington - 2
Christchurch - 1
Brisbane - 3
Gold Coast - 2 (when Suns joined) but now 3

Sydney - 11...

docbrown

I would not have a major problem with this as long as it was a very short break (less than 2 mins) near the 20 min mark, in a natural break in the game (a scrum for example). I would also like to see its implementation correspond with a reduction of the interchange to allow us to keep the gladatorial aspect of out game.

That's probably how it will go and also with a slight extension at half time.

Play that as double headers with buffers between matches and you've increase your ad time significantly without being noticable.

unforgiven

That's probably how it will go and also with a slight extension at half time.

Play that as double headers with buffers between matches and you've increase your ad time significantly without being noticable.

I believe that the reduction in the interchange to go hand in hand with the implementation of this crucial to prevent this having an impact on the game. A 2 min stoppage is a big breather for players of the fitness level of those competing in the NRL.

The only concern I would have is a situational concern. For example, a team is dominating possession by forcing drop outs during the lead up to the 20 min mark. I'd hate to see the defending team get a 2min break in this time, I would like to see the ref use some discretion and call the break when this period ends, ie a mistake from the attacking team or a restart from the defending team after they successfully repel the attack.

unforgiven

I'd also like to take this opportunity to thank Doc for your wonderful, informative and knowledgable contribution to this thread. I have followed it for a long time and have always appreciated what you bring to thus disscussion.

The only concern I would have is a situational concern. For example, a team is dominating possession by forcing drop outs during the lead up to the 20 min mark. I'd hate to see the defending team get a 2min break in this time, I would like to see the ref use some discretion and call the break when this period ends, ie a mistake from the attacking team or a restart from the defending team after they successfully repel the attack.

The players would just need to be mindful of the game clock like they are with halftime. I daresay we'd see a lot more opportunistic field goals as the whistle approaches.

What would also be good would be better clock management - the clock stopping automatically whenever the ball is out of play and so on. That would make the games longer and go some way to countering the effect extra breaks will have on player attrition.

unforgiven

The players would just need to be mindful of the game clock like they are with halftime. I daresay we'd see a lot more opportunistic field goals as the whistle approaches.

What would also be good would be better clock management - the clock stopping automatically whenever the ball is out of play and so on. That would make the games longer and go some way to countering the effect extra breaks will have on player attrition.

I dont want the players having to be mindful of the game clock at the 20 and 60 min marks. There are ways to implememnt this without altering the fabric of the game.

1 Eyed TEZZA

The old guard will kick and scream about 'Americanisation', but rugby league needs to be played in quarters. For the extra TV revenue if nothing else.

To piss the old guard off even more, a suggestion a while ago that I heard on the footy show was having the game run in quarters, but 100 minutes matches. So breaks every 25 minutes. The logic behind it is it would create 25% more opportunity for revenue in each match. Potentially increasing revenue by 25%.

I mentioned the idea on here and I think it was Quidgybo who came with a counter argument which I thought was brilliant. Perhaps one of the appeals of our game is its length. Our game may not be as appealing if it was changed in such a way.

Look at the All Stars game, while those changes are dramatic in comparison, it hasn't been welcomed by fans very well.

I'm all for change, but the old heads shouldn't be ignored. Change isn't always best.

I agree mate, which is why I'm all for keeping the game at 80 minutes but play it in quarters and stop the clock more often. The games would be a bit longer in real time but I doubt the fans would really notice.

There are plenty of dud changes - like most of the ones they trial in the All-Star match. One they trialed this year, which is one that I've been calling for myself, is replacing most of those game-changing penalties with a simple 6 again. But seeing how it works in practice, I'm not that keen on it any more.

Because there's no rest while the opposition kicks for the sideline, it gets far too easy for a team to get momentum.

Anyway, getting off topic now.

1 Eyed TEZZA

I agree mate, which is why I'm all for keeping the game at 80 minutes but play it in quarters and stop the clock more often. The games would be a bit longer in real time but I doubt the fans would really notice.

Im not 100% sure but I swear that happened a while ago and the backlash was fairly intense.

Card Shark

I would not have a major problem with this as long as it was a very short break (less than 2 mins) near the 20 min mark, in a natural break in the game (a scrum for example).

I called for this elsewhere a few months back but it wasn't a popular idea but if we can have a very short break for about 3 * 30 sec ads, that has got to be worth a fortune to a TV network & therefore an increase in TV rights revenue.

In that short break, I will go to the dunny & get a beer. Won't miss any off the game - it's a win/win.

bobmar28

Stoppages for quarters, goal line restarts etc would give networks more income and increase the value of the rights.

If the games were split into quarters, rather than halves, are we talking about just a "break" at 1/4 and 3/4 time with play to restart from that position (ala NFL) or are we talking a complete restart from half way? A quarter time break is hardly intrusive, and along with a slightly longer half time, the tv stations could generate alot more revenue (more ads) with little effect on the watchability of the game.

Just watched the Cowboys game in Perth with 1/4 breaks. Worked oK with min disruption to the flow. Again though what ever happens should be an initiative of the RLIF and adopted by all countries. No country should be allowed to change rules without it being a world wide change otherwise we end up with a farcical situation of different games being played around the world.