Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The TV rights thread part II

Providing the price is right which is your preferred FTA broadcast option?

• All games on Seven

Votes: 11 4.2%
  • All games on Nine

Votes: 17 6.5%
  • All games on Ten

Votes: 59 22.6%
  • Seven/Nine split

Votes: 10 3.8%
  • Seven/Ten split

Votes: 109 41.8%
  • Nine/Ten split

Votes: 55 21.1%

Yep I think the expansion game will become the regular Sunday night game. Will rate well on TV and if it is a 6 or 6.30pm KO can still be family friendly. Seemed to rate well on TV as well.

In good news for the game in WA Ch9 have announced they will be showing the Sunday game at 1pm every week.

Canucks

Yep I think the expansion game will become the regular Sunday night game. Will rate well on TV and if it is a 6 or 6.30pm KO can still be family friendly. Seemed to rate well on TV as well.

In good news for the game in WA Ch9 have announced they will be showing the Sunday game at 1pm every week.

So they will show the 5th best game of the round in the middle of the day in Perth.... I still think it's awesome, but they need to show the Souths Broncos game at NIB live on the friday night..... And run ads.....

Well Sunday is a step forwar. But yes next challenge is Friday night games at 7.30pm on GEM. The WARL are pushing them hard to make it happen!

undertaker

Will this become 2pm when daylight savings finishes, or will the Sunday game be live into Perth?

undertaker

So they will show the 5th best game of the round in the middle of the day in Perth.... I still think it's awesome, but they need to show the Souths Broncos game at NIB live on the friday night..... And run ads.....

Its not always the 5th choice game. Sometimes Ch9 pick a FN and Sunday game as their first two choices

meltiger

Is that this year?

Have we got the same in Melbourne those in the know? (@4 obviously)

Canucks

Is that this year?

Have we got the same in Melbourne those in the know? (@4 obviously)

I checked the guides for Sunday, Perth get it at 1pm, Melbourne get it at 11.30pm

I also checked the amount of crap on GEM and GO! that will be broadcast in Melbourne at the same time.... its a joke

undertaker

http://www.tvtonight.com.au/

they are going well, i think growth overall but QLD still refuse to watch anything without the Broncos in it.

..and therein lies with the main issue with the two Friday-night game system. Although there's a good retention rate amongst the Sydneysiders with the 9:30pm match, there's always been a huge drop-off in the Brisbane ratings between the 7:30pm and 9:30pm games since 2007. So, for all the ppl whinging about why Brisbane play most of their games on FNF, I agree with you but now you can see why Ch9 predominantly play Brisbane on FNF and are also desperate to get a 2nd Brisbane side into the comp. Even when the Titans or Cowboys have played in the live QLD FNF match, they haven't been able to generate the same ratings the Broncos have in that timeslot.

The Broncos/Cowboys match got 304k in Brisbane, with the Sea Eagles/Tigers only getting 114k. That's a 63% decrease between the two matches.

undertaker

and good to see the Eels/Warriors game last night rating well (308k). If anything, I'm disappointed at the Bulldogs/Dragons ratings of 270k. Should've rated much higher than that.

wain

I checked the guides for Sunday, Perth get it at 1pm, Melbourne get it at 11.30pm

I also checked the amount of crap on GEM and GO! that will be broadcast in Melbourne at the same time.... its a joke

yep, same in adelaide :(
doesnt surprise me though. and ch 9 has a movie from 1966 on it! pretty sure people who want to see it have already had the chance.

my only concern with the new tv rights deal is that it goes national live, not just to cities that have a team...otherwise we will miss out.

carlosthedwarf

and good to see the Eels/Warriors game last night rating well (308k). If anything, I'm disappointed at the Bulldogs/Dragons ratings of 270k. Should've rated much higher than that.

In theory there should be more people watching TV on Sunday/Monday nights so it's not a total surprise. Maybe the Dogs/Saints game on Sunday/Monday night could have pushed 350k?

IanG

Let's also hope they get rid of the black out of radio broadcasts of the 2nd Friday Night game as well.

LESStar58

Next Storm game at AAMI vs Roosters is on a Sunday...could have heard at the game that its a 730 kick off as well?

What is the contingency for this if I've right? I didn't think Sundays were part of the current TV deal?

docbrown

Next Storm game at AAMI vs Roosters is on a Sunday...could have heard at the game that its a 730 kick off as well?

What is the contingency for this if I've right? I didn't think Sundays were part of the current TV deal?

It's covered under the split. NRL can shift timeslots as required with the broadcaster's approval, which they usually get for things like Thursday & Sunday nights for obvious reasons.

Canucks

It's an arvo game according to the NRL website, 2pm fox...

Canucks

Thanks doc.

I'm currently torn between Thursday and Sunday night footy.

I hope they push for the Storm Warriors game for Good Friday again this year, with a national audience.... The AFL leave themselves wide open on that day by not scheduling games....

LESStar58

I hope they push for the Storm Warriors game for Good Friday again this year, with a national audience.... The AFL leave themselves wide open on that day by not scheduling games....

Storm vs Warriors is ANZAC Day and even though its a Wednesday both traditional games are scheduled to go ahead (along with Dragons v Chooks).

Only time Storm played on GF in recent memory was against Dragons at Etihad in 2010.