Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The two send offs in parra-souths...useless refs

ironhorse

Maybe the 2 refs issue is the fact the NRL had to double the first grade ref pool overnight , so the quality of manpower is not quite there yet but in ,say, years 3 and on the idea will come good ?

Pedantic refereeing at it's worst. Disadvantaged both sides and also ruined a very enjoyable game of footy for anyone watching the match. It wasn't like the penalties were getting out of control or anything. Sure they were a higher level than normal, but that included a couple of obstruction penalties which we rarely see, one for passing off the ground, another for an offside kick chase, that is stuff that is unintentional. There were also several high tackle calls that were borderline.

Refs were pissweak today.

Don't think it effected the result, they were pissweak both ways for 80mins.

timka4

Gus Gould called it early and was spot on.

well yeh that was always obvious though, if he didnt even out the sin bins after all that cautioning sh*t he woulda been in 10000x more trouble then what he will be or what he should be in (most likely finch wont do anything).

Both sin bins in the first place should not have happened, but i felt a little justice for the eels when champion was binned (although he didnt deserve it at all)

I like Gus as a commentator he makes me laugh(although he can be ridiculous sometimes) he adds variety as a commentator, he become head ref over finch because he will continue to complain about the system, which i believe he could most likely fix.

themacemaceman

If those two idiots in pink are both in first grade next week I will send Finch my resume...no wait I will send Gallop my resume for Finch's position. Those two will be lucky to get out of the stadium tonight. Both supporters will be giving them a canning.
I usually hate people who bag refs' but today Im afraid they just plain got the wrong decision time and time again. It was farcicle. At least the the bad calls went both ways.

Bulldog Force

Has to be dropped. Hayne the sook milked the penalty and got up as soon as the whistle was blown. Both referees should be dropped... on the head!

Scarves

This is becoming a petition, so I'll sign up too.

Seriously, I hate bagging ref's however while I don't believe this group of officials haven't gotten worse, it is obvious that under the guidance of Robert Finch, this group of referees have progressively grown out of touch with the game. They are refereeing something different, it was like Cummins and Sutton lost control today in that South v Parra match, and really the game wasn't one of great spite or full of reckless play.

The refereeing was so bad, so really really bad that it became confusing, like they pre-planned to create a 12 on 12 encounter as an experiment. The Beau Champion call was the most bizzare sin bin I've seen in quite some time. I do not know what the video dude is doing upstairs but surely he is seeing the embarrassing situation that was unfolding.

The person resposible for this is Robert Finch, he has to go, number one gone. The biggest problem in the game at the moment is refereeing, and that doesn't mean the standard is low, it just means they are way off beam, and it's been getting worse and the rhetoric and BS coming from Finch needs to stop, him and his KPI's he uses for a crutch can @#$% right off.

Following that we can start cleaning the mess.

SEAT 1A

• The 10 meter rule for advantage.
  • The separation when scoring a try.
  • Contesting a kick.
  • I can't remember the last time I saw a really bad head high other than when a player is off balance. Not a bad thing that one.
  • Stripping the ball with two are in the tackle.
  • Players walking off the mark.
  • The sheepard rule when you are not giving the other side distance.(Can some one explain that rule to me.)
  • Not letting the player play the ball. One of the Titans players was riding Ben Hornby's back on FRI night and Ben copped a penalty for dropping it
  • The whole KPI thing.
  • The down town rule. I think there has one or two given this year.

Well it is a concern, both their wins have involved questionable reffereeing.

The Manly game was clearly on the one side, and this game favoured both sides but it went in favour of the Eels in more crucial stages than Souths.
Which side did the Manly game favour, considering BOTH sides got an incorrect try disallowed?

I reckon Gould should be in charge of referees, it's the one subject he is constantly correct on.
Is that the same Gus Gould that blew up deluxe 2 weeks ago at the Morris no try, and now lamely mumbles "good decision" at the same ruling now?

Commentators take about 6 months to understand new rules, and none of them bother to research them before season kickoff - DESPITE these new rules usually being printed in the press.

TThe Beau Champion call was the most bizzare sin bin I've seen in quite some time. I do not know what the video dude is doing upstairs but surely he is seeing the embarrassing situation that was unfolding.

It was no more bizarre than Cayless's. Both captains were warned if they infringed again there would be sinbinnings. Cayless wasn't sin binned due to the seriousness of his infringement, but because he infringed after a warning. Same with Champion.

Choppies

How many more years of absolute crap do we have to put up with from Finch and his merry men? Ever since he took over on 03 the standard of refs has plumetted.

stuke

So pathetic.

The fact the Eels 2 wins have come off the back of more than questionable reffereeing in their favour is yet another concern.

:sarcasm:
i'm confused! the game i watched saw Nathan Cayless, the Parramatta captain, sent to the sin bin for making a tackle BEFORE the refs sent a Souths player to the sin bin for making a tackle. did you watch a different game??

Fein

It was no more bizarre than Cayless's. Both captains were warned if they infringed again there would be sinbinnings. Cayless wasn't sin binned due to the seriousness of his infringement, but because he infringed after a warning. Same with Champion.

As a specific infringement, I'd argue the Eels one was a penalty, whereas Champions was not.

However, and this is where "hilarity" ensues, both players sent from the field during the game were not guilty of the infringements they were marched for!!!

BOTH!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:lol::lol:

As a specific infringement, I'd argue the Eels one was a penalty, whereas Champions was not.

However, and this is where "hilarity" ensues, both players sent from the field during the game were not guilty of the infringements they were marched for!!!

BOTH!!!!!!!!!!!!!

typical Cummins performance really.

BOTH!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Agree on your latter point. But the warning was not for specific infringements but infringements in general. That's why both captains were called out and warned as opposed to just Cayless, as Parramatta were the team penalised when the warning was called.