Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Timana Tahu ends union nightmare by returning to Parramatta Eels

Ron Jeremy

An importnat person at the club advised that Inu would be resigning and may not be asking for even what he is being paid at the moment, anyone that knows him realises he is Parra loyal ( well we hope so)

wouldn't that be awesome

I was talking to a one of our mates on the forum today. The one with the best contacts.

Anyway, think about it guys Tahu is coming back to play centre. I was informed today that Inu is staying. I reckon it is either Grothe or Burt who is leaving.

Parra Steve

An importnat person at the club advised that Inu would be resigning and may not be asking for even what he is being paid at the moment, anyone that knows him realises he is Parra loyal ( well we hope so)

There was an article a few weeks back in RLW that said INU wanted to be an eel for life.

Ron Jeremy

Its almost our great 2007 run all over again....remember burt was injured so we had
hayne
grothe
smith
tahu
inu

only difference is now we have a better 4ward pack and will have some halves who take the line on in mortimer and keating
imagine next yr with the money from cayless's contract we will be able to attract another 2 topline players in 2011!!! and players will actually want to come to our side!

our great run started when Burt got injured, and Hayne was given his position, the end result was a dream run and a narrow loss to Melbourne.

OMFG ! This is f**king awsome.

EDIT: The Tahs are f**ked next year. They just lost Lote & Tahu in the space of 2 weeks !

stuke

Grothe was mentioned in the Daily telegraph a week or so ago as having had some interest in from ESL and the club had allowed him to negotiate. could this be the end of Guru?

yy_cheng

So Colonel,

It's not FFMM is it?

The lack of minutes that he plays nowadays worries me.

Ando might be just testing whether the team can go forward without him

and he was saying this the other day http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/spo...-start-in-waitforages-race-20090719-dp2n.html

Despite the frank admission from Deans, Tahu is upbeat about his future in the 15-man code.

"Even though I haven't played a game yet and don't know when I will I'm still very excited," Tahu said. "The team's going well so it's always going to be hard to get into the side.

"I'll just bide my time and keep my fingers crossed. I'll enjoy the experience and keep working hard.

"Just being part of the squad in only my second year is exciting. And my time will come."

The 29-year-old flyer again laughed off speculation he wants out of rugby to return to the NRL as soon as 2010.

"Mate, the Knights stuff is just the same as what the Roosters story was earlier in the year - crazy speculation," he said.

"It's only been two years in rugby, so at the moment I'm very happy where I am.

"I've won a grand final with the Knights and a series with the Blues and Kangaroos, and I'd love to add a Bledisloe Cup and Tri-Nations to that."

and he said this before moving to yawnion

http://www.smh.com.au/news/Sport/Tahu-pours-cold-water-on-code-switch/2007/02/20/1171733757598.html

Tahu pours cold water on code switch

Parramatta centre Timana Tahu said the thought of touching the ball "two times a game" was enough to turn him off a switch to rugby union.

Tahu, currently between managers and off contract at the end of the season, said staying with the Eels would be his priority when he sat down to begin negotiations on a new deal.

There had been rumours that the Test and NSW Origin three-quarter would be a target for the cashed-up Australian Rugby Union, but Tahu said he wouldn't even consider a switch of codes as a last resort.

"I don't know if I'd (even) talk to rugby," Tahu said.

"Probably by then I'll just sign up with an NRL club... it wouldn't even be an option to go to union.

"For me it's happiness first, where you're more comfortable.

"They've got heaps of money and they can blow any NRL club out of the water with any player they want but then it comes down to expectation.

"I think that's too much pressure if you want to do that. You're going to have everyone watching you and you make one mistake you're probably going to get pounded for it the rest of your career."

While the pressure that comes with the fat paycheck is one thing, so too is the enjoyment factor for Tahu.

The 26-year-old said he had taken note of the frustrations voiced by Wallabies star Lote Tuqiri about the lack of ball he had received while playing on the wing in rugby union.

Tuqiri is believed to be exploring a move back to rugby league for next season, in part due to his lack of opportunities in the 15-man game, something Tahu said he had taken into account.

"He's a competitive player and so am I, I like being competitive and I like to have the ball in my hands," Tahu said.

"That would probably be the most stressful thing - the game's close and you want to do something and you can't even get the ball because they're very structured.

"Being a centre or winger, you touch the ball two times in a game and I don't really want to be doing that."

While remaining at Parramatta is his No.1 priority, Tahu is sure to command interest from rival NRL clubs.

Neighbouring club Penrith is believed to be in the hunt for the former Newcastle flyer, while other clubs short on outside backs such as Cronulla and South Sydney would also be interested.

Eels coach Michael Hagan, who also coached Tahu at the Knights, said re-signing the centre was a priority.

Grothe was mentioned in the Daily telegraph a week or so ago as having had some interest in from ESL and the club had allowed him to negotiate. could this be the end of Guru?

I was talking to a one of our mates on the forum today. The one with the best contacts.

Anyway, think about it guys Tahu is coming back to play centre. I was informed today that Inu is staying. I reckon it is either Grothe or Burt who is leaving.

So Colonel,

It's not FFMM is it?

The lack of minutes that he plays nowadays worries me.

Ando might be just testing whether the team can go forward without him

Two of four names mentioned here would IMO be reasonably close if the bloke Avenger is the same bloke that I talked with yesterday and I'm certain that it isn't Inu and reasonably confident Burt will stay as well.

natheel

Awesome stuff parra obviously tahu loves the club or else he wouldn't take a major pay cut to come back..

1. Hayne
2. Reddy
3. Tahu
4. Inu
5. Grothe
6. Mortimer
7. Keating

Inu and tahu in the centres. I rekon they will bring the best out of each other

Two of four names mentioned here would IMO be reasonably close if the bloke Avenger is the same bloke that I talked with yesterday and I'm certain that it isn't Inu and reasonably confident Burt will stay as well.

Colonel

Burt and Grothe are too good and too experienced to play for Wenty. Reddy just re-signed for 2 more years. It must be Grothe or Burt.

stuke

Grothe could be looking at one last big payday, especially the problems he has had with his back.

would be a shame though, it's been great to see him fight his way back after the disapointment of last season.