Quicksilver
Sexual assault and sex are two completely different things, in my opinion.
Drinking can lead to increased likelihood of assault....so bad.Sexual assault and sex are two completely different things, in my opinion.
And, well done fish for having a brain and a set of values you accessed to make your post
Current case of sexual assault before the courts after the accused got pissed is still in people's minds. I have intel that this would have been let go if not for the flood of complaints about a player saying he have 1000 beers (get pissed) and then pick up "anything"
Bigger picture people.
The tunnel vision in here is sickening. The Ramien hit was OK. This is OK. Because they are Sharks? Wake up!!
The interesting there here is not really what happened to Toby but how the forum has reacted.
Toby made an offhand comment which was meant to be taken lightly, humorously. Regardless of that, it should not have been said in this context. I agree that Toby seem like a decent, woman-focused fella; I heard the Chadcast; he respects the women in his life. It does seem disproportionate, the response by the NRL. I get that. That, to me, is a corporate response to a social problem; it's going to be inexact. Again, IMO, they need to do this, but it was heavy-handed. They could have back channelled it, but alas, its the front page.
The game has a problem with the objectification of women as objects for pleasure, AS DOES SOCIETY. And here in our microcosm, the forum, we have a society playing it out in real-time. Women are angry, and rightfully so. Speak to your partner, daughter, mother or neighbour. 1 in 6 women are sexually assaulted in their lives:" These figures rose to 1 in 6 women (17%, or 1.6 million) and 1 in 25 men (4.3%, or 385,000) when any sexual assault since the age of 15 was considered":Source 2020 Australian Institute of Health ad Welfare..find it here.
https://www.aihw.gov.au/reports/domestic-violence/sexual-assault-in-australia/contents/summary.
Have a read and then construct an argument as to why things don't need to change. A DECENT ARGUMENT THAT DOESNT INCLUDE...WOKE...CANCEL. LEFT WING.Try being a human..or dare I say, a real man.
Yes, the response seems over the top, and ghoti comes in with a pretty decent counter opinion, and most of you shout him down for being too woke..or virtue signalling FFS. IF things are going to change, and change they must, then individual men need to change. I have mistreated women and objectified them a lot through my youth, often using them for mutual pleasure. Yes, women can enjoy casual, or partnered or whatever sex. Yes, they do talk about random hookups and the like. YAY!! But if the statistics are true and I would be willing to wager they are underreported, men on here, IN THIS FORUM OR MEN YOU KNOW, have caused some damage, we may not like it, but it has to be true. Think about it. Question your own behaviours and motives. Why pile on ghotti and claim "cancel culture".That's is as helpful as cancel culture itself. The truth will always lie in the middle. Go and speak to your wife/mother or daughter about it. about it. Why don't you tell them that not all men? or that all this talk about equality sounds like virtue signalling. Even better walk down the street with them and wolf whilst other women.
In this case of Toby, I don't think nor do really any of you think has was speaking facts. We all know that. But language matters. In the same week, thousands of women and some were marched to protest against sexual bias and assault. In the same week that Grace Tame gave her speech at the national press club. Take the time to watch it.
Watch that, then construct an argument as to why our sexual culture doesn't need to change. People will say, that's pedos, or I'm not like that. Well great, I f**king hope not. It starts with a conversation amongst men about how we treat women as receptacles for our cocks, not as equals with an emotional world, imagination and dreams, and desires like consensual, sometimes hot, sometimes anonymous sex. This is why the Toby comment needs to be held up. It's just insensitive in an angry climate. Look at the history fo the game regarding women, and as we all know, that is just a representation of how much of society is.
How the majority of this forum responded is way more shocking
So the comment has come out at the same time that the highest legal officer in the country had to defend an alleged rape. In the same month that 1000s of schoolgirls reported historical assault. At the same time as an alleged rape in the highest offices, yet you claim cancel culture. Grow up, forum men. If you give a shit, everyone should watch the Grace Tame speech, its thirty minutes of your life that should open your eyes. Everyone in politics talks f**king bullshit; this woman speaks the truth. In my circle of 6 male friends. 3 have been sexually abused. It happens to both men and women, but what I am trying to highlight is that the way we as individuals think about sex and women as objects, and the commodification of women through advertising and how men and women are raised on porn It needs to change.
Humour is good, and we need to laugh at all of it cause the world is f**king absurd. But at least be open to change, have a think next time you pile on to sexual innuendo or stare at a woman, or beat off to porn. It is not all men, but all men and some women need to evaluate how we respond to this. It's not going away, and nor should it.
Yeah, I'm a "progressive", a father of a daughter and a husband, and yeah, I have f**ked up all of those things, over time, due to the relentless pursuit of my seemingly one great need..sex. But it has and continues to change. I suggest you do the same, or at least if you don't give a fugg, out yourself to the women in your life. Give them the respect of being honest that you think all of this anger is "virtue signalling" and "woke bullshit". Yeah, it can "go too far" but ill tell you the truth, assault is way too far.
Question your self, or at the least tell the women close to you that you don't give a f**k about it and see how they respond. Have some integrity.
Based on all that’s going on the matty johns show should probably stop altogether or maybe just maybe discuss footy.
And an ill-fitting shirt.It wouldn't sadden me. Not because of the raunchy shit that goes on but because I simply can't stand that narcissistic chimpanzee that hosts it. He's not even funny. He's just a self promoting flog with self esteem issues and still languishing in his brother's shadow.
Cheers.Thank you sladden road for providing reason and an attempt to educate people.
The interesting there here is not really what happened to Toby but how the forum has reacted.
Toby made an offhand comment which was meant to be taken lightly, humorously. Regardless of that, it should not have been said in this context. I agree that Toby seem like a decent, woman-focused fella; I heard the Chadcast; he respects the women in his life. It does seem disproportionate, the response by the NRL. I get that. That, to me, is a corporate response to a social problem; it's going to be inexact. Again, IMO, they need to do this, but it was heavy-handed. They could have back channelled it, but alas, its the front page.
The game has a problem with the objectification of women as objects for pleasure, AS DOES SOCIETY. And here in our microcosm, the forum, we have a society playing it out in real-time. Women are angry, and rightfully so. Speak to your partner, daughter, mother or neighbour. 1 in 6 women are sexually assaulted in their lives:" These figures rose to 1 in 6 women (17%, or 1.6 million) and 1 in 25 men (4.3%, or 385,000) when any sexual assault since the age of 15 was considered":Source 2020 Australian Institute of Health ad Welfare..find it here.
https://www.aihw.gov.au/reports/domestic-violence/sexual-assault-in-australia/contents/summary.
Have a read and then construct an argument as to why things don't need to change. A DECENT ARGUMENT THAT DOESNT INCLUDE...WOKE...CANCEL. LEFT WING.Try being a human..or dare I say, a real man.
Yes, the response seems over the top, and ghoti comes in with a pretty decent counter opinion, and most of you shout him down for being too woke..or virtue signalling FFS. IF things are going to change, and change they must, then individual men need to change. I have mistreated women and objectified them a lot through my youth, often using them for mutual pleasure. Yes, women can enjoy casual, or partnered or whatever sex. Yes, they do talk about random hookups and the like. YAY!! But if the statistics are true and I would be willing to wager they are underreported, men on here, IN THIS FORUM OR MEN YOU KNOW, have caused some damage, we may not like it, but it has to be true. Think about it. Question your own behaviours and motives. Why pile on ghotti and claim "cancel culture".That's is as helpful as cancel culture itself. The truth will always lie in the middle. Go and speak to your wife/mother or daughter about it. about it. Why don't you tell them that not all men? or that all this talk about equality sounds like virtue signalling. Even better walk down the street with them and wolf whilst other women.
In this case of Toby, I don't think nor do really any of you think has was speaking facts. We all know that. But language matters. In the same week, thousands of women and some were marched to protest against sexual bias and assault. In the same week that Grace Tame gave her speech at the national press club. Take the time to watch it.
Watch that, then construct an argument as to why our sexual culture doesn't need to change. People will say, that's pedos, or I'm not like that. Well great, I f**king hope not. It starts with a conversation amongst men about how we treat women as receptacles for our cocks, not as equals with an emotional world, imagination and dreams, and desires like consensual, sometimes hot, sometimes anonymous sex. This is why the Toby comment needs to be held up. It's just insensitive in an angry climate. Look at the history fo the game regarding women, and as we all know, that is just a representation of how much of society is.
How the majority of this forum responded is way more shocking
So the comment has come out at the same time that the highest legal officer in the country had to defend an alleged rape. In the same month that 1000s of schoolgirls reported historical assault. At the same time as an alleged rape in the highest offices, yet you claim cancel culture. Grow up, forum men. If you give a shit, everyone should watch the Grace Tame speech, its thirty minutes of your life that should open your eyes. Everyone in politics talks f**king bullshit; this woman speaks the truth. In my circle of 6 male friends. 3 have been sexually abused. It happens to both men and women, but what I am trying to highlight is that the way we as individuals think about sex and women as objects, and the commodification of women through advertising and how men and women are raised on porn It needs to change.
Humour is good, and we need to laugh at all of it cause the world is f**king absurd. But at least be open to change, have a think next time you pile on to sexual innuendo or stare at a woman, or beat off to porn. It is not all men, but all men and some women need to evaluate how we respond to this. It's not going away, and nor should it.
Yeah, I'm a "progressive", a father of a daughter and a husband, and yeah, I have f**ked up all of those things, over time, due to the relentless pursuit of my seemingly one great need..sex. But it has and continues to change. I suggest you do the same, or at least if you don't give a fugg, out yourself to the women in your life. Give them the respect of being honest that you think all of this anger is "virtue signalling" and "woke bullshit". Yeah, it can "go too far" but ill tell you the truth, assault is way too far.
Question your self, or at the least tell the women close to you that you don't give a f**k about it and see how they respond. Have some integrity.
Good post mate. I am also a victim of childhood abuse and I know a lot has changed since that happened. Sometimes though I think people go to far in this PC worldI can properly respond to this later, (havent watched the vid) just want to say that I think you miss the point of the forums (or my) response as to a subject of pulling things apart to make them something that they are not, or at least unintended. People are concerned about a society that is ever increasingly becoming Orwellian. I don't think it's fair to assume that most of us are oblivious or stuck in the mud about toxic sexual attitudes and violence towards women and tbh I think that the culture is changing slowly towards the positive and I agree more needs to be done and change needs to happen. I don't think Toby's quip was anything other than a passing joke, a bit crass for live TV but it was the MJ Show, poorly timed yes but most of us have used the term "pull a root" in the same way that Yanks say "Getting laid" and will continue to do so what ever term is deemed acceptable in earshot of the public.
Also, I'm a victim of childhood abuse and I have a partner and a daughter who's in her early 20's and I do speak to them about this often (The missus and I had a discussion last night about it) I think you are drawing a longish bow suggesting that we don't understand the nuances of modern courtship, how things play out and turn into tragedies.
Things are WAY different to what they were when I was young, it's a delicate balance that needs to be talked about I agree, yet, we figure out a way to do it without taking all the fun out of living in a free society?
Anyway, if I've upset ghoti by my response it was unintended and he did cop a bit of rebuttal from his pov, and probably wasn't intended to come across so harshly.
So peace out.
And just a footnote, because of the poor way the NRL decided to approach it, it continues to have its own negative news cycle just reproduce and reinforce negative stereotypes of the NRL in general.
DCE makes a statement about it and that’s news, discussion, and yet more outrage arguments and commentary.
Gallen is in for his 2c worth and that is exactly the same, although this time it may as well be a full on culture war in discussion threads.
I’m sure there will be more.
Then there will be the commentators for our next game whom most certainly will make mention of Toby’s heat during the week, just further fan the flames.
Nice post coolum.I can properly respond to this later, (havent watched the vid) just want to say that I think you miss the point of the forums (or my) response as to a subject of pulling things apart to make them something that they are not, or at least unintended. People are concerned about a society that is ever increasingly becoming Orwellian. I don't think it's fair to assume that most of us are oblivious or stuck in the mud about toxic sexual attitudes and violence towards women and tbh I think that the culture is changing slowly towards the positive and I agree more needs to be done and change needs to happen. I don't think Toby's quip was anything other than a passing joke, a bit crass for live TV but it was the MJ Show, poorly timed yes but most of us have used the term "pull a root" in the same way that Yanks say "Getting laid" and will continue to do so what ever term is deemed acceptable in earshot of the public.
Also, I'm a victim of childhood abuse and I have a partner and a daughter who's in her early 20's and I do speak to them about this often (The missus and I had a discussion last night about it) I think you are drawing a longish bow suggesting that we don't understand the nuances of modern courtship, how things play out and turn into tragedies.
Things are WAY different to what they were when I was young, it's a delicate balance that needs to be talked about I agree, yet, we figure out a way to do it without taking all the fun out of living in a free society?
Anyway, if I've upset ghoti by my response it was unintended and he did cop a bit of rebuttal from his pov, and probably wasn't intended to come across so harshly.
So peace out.
Yes. All media is a pantomime.Correct!
and who wins off that?! Fox Sports- the same place that suckered him into the convo in the first place!
This stuff exists as an issue to create content.
I can properly respond to this later, (havent watched the vid) just want to say that I think you miss the point of the forums (or my) response as to a subject of pulling things apart to make them something that they are not, or at least unintended. People are concerned about a society that is ever increasingly becoming Orwellian. I don't think it's fair to assume that most of us are oblivious or stuck in the mud about toxic sexual attitudes and violence towards women and tbh I think that the culture is changing slowly towards the positive and I agree more needs to be done and change needs to happen. I don't think Toby's quip was anything other than a passing joke, a bit crass for live TV but it was the MJ Show, poorly timed yes but most of us have used the term "pull a root" in the same way that Yanks say "Getting laid" and will continue to do so what ever term is deemed acceptable in earshot of the public.
So peace out.