Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Todd Carney to stay with Cronulla Sharks

Plastered

Storm supposedly in for Carney now - source nothing credible, ie. a mate who was looking at zerotackle.

Ads

Can't see it happening. Confident he will stay unless something's changed since last weekend.

webShark

Can't see it happening. Confident he will stay unless something's changed since last weekend.

Doesn't seem like a Bellamy move. Usually turns nobodies into Todd Carney's. Can't see Storm coming up with 900k for TC. Hampton has enormous potential and hasn't been tried yet. Finch is past it but so was Norrie. May as well have competed harder to retain Widdop than pay extra for TC.

Contrary to popular opinion , I think Sam Williams is ok. Better than Robbo or CT. Reckon Williams and TC. would pair well for us.

I think the biggest danger for us with regards to TC was the Dragons. Hopefully, they must be spent up by now. He could commute to Penrith but I think NZ or Melbourne may not appeal. Although playing with the Big 3 must appeal to anyone. Imagine him and Cronk.

Feej

Found this snippet today. Looks like another 48 hours....

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/league-news/sharks-must-capitalise-on-chances-flanagan-20130503-2iycb.html

The Sharks are also sweating on the re-signing of Todd Carney. The incumbent NSW five-eighth returned from an ankle injury in the Sharks' last start loss and starred. Carney, who has already rejected an advance from the Warriors, is deciding between extending his stay at the club or a switch to Penrith.
''We're still dealing with it,'' Flanagan said. ''He pulled up fine after the match, and he is going to get better each week. His best footy is in front of him.''

DJShaksta

Honestly, we might be going through a shocking patch right now, but living in Penrith or Cronulla is a choice??
I like the west, but Cronulla is beautiful.

Honestly, we might be going through a shocking patch right now, but living in Penrith or Cronulla is a choice??
I like the west, but Cronulla is beautiful.

You don't have to live in Penrith to play for them.

Panthers after every man and his dog. Hope Sam Williams signs with them soon

millersnose

All this makes the original dean Richie piece just garbage

That a sharks forum Newman piece is likely to be far more accurate than a major career rugby league journalist is rather pathetic

Do these people just spin the wheel to decide what waffle to submit as a story while they stay in bed smoking ice and batting off to porn

When the newspapers finally collapse and indidual journalists are measured on their hits for sponsors ratio perhaps we will see an improvement in repirting

he could car pool with some penny player that played with the sharks previously.

Luke Bowden

Me Too, I'd rather the Panthers Sign Williams then Carney, he's young and Cleary will turn him into a gun, much cheaper too. TC should show you lot a little loyalty I think!

All this makes the original dean Richie piece just garbage

That a sharks forum Newman piece is likely to be far more accurate than a major career rugby league journalist is rather pathetic

Do these people just spin the wheel to decide what waffle to submit as a story while they stay in bed smoking ice and batting off to porn

When the newspapers finally collapse and indidual journalists are measured on their hits for sponsors ratio perhaps we will see an improvement in repirting

Infers normality. I reject this theory.

Carney to put ink to paper for new deal Date May 5, 2013
  • 20 reading now
Michael Carayannis

Zoom in on this story. Explore all there is to know.

---art_todd_carney_20130504155118701864-620x349.jpg
Refreshing his contract: Todd Carney looks likely to stay with Cronulla for the rest of his playing career. Photo: Getty Images

Todd Carney is set to become a Shark for life.
The incumbent NSW five-eighth is close to re-signing at Cronulla for at least four seasons and possibly an option for a fifth year which would extend his two-year stint at the club to the end of 2019. With Carney turning 27 in June, the contract length essentially keeps him in the Sutherland Shire for the remainder of his career.
Carney is set to reject advances from the Warriors and Penrith to commit to the long-term contract after joining the Sharks last year, having being sacked by the Roosters. Teammate Luke Lewis let the Carney news slip while presenting an award at St George and Sutherland Shire Leader's Sportstar of the Year dinner on Friday. Lewis mentioned Carney's re-signing while on stage.
It will be a much-needed morale boost for Cronulla as the Australian Sports Anti-Doping Authority investigations hover over the side.
Advertisement
Cronulla general manager of football Steve Noyce said Carney had not yet put pen to paper. The club is hopeful of announcing the deal next week. ''He hasn't re-signed yet,'' Noyce said. ''We've been negotiating but as you get towards match day you have to let people prepare to play footy. We are working through that. He is a gifted footballer. We are keen for him to stay at the club but obviously there's interest in Todd from other clubs. I'm not 100 per cent sure [when a decision will be made].''
Carney will play against Newcastle on Sunday, his second match since injuring his ankle against St George Illawarra in round four. He starred in his comeback game against Canterbury as he looks to retain his State of Origin place. James Maloney, Carney's main rival for the NSW five-eighth spot, will look to stake his claim when his Sydney Roosters play Penrith on Sunday. Maloney is eying strong performances to keep his name at the forefront of NSW selectors' minds.
''It's out of my control,'' Maloney said. ''From my point of view it's a matter of putting together a couple more solid performances and hopefully that's enough.
''[Mitchell Pearce and I] are constantly trying to build [our relationship]. We enjoy each other's company and we enjoy playing together. The side is going well and our forward pack is probably not getting the wraps they deserve. Everything that we are doing comes off the back of that.''
Cronulla skipper Paul Gallen has called on NSW coach Laurie Daley to resist pushing him to the front row.''At the end of the day, I'm 105 kilos compared to these blokes who are 115.''
with AAP

5 Years wtf??