Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Todd Greenberg stands down

Yes PR.

It's called taking the piss out of you.

The game is broke.

FFS.

its hard to gauge satire when you dealing with stupidity,
the game is broke because of a pandemic, not because of the ceo. Or are you one of the “the game shouLd have hundreds of millions in the bank” merkins?

Cactus

Clubs, we want $13million grant
Players, we want more welfare and insurance
States, we want more more more
Fans: spend more money on grassroots you merkins

4 contributions/initiatives there.

And who were the influencers/stakeholders who championed all of those expenditures ? Could it have been the media ? The media who are an alleged stakeholder.

Time to realise the buyers of the broadcast rights are merely purchasers (not stakeholders or partners in the game).

Spot On

On no PR. I'm one of the huge number of fans that honestly believe that RL has been managed in the best way possible.

From grassroots to country rugby league to the NRL - tip top shape due to outstanding management of income.

Even the NSW Gov't came to the party and paid the rego fee for jnr league players with its Active Kids vouchers.

Massive TV rights deal.

Money flooding in from sponsors.

A digital arm worth gazillions.

...and here we are.

28 days since the end of R2.

Cactus

See you all in 3 years time when it's time to pitchfork the next CEO.

I'll bring the beers

Hugh from channel 9 said he will be there with bells on. (of course, under the proviso that 9 entertainment lifts his Exec package deal to include share options and million $ bonus payments)

In a rare interview the leading channel 9 exec said "that would just be spot on"

On no PR. I'm one of the huge number of fans that honestly believe that RL has been managed in the best way possible.

From grassroots to country rugby league to the NRL - tip top shape due to outstanding management of income.

Even the NSW Gov't came to the party and paid the rego fee for jnr league players with its Active Kids vouchers.

Massive TV rights deal.

Money flooding in from sponsors.

A digital arm worth gazillions.

...and here we are.

28 days since the end of R2.

you seem to live in a very black and white world! The reality is the games gone well in some areas, could have done better in others, done pretty poorly in others. Depending on what you think the commissions priorities should be will determine your “opinion” on which side of the ledger they stack up. I actually thought they’d done a lot worse than I do now after actually spending time looking at the annual reports and remeasuring what achievements and failures the games had. 2016&17 weren’t great financially but the last two years have shown great results.

one thing I am pretty confident of is that getting rid of Greenberg isn’t the full answer, the commission is riddled with conflicts of interest and self interested parties. It needs to be independent like the afl and need to kick the states and clubs off it.

I also have a gut feeling about Vlandys that I think he is going to be a disaster but hopefully my gut is wrong on that one for the sake of the game.

Hello, I'm The Doctor

Game is broke. Been burning squillions in head office. Worrying should have started years ago.

Yep, burning it on useless sh*t like school programs, junior footy, government and sponsorship engagement, etc. All of that useless sh*t.

We need to go back to the good ol' days when the game was run out the back room of the pub by brain damaged ex-players.

Last Week

Whilst there’s still some positive recall for Dave Smith as NRL CEO I can’t see that being the case for Greenberg. Irrespective of the nitty gritty, he’ll be associated with a time of largesse that has brought the game to it’s knees when it should have been in a much better position(Grant & Beattie have a lot to answer for as well mind you).

Man, Grant wasn't all bad. He just lacked conviction.

He set up the digital arm which is going to be the biggest threat to Fox and 9. That's his and it's probably the best thing that we've done since the Super League war.

Where he failed terribly was in the TV rights negotiations. He blinked when we had all the cards against Fox.

Man, Grant wasn't all bad. He just lacked conviction.

He set up the digital arm which is going to be the biggest threat to Fox and 9. That's his and it's probably the best thing that we've done since the Super League war.

Where he failed terribly was in the TV rights negotiations. He blinked when we had all the cards against Fox.

Tbf Grants ledger reads:
Caved in to Murdoch and sacked only decent ceo we’ve had
Caved in to clubs and gave them more money with no kpi’s than we should have
Caved in to players and massively raised the cap
Put a hold on any national expansion plans

on plus side
Helped form the first commission
Digital investment strategy

Last Week

Honestly don't get the sentiment against Timmah and, it pains me to say, Perth Red in this thread. They're both arguing that the media are being disingenuous with their reporting. And people are arguing against that? Probably anti vaxxers.

Last Week

I'm not upset that Greenberg is gone, but this is probably the worst timing as I'd have thought stability would be the best thing an organisation could want right now.

I would love to know why now? Why did he resign/get moved on now? What's changed?

Greenberg was never the most qualified person for the job. But that's no reason to sack him now.

Greenberg was not the CEO to take us forward. Yeah, he was there through the biggest increase in revenue, through the touch merger, the WNRL, Nines, etc etc. But that was nothing really to do with him. These things would have happened no matter who was the CEO.

Criticisms in regards to negotiating with the clubs, the RLPA, Nine and Fox, etc etc, they all don't fall on Todd. Every single one of those negotiations involve the commission. Some why aren't they copping the criticism here?

I don't understand why the media are taking 5 inches from V'landys. If V'landys said that he wanted a new CEO to take the game in a different direction, that's fine. No issues.

This is nothing but the media chucking a tanty and Todd being a scapegoat.

No issues with him being moved on, but not because of deadshit journos like Kent and hypocritical media companies.

Last Week

Tbf Grants ledger reads:
Caved in to Murdoch and sacked only decent ceo we’ve had
Caved in to clubs and gave them more money with no kpi’s than we should have
Caved in to players and massively raised the cap
Put a hold on any national expansion plans

on plus side
Helped form the first commission
Digital investment strategy

He did, but there has been no other person that we've had in either the CEO or Chairman position that wouldn't have.

The only one that would have IMO is maybe Dave Smith. He negotiated a broadcast deal (rogue) with Nine, for 4 games that was almost $1billion. He guaranteed $1billion and had Fox by the f**king balls.

Fox chucked a hissy fit. The clubs made all sorts of various threats of super league 2, blah blah blah. Then Grant blinked. Smith left and the media got what they wanted.

And they're doing the same f**king thing now and most twats on here and virtually the entire public are too f**king stupid to see it.