Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Todd Payten for FG Coach 2014

So you blame our position on the ladder on Potter?

not injuries, or the admission by players that they haven't played well enough.

Are you trolling again?

macnaz

Potter was never a first grade coach champ the support seems strange. If he had a hope I would be the first to give him a chance because 1 yr is not enough and its unfair. Problem is he will do real damage to the club and wont attract anyone. Lulia, patterson, Austin, Halatau ring a bell. We have great kids and thats about it.

He has coached 3 English super league clubs and was also awarded ESL coach of the year. Plus as I have mentioned in another forum he was rated by league legend Stacey Jones as one of the BEST he has played under. If a superstar who is better than any player our dressing room has ever witnessed rates him im very happy to respect his recommendation over some under performing sooks we currently have at the club.

Tigers Tale

He has coached 3 English super league clubs and was also awarded ESL coach of the year. Plus as I have mentioned in another forum he was rated by league legend Stacey Jones as one of the BEST he has played under. If a superstar who is better than any player our dressing room has ever witnessed rates him im very happy to respect his recommendation over some under performing sooks we currently have at the club.

This is all true and as a sign of loyalty I think he coached for part of that time without payment. He isn't the one being disloyal to the club it is some of the players and more senior ones at that.

Let time be the judge of Potter, this time next year if things haven't progressed then he might be called to task but it is too early this year based on too many influencing circumstances like injuries, support staff left over from another era, a fighting board and knives in his back.

magpie guy

Absolutely ridiculous to dump Potter in favour of Payten (or Barret :crazy:). Potter has been up against it from the start. He walked into a poisonous culture and attitude from within the club a huge injury toll, coaching staff not of his choosing and a roster dumped on him with stupid backloaded contracts hamstringing any efforts.

Even with all this he has blooded a bunch of really good up and coming players and managed to move on a bunch of nufties and under-performers. We are looking at a decent squad for next season with an eye for 2015. We will be competitive next season with exciting young players to watch and by 2015 we will see these players really start to kick on with Siro, Koro, Nofo, Teddy, Woods, Sue, Simona, Ava and Brooks all looking the goods.

People saying that Potter will be unable to attract marquee players to the club but Payten or Barrett could are delusional. May I also point out that even with Benchi going we will not have a good amount of Cap space until 2015 when a bunch of backloaded contacts finally end.

If you look at the issues this team has had this season you will see that the reason we are staring down the barrel of a spoon is not due to anything Potter has done.

Our attack has been stilted and misfiring for a number of seasons but this season more than others. You only have to look at Benji's stats to see why. His try assists are way down and runs non-existent; add to that his constant shanked kicks, passes into the grandstand and hospital balls you can see that we cannot build pressure, gain repeat sets and manufacture trys. Individual efforts from Simona and Nofo have been the only real ways we have scored lately. Several of our attacking players have also been injured and/or down on form as well. Namely Rowdy and Teddy carrying injuries which have hampered them and Ayshford, Anasta etc. being pretty average (to put it nicely).

Our defence has been even worse, compounded by giving away easy ball to the opposition through stupid kicks and passes. Our edge defence has been complete shit with lots of reshuffles in the backline due to injuries, complete lack of communication and some completely terrible individual performances. Who is the defence coach? Hint, it is not Potter and not a member of staff chosen by Potter.

Give Potter at the very least 2014 so we can judge him on merit and not hobbled with one hand tied behind his back by a Sheens squad.

R2Coupe

How do you compare players between different eras? It is subjective.

What if a player has played part of his career in the ESL and part in the NRL against a player who has played his entire career in the NRL?

I would be interested to learn how you are able to compare WTs' players to Stecy Jones?

Macknob, I am really trying to see things from your point of view but I just can't seem to get my head that far up my a@#s.

If the board sacks Potter, then they are really incompetent. If there is a player revolt, then that has to be sorted. It is a test for Potter to see how he'll handle it and come out of it. The key would be to unearth some talent now and give them till mid season next year to play well together.

Eddie Lab

Macknob, I am really trying to see things from your point of view but I just can't seem to get my head that far up my a@#s.

sure buddy. then how about answering some questions? not just spouting out your pro sacking agenda. not one person in the media or anyone associated with the NRL is pro sacking. it's just you and a few other deluded tigers supports that think bring back Sheens or promoting payten will magically solve all the tigers problems.

The Rosco

I used to think this forum was patronised by a general group of semi-intelligent Weststigers fans like myself. That it was a good representation of true fans with half a clue about the game, and what is best for our wonderful club.
You have to admit when you are wrong . . .and boy, was I wrong !.
After seeing the smooth dismantling of the boys club that has crippled our club's progression like a cancer, the pain-free removal of a couple of absolute deadweight passengers, and the deserved promotion of a few of our up and comers . . . you would think that absolutely nobody would have cause for complaint with Potter and Mayer.
If you really think that we should get rid of Potter, and hire Trent effin Barret or Payten . . . I don't know what to say. Maybe I gave the drugs away a little early in life, coz I'd sure as hell love some of what your on.
Many have said that anyone with half a footy brain would not even contemplate the removal of Potter.
So maybe you need ANFI to support his axing, after what he has done in such a short and exceedingly difficult period of time.

hybrid_tiger

No thanks, give Potter another year. if there is little improvement, look elsewhere.

This is it for me.

The jury is out on whether Potter is a good coach or not, but there is no possible way in the world that can be decided after one single tumultuous season.

Let's judge him at the end of next season.

Ron's_Mate

I used to think this forum was patronised by a general group of semi-intelligent Weststigers fans like myself. That it was a good representation of true fans with half a clue about the game, and what is best for our wonderful club.
Some of these numpties also thought at the time that it was good when the club let Fifita go. Anyone who said that has no credbility and obviously no league knowledge and can safely be ignored.

The Rosco

Some of these numpties also thought at the time that it was good when the club let Fifita go. Anyone who said that has no credbility and obviously no league knowledge and can safely be ignored.

Yep . . . every time we see Fifita in either one of his light blue jumpers . . . carving the defenders to pieces . . . we must remember that he has an attitude problem at training and we are better off without disruptive influences like him. :lol: :lol:

Ron's_Mate

Yep . . . every time we see Fifita in either one of his light blue jumpers . . . carving the defenders to pieces . . . we must remember that he has an attitude problem at training and we are better off without disruptive influences like him. :lol: :lol:
Not to mention the times this year when he barged through our defence. He should be doing that for us, we sure as hell wouldn't be second last. Thanks to Sheens, Humphries and apparently Benchi for that. And talking about attitude problems, I've never seen a worse case of that than Benchi has been displaying this year.

R2Coupe

sure buddy. then how about answering some questions? not just spouting out your pro sacking agenda. not one person in the media or anyone associated with the NRL is pro sacking. it's just you and a few other deluded tigers supports that think bring back Sheens or promoting payten will magically solve all the tigers problems.

I don't believe anyone has suggested Sheens be reinstated.

If the team had demonstrated improvement in its standard of play there may be some merit to Potter. Our playing standard has regressed. I am not concerned about results, but even when rebuilding is it too much to ask of Potter to inspire the players to better efforts?

His sop story in the Telegraph this morning was nothing more than an embarrassment. His cliché count was appalling. The story did nothing more than reinforce the belief he is not the right coach for the WTs.

hybrid_tiger

If the team had demonstrated improvement in its standard of play there may be some merit to Potter. Our playing standard has regressed. I am not concerned about results, but even when rebuilding is it too much to ask of Potter to inspire the players to better efforts?

It is clearly apparent to me that the players have obviously started having a sook in the last few weeks and this is why we have seen the lack of effort we have in the last few games.

IMO we saw improvement in the standard of play on more than one occasion this season, just not in recent weeks.

His sop story in the Telegraph this morning was nothing more than an embarrassment. His cliché count was appalling. The story did nothing more than reinforce the belief he is not the right coach for the WTs.

This is absolute rubbish.

Judge his coaching skills next year, with his own staff.