Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Trent Merrin on Anthony Griffin

betcats

Hey MX...... which bit of Ivan Clearys 25 % success rate in taking our team to the semis compared to Anthony Griffins 100% don't you understand!

Shittest argument ever lol come on it’s been done to death. You offering nothing that hasn’t been pulled apart before. If you aren’t going look at context you’re kidding yourself.

Ivan took us deeper into the finals than Hook has with a worse squad.

Royce is King

Blokes like you old Panther , all you do is make excuses for why others failed where Griffin has had success..... facts are facts hes done a bloody good job in his first 2 yrs, as they say look at the scoreboard.

Reactions: Bob

Pomoz

Griffin has a better team and no injury curse.
No question, a better team. No Ciraldo's to be seen in Hook's team. However, the injury curse is not so easy to dismiss. There was discussion on this very forum and by people at the club that Ivan allegedly wouldn't listen to Doctors and would play players when he shouldn't. Couple that with Ronnie Palmer's training techniques and maybe our injury curse was all part of the reason Ivan was let go. Pure speculation, because we just don't know. But I don't accept the unscientific answer "it is a curse'. I agree that sometimes its just bad luck, but a continuing pattern speaks to poor training and medical management. New coach, new training staff, "the curse" suddenly stops. Hmm....

It shouldn't have escaped anybody's notice on here that our team scored more points in the last 20 minutes of the game than any other team in the entire NRL, including the Storm, who are held in esteem for their conditioning. Whatever changed when Ivan left, it has improved our fitness.

Come on Royce we were the Warriors of 2017. Favs to win the comp who start awfully then start to win a few during origin, scrape into the finals and are found out very quickly.

Like ive said before Hook has this team fit as f**k but what else does he offer? He's rode this far on Ivan and Brennan's work

mxlegend99

Hey MX...... which bit of Ivan Clearys 25 % success rate in taking our team to the semis compared to Anthony Griffins 100% don't you understand!
Which bit of Ivan having to rebuild our team don't you understand? Griffin came in to a team Ivan had built.

Neither of those success rates are correct either. Winning a grand final is the ultimate goal and neither ccoach has done that. Ivan Cleary took us closer though and he had us competing with and beating top 4 teams.

Our win over Roosters in 2014 was epic. Whares try and Sowards field goal with minutes to go. Absolutely crazy... against the minor premiers mind you. We were rated as no chance

He took us to week 3 of finals missing half a dozen players and having Will Smith at half.

OldPanther

Blokes like you old Panther , all you do is make excuses for why others failed where Griffin has had success..... facts are facts hes done a bloody good job in his first 2 yrs, as they say look at the scoreboard.

Interesting response considering I wasn't tearing down Griffin merely pointing out obstacles Ivan had that Griffin doesn't.

No question, a better team. No Ciraldo's to be seen in Hook's team. However, the injury curse is not so easy to dismiss. There was discussion on this very forum and by people at the club that Ivan allegedly wouldn't listen to Doctors and would play players when he shouldn't. Couple that with Ronnie Palmer's training techniques and maybe our injury curse was all part of the reason Ivan was let go. Pure speculation, because we just don't know. But I don't accept the unscientific answer "it is a curse'. I agree that sometimes its just bad luck, but a continuing pattern speaks to poor training and medical management. New coach, new training staff, "the curse" suddenly stops. Hmm....

It shouldn't have escaped anybody's notice on here that our team scored more points in the last 20 minutes of the game than any other team in the entire NRL, including the Storm, who are held in esteem for their conditioning. Whatever changed when Ivan left, it has improved our fitness.

Very fair point. I've heard the talk. Ronnie went to Eels and they hit injuries. Interesting "coincidence".

mxlegend99

And you can pull it apart all you want..... results dont lie...but dont let the truth stand in the way of a good winge.
You're right. Results don't lie.

Ivan took us to week 3 of finals. Hook has failed to get us past week 2. Difference is Ivan had to rebuild our entire team and had guys like Will Smith, Clint Newton, Cameron Ciraldo etc.

Royce is King

MX ...... get over the time we beat chooks in 2014...... it was great but move on..... as a paying member and fan of the team i would much rather have a team that makes the finals every year, with a chance of winning a comp..... than a team that has 1 good season , then 2 or 3 in a row where we are in the cellar.

Griffin makes the finals next year and he is the only coach in 52 yrs of Penrith footy to make the finals 3 times in a row..... not a great stat have to admit on behalf of Penrith, but the bloke deserves credit and respect for his results so far, and the fact that he will do something that nobody else ever has at Penrith.

The players love him, he brings through juniors, and he is getting positive results.......It would not matter what he did for our team some on here have a set against the bloke and will not acknowledge facts..... sad really sad.

Reactions: Bob

OldPanther

MX ...... get over the time we beat chooks in 2014...... it was great but move on..... as a paying member and fan of the team i would much rather have a team that makes the finals every year, with a chance of winning a comp..... than a team that has 1 good season , then 2 or 3 in a row where we are in the cellar.

Griffin makes the finals next year and he is the only coach in 52 yrs of Penrith footy to make the finals 3 times in a row..... not a great stat have to admit on behalf of Penrith, but the bloke deserves credit and respect for his results so far, and the fact that he will do something that nobody else ever has at Penrith.

The players love him, he brings through juniors, and he is getting positive results.......It would not matter what he did for our team some on here have a set against the bloke and will not acknowledge facts..... sad really sad.

You take things as more negative than they are and assume the worst.

mxlegend99

You take things as more negative than they are and assume the worst.
That's because anyone who doesnt think Hook and Gus are the best and perfect in every way arent allowed to have opinions.

He wants to have a sook because people disagree with him. Hook can't even get us to beat a top 4 team. Its nearly impossible to make it past week 2 of finals if you cant beat a top 4 team.

martielang

He does pretty much what Ivan does... yet its a non event for him and for Ivan its a bad thing

Our coach insulted our entire roster as not being good enough and anyone who thought it was capable of being in the top 4. Suggesting those people don't know footy.

Meanwhile our club was talking up 2017 as being our time... we realeased a f**king promo trying to hype that shit up.

Ive got no issue with what Ivan said either FWIW but I think it’s different. He was disappointed about a result, his emotions probably got the better of him.

Whether you agree with his view or how he said it or not, Griffins outburst was clearly calculated. It was pretty obvious attempt to shift the pressure and given the results after that, he’d probably argue it worked.

Amazes me how personally people took those comments.

martielang

Griffin has a better team and no injury curse.

Weren’t we without our best player For half the year? Also had Cartwright & Merrin out for periods & both dealt with significant off field issues.

Griffin had his own obstacles to deal with, not to the extent of Cleary that year but it’s not as clear cut as you make it out.