Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Trial V Warriors

Perth Tiger

Looking forward to seeing Reynolds. We really need him to offer something different (and better) than Benji

Not much to like from this. Brooks, Matterson and Packer good for mine. Farah decent but still takes too long to pass, especially in the 20m. Benji horrible, Reynolds not much better.

To be fair I thought the Warriors were really good.

Reynolds & McQueen on, should be interesting.
Reynolds took him until the 73rd minute to show some enthusiasm.
McQueen, time will tell.

The final score certainly flattered them but it's March.

Former Tiger Blake Ayshford went OK in the forwards.

Not much to like from this. Brooks, Matterson and Packer good for mine. Farah decent but still takes too long to pass, especially in the 20m. Benji horrible, Reynolds not much better.

To be fair I thought the Warriors were really good.

Yep. Brooks is a gun. Benji and Reynolds have to improve massively because they are both poor. Robbie probably shouldn't be out there. I'd pick Liddle now.

Matterson and Packer were good especially Packer. He surprised me. I thought Chee-Kam looked good as well.

The Warriors were great. Those back 3 players are all weapons. Nofo and Thompson are first graders but not at that level. Mbye was poor but I expect him to be good for us this season.

I'm not that worried but Maguire will have to bite the bullet at some point with Robbie, Benji and Reynolds. I'm not sure that Reynolds is better than Benji but Liddle needs to be there. I figure Maguire has to at some point pick between Reynolds and Benji because a utility player on the bench just doesn't seem right.

Fonua and Jennings were both good too. Fonua is a great runner of the footy but his defence is poor. He lacks that pace moving sideways or backwards. It's a shame because he really makes a difference with his runs.

The Rosco

Looking forward to seeing Reynolds. We really need him to offer something different (and better) than Benji
To me, Reynolds looks like a fraud. A fraud with ADHD.
Brooks, Matterson, Garner, Mikaele, Twal, Packer were the best for us.
Nofa needs a defensive Royal Commission.
God, we need some creativity.
I'm yet to watch the ISP game, but it was said that Gamble went well. I'm probably sounding like a broken record . . . but if he offers more than Reynolds, we could REALLY do with his creativity around the ruck.
Anyway . . . we looked like a bit of a rabble, but our first hit-out with lots of new faces . . . so time will tell.

macnaz

Nofo is a shadow of the player he once was , with and without the ball he offered nothing.
McQueen with an opportunity to impress showed very little also.

That was a debacle. We were beaten in every single aspect of the game. We can't stop the opposition from going forward and getting quick play the plays. We can't do it ourselves. We have massive difficulties getting out of our half. Our outside backs defence is a disgrace on both sides. Our last tackle options looked like it was just made up on the fly. The only time we looked dangerous was in broken play after an offload and that only happened 2 or 3 times.

Brookes looked good in attack and made some good one-on-one tackles.

I know it's only a trial but these guys are highly paid professionals who train together every day over a 3-4 month off season. They looked like a bunch of strangers meeting for a game for the first time. Even Brookes with a gale behind his back could only make 20-25 metres on his touch finders. It's just not good enough.

I hope I'm wrong but after watching that I think it's gonna be a long season. There was nothing in that performance to get excited about.

Nofo is a shadow of the player he once was , with and without the ball he offered nothing.

I said this last year about Nofa, he has slimmed down way too much. The guy was in the top 3 tackle breaks 4 years in a row for the whole comp, then last year trims down and barely makes a dent. You can cop his horrible reads when he is making 15ms bringing the ball back. Without that he isn’t near a first grader.

To me, Reynolds looks like a fraud. A fraud with ADHD.
Brooks, Matterson, Garner, Mikaele, Twal, Packer were the best for us.
Nofa needs a defensive Royal Commission.
God, we need some creativity.
I'm yet to watch the ISP game, but it was said that Gamble went well. I'm probably sounding like a broken record . . . but if he offers more than Reynolds, we could REALLY do with his creativity around the ruck.
Anyway . . . we looked like a bit of a rabble, but our first hit-out with lots of new faces . . . so time will tell.

Reynolds to me is a massive concern. He is on big dollars and he doesn't really seem up to it. I reckon Maguire should just bite the bullet and give Liddle heaps of game time and maybe play Gamble at 6. If anyone performs in ISP in the halves they should get a chance next to Brooks.

I feel for Nofo. Marsters is a dud defensive player and it makes it really hard for him.

I will say this about Nofo - he did nothing.

Not an encouraging performance.

Forwards Ok, Halves not terrible,, outside backs diabolical. Getting out of own half, horrible.

Much to work on.

Both backrowers looked good.