I'm not sure how the game still can't expand. If an extra team was brought in (say 2016) there would have to be a bye each round ..... and so still the same number of matches per round.
It's about reach and NRL on GEM has a very ltd reach it seems compared to showing it on the main channel. We went from 25k+ and building for the Sunday game on main channel live to 3k on GEM delayed for the Sunday game in perth.
TBH I am not so sure until I hear it from the horses mouth. If it is the game is going to have burnt some serious bridges over here after the NRL was involved in getting the WA govt to include a third home team dressing room in the new nib stadium development amongst other Govt support they are starting to pump into the game. It is hard to belive the ARLC will be so stupid as to throw all that work away, makes me think there is something going on that we are not yet aware of. I wouldn't be surprised at all if they announce no expansion but give the WARL a nod and wink to keep going with the Jnr stuff and Govt relationship and teh Pirates are brought in as the 17th team some time in the near future ala what happened with the last expansion and the GC.
My missus might grow a third tit. Hasn't happened yet, but it's going to!
An unattributed newspaper report is not the horses mouth. No such statement was made in the ARLC press conference or anywhere in the (single) ARLC press release. What has been said (by Grant) is that the networks saw no value in a 9th game. Nothing more has been said about whether that sees expansion off the table for the life of this deal or not.Horses Mouth mate sux hard.
As you can see the 5th bullet point says no extra clubs before 2017
http://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/ni...play-when-we-say/story-fndujljl-1226455294189
Horses Mouth mate sux hard.
Sometimes. And for as long as the broadcaster feels like it.other states get the Friday and Sunday footy shown on GEM
Sorry, how exactly is their 3 hour game working against them? In the all important "dollars per minute" measure?
What about the "% of fans that can watch their team for free" ratio? What about the "% of households where casual viewers can watch the game on saturdays" ratio. What about "available live and in HD" ratio. What about the "% of development markets covered" ratio.
And sorry, in what "reality" are they getting paid less? Their deal is $1253m, we are up to $1025m. What f**king "reality" are you living in mate?
Seriously it is threads like this that make RL fans look like morons.
Here are the simple facts: Media must make money. They do that by pushing their priorities.
The ARLC must both find significant revenue lines AND please fans as much as possible.
It might surprise the pea brained in this thread but you will NEVER get everything you want. EVERYONE must win something and everyone must lose out.
What did we get?
- MONEY!!! - the most money we have ever had and there is more to get. MOST of our clubs - are presently unviable as it stands. They NEED the most money possible.
- Scheduling - a FAR more stable schedule for the year (20 Rounds ahead is huge)
- Coverage - nationwide
- Promotion - a significant portion in contra to promote our game
What did we give up?
- Live games - frankly - this matters far less than the couch potato's that are convinced. The reality is more ads equals MORE money for our game. My club and your club need money more than they need Live TV games
- entire season scheduling - lets be honest how many people would watch the cellar dwellers at the end of the season when they can't make the finals? We get enough scheduling to help clubs and fans plan.
- Night GF - personally I rather that but I understand it is said most RL fans want a day time one, except that more people watch the NRL GF at night.
- we get Nine - yep we have all felt ripped off at times but AFL fans complain about 7 - RL about 9 - the fan base on this site would complain whoever got the rights within months
Seriously people on here need to take a breath and realise RL just signed the biggest TV contract it has ever had AND could well still draw in more money than the AFL once the other media related contracts are finalised.
This is a HUGE positive for the game
Yep, really working against them. They have more money to spend on development and marketing of the game. Their clubs have better access to FTA and thus stronger pull to sponsors and fans...
AFL should be upset that they got a bigger deal whilst maintaining control over scheduling, having 6 of 9 games in the day time, and no Monday night games...
How do they cope?
http://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/ni...play-when-we-say/story-fndujljl-1226455294189
Horses Mouth mate sux hard.
That's more out of the donkey's mouth! If and when Grant comes out with definately no new teams for 5 years and the WARL confirm they are closing down the bid then I will believe it, and best be ready for a major sook!
you'd better believe it EA!
As for Greenburg, of course he is going to say that, he wants as much money for his club as he thinks he can get. Turkeys, Christmas and voting and all that.