Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ultrathread I: Thread of the Year - 2014

Dragon2010

I've seen more 'good blokes' sacked because they couldn't do the job, than i have seen competent people sacked because they were grumpy pricks..

No doubt, as I said - It's not everything, and we don't hire solely because they are "nice". But it's the package, especially, when it comes to dealing with customers and business partners, you need someone that is not "a grumpy prick".

Yeah, sounds like an emotionally turbulent event. Will pray the next adventure opens up :)

And I'm very keen to catch up with you in August mate. You must come to Sydney for the weekend!

Oi, Mis. When in August do you arrive?

Ultrathread purpose died on the 4th post. But you were well dressed, had a lovely smile and presented well. My radar is saying you are going to be a big success. I give you an 82.

No doubt, as I said - It's not everything, and we don't hire solely because they are "nice". But it's the package, especially, when it comes to dealing with customers and business partners, you need someone that is not "a grumpy prick".

i think you really are missing the point..

if you are at school or uni, a lecturer, friend or family member can be ok for a reference.

but once you have started your career, you need to have anyone who can vouch for your work performance and ethic to prospective employers. if you don't have this, it's a huge alarm bell..

in this code it is:

afl_origin.jpg

Drew-Sta

Good article by Peter Fitzsimons.

This is neither a preview or a review of the Origin; rather I fancy it is a re-pre-view.
That is, at the time of writing, 10 hours before kick-off on State of Origin – and I am actually in Brissie, seeing as you ask – all we know is that there are only two possible victory themes to be put in my column space for Thursday.

1. The NSW Tooheys VB Crown Lager Heineken Up-The-Windsor-Road-From-Baulkham-Hills-And-How's-Your-Mother Blues got there! They bloody well went right into the Lions Den, snatched the lollies, did Laurie Daley proud and, in the words of Phil Gould, ''Played the greatest Origin game you'll ever see! It was a night when they stood up, they dared to be great, dared to stare down the Queenslanders, dared to storm the ramparts of the fortress, stand by each other, work for each other, and dared to WIN.''

2. Those bloody two-headed Queenslanders got lucky again, for ... like, the 50th year in a row or something. And though NSW had their chances, the ball just didn't bounce their way. They coulda been champions, shoulda been champions, but the rub of the green rubbed them up the wrong way. But I'll tell you what, just wait till they come down to Sydney in three weeks' time, then we'll even the ledger. Then we'll see the Blues brothers do something.

I repeat, as I write I don't know which one is the correct one. But I'll bet it's No.2! It always has been No.2, always will be No.2, and has always given everybody in NSW a very bad dose of the No.2s!
Every freaking year!

The point is, why the hell did we even think it was going to be different this time? What the hell changed to make you even begin to believe they were going to win this time?
The Queenslanders got older? No they didn't, they just got more experienced in how to beat the Blues.
Laurie Daley said this year there would be no more boozy bonding sessions? Come off it, we've seen versions of that story 10 times in the past 10 years.

We've got two new brilliant halves? We've always got two or three new brilliant somethings, and they never last more than a few games. The only thing more difficult than getting into the Queensland team is getting dropped from it, and they're a bloody Rock of Gibraltar because of it – while NSW has had a revolving door on their dressing room for the past decade. I mean, who are these bastards?

We've got more spirit this year? Oh, really? So you saw Anthony Watmough, too, did you, staring down the barrel of the Channel Nine camera on Monday and saying with a straight face, ''this is the closest team I've ever been a part of''? Blah, blah, blah ... See, Watmough says that every year! Or someone does! Every freaking year, the word goes out before Origin that we may have stuffed it up last time, may have been just a bit off our game, but this year, THIS YEAR, we're doing it different, we've got the mix right, and mate, maaaaate, I'm telling you, this time we've got it right. The boys have never been closer.

And every year we get dusted. Just like we did last night and ...
And, oh bugger it, I'll get the editor to put this up on the web now, at lunchtime on Wednesday, so you will know I'm a dinkum SOOTHSAYER!

(There, that should do it. Laurie – you asked me to use my powers as the Kiss of Death to get your blokes over the line. As you can see, I have done my best. Please don't ask me again for another year. I am exhausted. I will be in my trailer. I've got the Swans and Buddy Franklin up and over the line for the past four weeks, publicly predicting their demise only for them to triumph and humiliate me, and I can't be expected to keep doing it. Next time you'll have to do it on your own. Good luck.)

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/league-news/how-i-got-the-blues-over-the-line----20140528-zrqvb.html

RHCP

Cheers guys. Won't be a problem getting a current and former employer as referees, I was just thinking whether there's any other good options as well.

Dragon2010

Cue post movement. 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1... :sarcasm:

Last edited by a moderator:

Misanthrope

Dutchy took yer jerb. :lol:

Nah, Dutchy is working at a friend's company. She offered me a job last night as well, but if I want to work 40 hours a week with very few holidays, I'll go back to Korea where I don't hate the culture.

Yeah, sounds like an emotionally turbulent event. Will pray the next adventure opens up :)

And I'm very keen to catch up with you in August mate. You must come to Sydney for the weekend!

You're in luck! I touch down in Sydney on August 11th and will be in town for two weeks, although both weekends are somewhat occupied by a buck's party and a wedding.

Drew-Sta

You're in luck! I touch down in Sydney on August 11th and will be in town for two weeks, although both weekends are somewhat occupied by a buck's party and a wedding.

We'll work something out. Lunch in the city is an opportunity since I work at Surry Hills. Or Friday night drinks with SGL and a few others.

Misanthrope

We'll work something out. Lunch in the city is an opportunity since I work at Surry Hills. Or Friday night drinks with SGL and a few others.

Friday drinks would be pretty awesome provided I don't write myself off to the point that I can't properly participate in the buck's shenanigans.

Or lunch ought to work too. Haven't figured out where I'll stay when I'm in Sydney yet, but I'm rarely far from the city.

Drew-Sta

Friday night drinks would allow SGL to come and a few others.

I am have had a pretty intense last few months so haven't been able to see SGL etc when they've been out, so I'd like to rectify that and meet a few of you blokes in person :)

Drew-Sta

August? Looks good. I'll check with the minister of social affairs and let you know.

Misanthrope

I'm going to not only lock it in, but start a Facebook event for the occasion so it's FB official.

Dragon2010

Got my scholarship offer increase by UWS and Montana because I pushed my GPA up. This was just the morale boost I needed to plow through my exam studies.

Gives me an extra $2,000 to spend over there!