Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

"Unbelievably well coached" A. Johns

Eddie.

Even Sheens himself mentioned some of the mistakes he made last season. Something along the lines of "I was trying to manufacture five-eights" Yep, you sure were.

When we are on song like the first 2 games this season, we do look the best coached team in the competition. Makes you wonder where on earth this sort of quick, fluent passing game as well as desperate defence and attitude was for large parts of 2006 and 2007.

Fact remains in the last 2 seasons, with a decent list we have FAILED to win more then half our games and finished in the bottom half of the competition. Which is immense failure coming off a premiership in 2005.

Credit to Sheens and Sizzler, both seem to be pulling the right strings early in 2008. I will heap praise on both should we manage to continue in the same vain and win alot more then we lose. Something that has proven harder then expected the last two seasons.

Spot on Eddie. With the players we had the last 2 years (and do this year) missing the finals is unforgivable, especially when you look at the garbage like soufs, cowboys, manly and the Broncos without Heather.

This season we shouldn't be satisfied with `making the top 8'. Melbourne are still the best side but not the side they were last year and the rep season will hit them even hardy with coach bellyache being the origin coach and being unable to rip into his side during the middle of the season could bring them right back to the field whereas we only have to worry about shines and sizzler having a thursday night in albury or broken hill or caboolture or wherever they are playing the snoozefest that is city v country.

When assessing sides at full strength ... how many better are there than us ?

PS I forgot the warriors in my analysis but not mckinnon and no price for a massive chunk of the season will leave them very vulnerable imo

super_coach

The problem is that you only get quality squads for short periods of time and to see them finish with the joe average teams is hard to take because in a few years time this squad might be busted up all over the place. Just the way things go now with the cap and the big money offered from ESL.

After 2005 their were the comments lets be the next "man U'" and like many I thought we will be in the eight for the 5 years. It didnt turn out that way and our man Sheens has to take some of the flack. Now 2008 things are looking better and with a fully fit squad and the experience some rookies have gained we should be in the mix with any team.

But with any team questions should be asked when the team is playing poorly and that what we have done for the past two years

hybrid_tiger

I agree that we should be aiming quite high.

If we can get Head fit and into the #7, we can do a heap more damage. We still have Gibbs, Collis and Benji to come back (and O'Hara, if he ever gets a run).

Ninja

We are still clearly missing a halfback. Had a laugh on the weekend when one of the commentators said something along the lines of "Morris has just taken the tackle instead of passing, he had 2 players unmarked outside of him?" He seemed stunned at the decision but we of course are all used to it.

On the Sheens issue - I just cant work him out. He comes up with some awesome set plays yet thinks guys like Jason Moodie and Daniel Fitzhenry are great players. Sheens is half genius/half mong.

Exactly HT - we have a gun 5/8 and a once in a generation player, a good young modern day prop who can play big minutes and really showed some glimpses of class last year, a real crafty and classy centre destined for rep honours and a halfback that when fit is origin calibre.

That's why this aim for the 8 stuff is selling ourselves short big time. Our squad is without doubt in the Top 3 in this comp with few weaknesses whereas a side like the cowboys are sh*t between 2-6 inclusive

marty mcfly

I do not know Moth or any of his so called supporters but I will agree with most things he has had to say. Does this make me less of a Wests tigers supporter?? I think not.
Anyone who on occasion has not had reason to shake their heads at selections these past two seasons are kidding themselves.
Ben Jeffries bench position for the last game in 07 against Newcastle was one of his worst.
Everyone on here wants the team to win but many think that the players & coaching staff are beyond criticism. The bogan response of what type of supporter are you or piss off and follow another team is pathetic.

The Jeffrey thing was a clear example of coach shines using his ego to demoralise a player and show them who is boss, to the detriment of the team who played with 16 men for an entire evening and let slip a 12 point lead in 8 minutes. The thing was everyone in the ground could see it coming

simon says

Eddie. said:
Even Sheens himself mentioned some of the mistakes he made last season. Something along the lines of "I was trying to manufacture five-eights" Yep, you sure were.

When we are on song like the first 2 games this season, we do look the best coached team in the competition. Makes you wonder where on earth this sort of quick, fluent passing game as well as desperate defence and attitude was for large parts of 2006 and 2007.

Fact remains in the last 2 seasons, with a decent list we have FAILED to win more then half our games and finished in the bottom half of the competition. Which is immense failure coming off a premiership in 2005.

Credit to Sheens and Sizzler, both seem to be pulling the right strings early in 2008. I will heap praise on both should we manage to continue in the same vain and win alot more then we lose. Something that has proven harder then expected the last two seasons.

I would pretty much agree with all that.

simmo1

themanonthehill said:
That's why this aim for the 8 stuff is selling ourselves short big time. Our squad is without doubt in the Top 3 in this comp with few weaknesses whereas a side like the cowboys are sh*t between 1-6 inclusive

Fixed. Give me Inglis, Hunt, Mini, Hodgson, McKinnon, Slater or even Stewart over that surrender tackle cat any day of the week.

Tiger Hawk

Eddie. said:
as well as desperate defence and attitude was for large parts of 2006 and 2007.
That's the part that I can't understand and gets to me. We didn't just out-play teams during that 4 month run in 2005, we out-enthused them. That was the difference, the scrambling defence, the attitude and desire, the confidence in the team. There was no reason for that to dissipate, we were the premiers, but it somehow did over the past 2 years. I argued this with some mates many times who were content to tread water, but (a big) part of the coach's job is to get his team up for the match every week. If Sheens was failing in this regard, and it was evident to me that he was, then it was time for a coaching change if only to re-ignite the players. That's not to take away Sheens' ability as a coach, but sometimes a change of scenery is needed.

That was the most pleasing aspect of last week's game, you could clearly see the team had turned up ready to go, not about to let their mates down and displaying the enthusiasm reminiscent of 2005.

Injuries will play a part this year, but an equally big part is desire. On paper we are as good as any team, Melbourne included. If our attitude is spot on, a top 4 spot must be the goal as a minimum.

alien

marty mcfly said:
I do not know Moth or any of his so called supporters but I will agree with most things he has had to say. Does this make me less of a Wests tigers supporter?? I think not.
Anyone who on occasion has not had reason to shake their heads at selections these past two seasons are kidding themselves.
Ben Jeffries bench position for the last game in 07 against Newcastle was one of his worst.
Everyone on here wants the team to win but many think that the players & coaching staff are beyond criticism. The bogan response of what type of supporter are you or piss off and follow another team is pathetic.

:lol: marty mcfly

THINK MCFLY THINK. There's nothing wrong pointing out where you think the coach or whatever has gone wrong, but bitchonthehill has used personal attacks on the coach and players and he has gone too far. You're so gullible McFly and the same goes to bitchonthehill and all his arse kissers who thought I was actually serious about calling Ray from 2GB :lol:

alien

Fighting41 said:
Like your footy you have know f**kin idea.

I have never known anyone to brag about a holiday to Malaysia.:lol:
You f**kcing jetsetter!!!!!!:lol:

:lol: He probably calls catching the ferry to manly travelling overseas. What are the odds that he'll be going overseas at the time of the next AGM. Or maybe there will be a new excuse next time. He knows that they all know who he is now. I know, they have told me :)

alien

hitman82 said:
I think it's great how several of you West Tigpies fans constantly bag out your lunatic coach. Makes for very entertaining reading.

If we win the comp this year he will still hate Sheens. Bitchonthehill will never forgive him for 1989.

The ESL Class at Centrelink Minto has closed down for the day ...

Alien haven't you got comets, space probes, moon walks, asteroids and xemu landings to contemplate

alien

themanonthehill said:
The ESL Class at Centrelink Minto has closed down for the day ...

Alien haven't you got comets, space probes, moon walks, asteroids and xemu landings to contemplate

You and other morons like you are the only ones that think you are funny.

alien

themanonthehill said:
I wish i was alien .. but i have to shave it every 3 days

Do you wax your gunt brazilian style ?

So now you have to fall back on smegs childish and lame jokes. You're pathetic.