Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Victory Song(When to sing it)

wolverine

I just had a flashback to the Dragons V Sharks game at Kogarah and i remember some Deekheads singing the victory song(up, up cronulla) during the match...FFS it is a victory song and it is such a stupid thing to sing when it is not the end of the match. Anyone who believes that it should be sung during the game is a complete tosser.

black_dot

Get fugged wanker.

The where does the song say we have won, we killed em ? it says go out and play without fear, it says the sharks are here, nows the time to see good football. It doesnt say anything about it being a victory song.

I was singing it after getting belted at townsville earlier this year, to a bus full of cowboy fans, its our team song, its our club song, you sing it when you're proud to be a sharks fan , that's when you sing it.

Oh yeah, I was singing it in the opening 10 minutes of the match at kogorah to let the dragin scum know we were present, so if that makes me a tosser, or a deeekhead or whatever fine.

But I reckon you're lollipopingmuthaf**kingsonofabitch for saying so.

:)

black_dot

FFS mighty, it's not that hard mate, the words to the song have been set now by the club for a f**king while, it's one thing marketting HAVE done to get everyone singing together the same words:-

up up cronulla, the boys in the black white and blue
up up cronulla, name of the sharks FITS you,
Sharks Sharks forever, go out and play without fear,
nows the time to see good football, for the sharks, are here.

nowhere EVER has name of the sharks HITS you been a part of the song.

2nd verse

Up Up Cronulla, the boys in the black white and blue,
up up cronulla, we're all depending on you
sharks sharks forever, go out and play without fear,
nows the time to see good football, for the sharks, are here.

Name of the sharks fits you.

I sing it before during and after!

I sang it with Dot on the bus in Townsville, in the Cowboys leagues club, in Crazy Horse, at the ground, in the mall and the next day on the plane home.

I must be a wanker.

MightySharks

Its our club song we can sing it in the shower if we want! There is no set time to sing it, sounds good anytime.

The Nulla #2

wolverine,

Or should i say Weener.

Im singing that song right now, in fact, its my ringtone.

Am i a dickhead?

Go Nulla

The Nulla #2 said:
wolverine,

Or should i say Weener.

Im singing that song right now, in fact, its my ringtone.

Am i a dickhead?

Hey Ive been trying to get a copy of the ringtone for ages, where did you get it The Nulla #2 ????

Shark

Go Nulla said:
Hey Ive been trying to get a copy of the ringtone for ages, where did you get it The Nulla #2 ????

Same...I need a polyphonic version for a Motorola V600!!!

Any of you tech-heads able to help me?

I have no idea how to download them... :?

Isurus

wolverine said:
I just had a flashback to the Dragons V Sharks game at Kogarah and i remember some Deekheads singing the victory song(up, up cronulla) during the match...FFS it is a victory song and it is such a stupid thing to sing when it is not the end of the match. Anyone who believes that it should be sung during the game is a complete tosser.

Are you calling my 3 year old son a tosser - he loves the CLUB song, sings it all the time, he even sang it to me during the loss to the Tigers!!

It aint a victory song mate - sure we sing it after a win, but if you listen to the words, maybe it should be sung when the team runs on!!

I'd love to hear a packed Shark Park singing "Up Up Cronulla" as one, in a tight game - might just lift the boys!!

f**k me dead !!!

This isn't AFL... and its not a victory song never was, they used to play it on the loudspeaker before the game when I was a kid.

Shark

Isurus said:
...my 3 year old son...he loves the CLUB song, sings it all the time, he even sang it to me during the loss to the Tigers!!

Ahh, Isurus...I bet he gets up really early on game days...Puts all his black, blue and white gear on...Bugs you all morning, asking continually "Is it time to go yet dad?"

Reminds me of that line from the Rupert McCaull (spelling?) guy, the poet...Wrote a really good poem for ET in his retirement year.

One line refers to a dad with his young bloke in the backyard...Dad hasn't told the little fella that they're going to the footy yet, but he's got the tickets all ready to go. The last line of the passage in the poem reads;

"Go and get your Sharks scarf son...It's time to see ET".

If anyone has the full words to that poem anywhere, I'd love to see them posted here. Classic stuff. Poetic wordsmithing far superior to anything BBSF could muster, and that's saying something!

Isurus

Shark said:
Ahh, Isurus...I bet he gets up really early on game days...Puts all his black, blue and white gear on...Bugs you all morning, asking continually "Is it time to go yet dad?"

I fear I've set him up for a life of torment following the Sharks, but I wouldn't have it any other way. It would be tough to take if your kids followed another team.

Not telling close to game time is the only way to go with young kids for the reason you mentioned above!!