Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

WA BEARS

flippikat

Good summation.

I probably agree with you in that it is more likely the former than the latter, Occam’s Razor based on his previous statements and actions et al but there is a slight change of tone in so much that he recognises that there is a lot of support for it.

One thing about V’Landys that I have noticed is he is quite malleable. There is a fair bit of the politician in him (although he is better at it than most politicians in regards to this sense) in so far as he can shift his opinion based on what the base want.
I really think he's come to appreciate the case for Perth AND the case for NZ 2, and he's trying his own kinda "tough love" to get Perth to whip their bid into such a shape that even the most strident NSWRL conservatives can see the pros outweighing the cons too.

Surprised he hasn't done similar to whip up some NZ bid syndicates, but early days given we're just opening up borders etc.

Colk

I really think he's come to appreciate the case for Perth AND the case for NZ 2, and he's trying his own kinda "tough love" to get Perth to whip their bid into such a shape that even the most strident NSWRL conservatives can see the pros outweighing the cons too.

I hope so mate. I’d love to see that. We could then work out what the 20th side would be. If both of them come in where do you think a 20th could come from?

flippikat

I hope so mate. I’d love to see that. We could then work out what the 20th side would be. If both of them come in where do you think a 20th could come from?
Adelaide is the obvious answer... HOWEVER it would need groundwork, and another "sell" to a conservative base.

Perth have done remarkable groundwork on their local scene in these "wilderness years".. kinda reminds me of Doctor Who in the 1990s when the show had been canceled, but fans worked hard to keep it alive in fan-fiction etc.. then the show came back in the 2000s, basically written & run by people that were part of that fanbase in the 1990s.. but had jobs where they could pitch to BBC to bring it back.

If V'Landys can get Perth over the line AND make it lucrative, then Adelaide certainly has the inside running ("Look what we did in Perth! We can do it again!" V'Landys successor can argue to any remaining doubters)

BUT if the traditionalists want 'quid pro quo' for accepting Perth & NZ 2, then a 5th Queensland team will get it.
Note I said 5th Queensland team - not necessarily in/near Brisbane.... ;)

Colk

Adelaide is the obvious answer... HOWEVER it would need groundwork, and another "sell" to a conservative base.

If V'Landys can get Perth over the line AND make it lucrative, then Adelaide certainly has the inside running ("Look what we did in Perth! We can do it again!" V'Landys successor can argue to any remaining doubters)

BUT if the traditionalists want 'quid pro quo' for accepting Perth & NZ 2, then a 5th Queensland team will get it.

Well if they ever put a 5th QLD team in, I don’t think a CQ side would be viable (not enough population) although that is probably where they would be thinking. The other option would be Ipswich/Logan and if it was backed by Easts it would definitely have the money but then again you would have to worry about how it would impact the Titans and Dolphins.

The other possible option I could see is even a third side your way but the amount of corporate dollars needed might be a concern. The positive would be even more Kiwi talent being developed.

I agree Adelaide should be the most likely

siv

Interesting. If there weren’t so many Sydney sides a Central Coast team could or would work. I still think if a Sydney team (looking at Manly) could target that area that could help a Sydney side
Enough of this Manly CC rubbish

Manly has more in common with Bondi than the CC

siv

Perth have done remarkable groundwork on their local scene in these "wilderness years".. kinda reminds me of Doctor Who in the 1990s when the show had been canceled, but fans worked hard to keep it alive in fan-fiction etc.. then the show came back in the 2000s, basically written & run by people that were part of that fanbase in the 1990s.. but had jobs where they could pitch to BBC to bring it back.

Only way Adelaide will work is for Easts to relocate

flippikat

I think the angle we miss here is the POLITICS involved.

V'Landys surely knows that if he went gung-ho on expansion - to hell with clubland, to hell with News Ltd - here's the path, you've gotta saddle-up and come along.. that he'd be turfed faster than you can say "Oh, another David Smith scenario!"

He ain't that dumb.

So if he wants to get anything done, he has to use all his powers of persuasion & Machiavellian manipulation to shift some mindsets.

That doesn't happen in an instant, but if he's good at it then he'll get progress faster than any desk-thumping "expansion or death!" tirades will.

Colk

Enough of this Manly CC rubbish

Manly has more in common with Bondi than the CC

Well it is either that or somebody else relocates. Another NSW side is bottom of the agenda (probably in a sinkhole somewhere)

Wb1234

They didn't have pokies back then.

Wynnum Manly were the premier BRL club in the 80s and they almost bankrupted themselves in the process.

Easts Tigers lease the ground that Langlands Park is built on.

Logan City Scorpions signed a 15 year lease with the Logan City Council in 1988 that bankrupted the club into extinction by 2002.
Fair enough.

Wb1234

I think the angle we miss here is the POLITICS involved.

V'Landys surely knows that if he went gung-ho on expansion - to hell with clubland, to hell with News Ltd - here's the path, you've gotta saddle-up and come along.. that he'd be turfed faster than you can say "Oh, another David Smith scenario!"

He ain't that dumb.

So if he wants to get anything done, he has to use all his powers of persuasion & Machiavellian manipulation to shift some mindsets.

That doesn't happen in an instant, but if he's good at it then he'll get progress faster than any desk-thumping "expansion or death!" tirades will.
Nailed it

other bosses wanted to expand and the clubs killed those ideas off asap

the stupid clubs commissioned their own report because they were anti expansion but it came back supporting it

flippikat

Nailed it

other bosses wanted to expand and the clubs killed those ideas off asap

the stupid clubs commissioned their own report because they were anti expansion but it came back supporting it
Well there's the thing.

You can chuck as much evidence as you want into the mix - reports, experts, well gathered statistics, valid case studies from other codes & other countries, you name it - BUT if someone's worldview is strongly shaped from a particular angle.. and a degree of self-interest, that stuff is unlikely to change it.

The view may not even change once expansion teams come in (I mean, we all know some who'd just love to RETREAT to a NSWRL comp, even now).

That's politics.

Best case scenario, the positive aspects of expansion are so clear that they win-over some of those doubters once it happens.. and it sticks.

ground zero

Perth Reds Ops sorry Western Reds or Perth Pirates. Nrl should say build a new stadium Parra stadium 35 000 capacity. or a new Sydney football type stadium. Built for Nrl, Soccer An Union. Build it an you can not miss out on the 18th spot.

The key take-outs seem to be the "NRL as matchmaker" thing, that Norths say the NRL is leading the two parties to talk to each other (despite their *extremely clear* preference to go it alone).. and that V'Landys is putting the ball in the WA court... quotes from him in the article:

--

“A lot of people want the 18th team coming out of Perth. This is Perth’s chance to show they like rugby league,” V’Landys said.

“But it’s got to prove itself.

“It’s got to bring new fans, it’s got to bring in new revenues, it’s got to have a strong business case.

“We have to sell the 18th team to the broadcasters. They have to see that they are going to get revenues out of them.”

--

But hang on, hasn't Perth ALREADY shown good turnout for games, and decent interest in the NRL?

What more can they do in the time we have before decision is made on team 18 ??
Sydney RL administrators have one rule for Sydney and another for everyone else. PVL pleaded for Cronulla to be kept in the competition when they were not financially viable, but says everyone has to have lots of money to get a spot.

C
I thought it was Illawarra and Newcastle who were asked first not CC, and then newy knocked it back for canberra to enter
I believe you are correct.
And once Newcastle realised the error of their way, they wanted in, hence their entry in 1988.
If the NSWRL had got what they wanted with Newtown and Wests, 12 would’ve become 14 in 1988. No need for Gold Coast. In fact, they didn’t even really want them in 1988 but it did alleviate the need for a bye.

edit - corrected amount of teams.

siv

C

I believe you are correct.
And once Newcastle realised the error of their way, they wanted in, hence their entry in 1988.
If the NSWRL had got what they wanted with Newtown and Wests, 14 would’ve become 16 in 1988. No need for Gold Coast. In fact, they didn’t even really want them in 1988 but it did alleviate the need for a bye.
Yes if they knew Newtown would fall over so soon, they should have only added Illawarra in 82

“But we are mindful of our own priorities, we have a strong brand and it would be an ownership model from our end.”

that’s the end of that then lol. They can get screwed and slowly disappear into nsw cup obscurity as roosters and manly take over their territory.

time for the millionaires of perth to come together and get behind the pirates bid.

“A lot of people want the 18th team coming out of Perth. This is Perth’s chance to show they like rugby league,” V’Landys said.

f**k off Vlandys, we’ve been hearing this sht since 2011 so you can flog tickets and make money off our false hopes.

Reactions: Vee

Wb1234

f**k off Vlandys, we’ve been hearing this sht since 2011 so you can flog tickets and make money off our false hopes.
Where are those quotes from ?

and he said is still supportive of Perth