Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wade done for 2021 but not forever

Wade is a 13 in todays game. A ball playing link man. Simpler defensive technique as well.
Im not ready to write off Wade Graham just yet. He has had a run of injuries and come back just when changes to game ,such as crack down on high tackles were implemented. He is a smart footballer who can sum up the situation on the field and react instinctively. The injuries he was coming back from , Knee, Shoulder ? and Sternum, all were detrimental to a change in defensive style ,in a short period of time. Add to that some concussion concerns, and the changes needed were huge for an elite athlete ,in a short time. Maybe he is cooked . I hope not. Even one game from Wade Graham at his best would have to be a great inspiration for his successors .

jc155776

Interesting problem coming up for Fitz soon. What to do with Wade? Does he come back fitness wise through reggies like Jack Williams? To me based on this year and last years form he is now a fair bit behind the others currently in the side…. I’d be having Jack Williams on the bench ahead of him. Maybe origin opens some space up for him to slot back in somewhere? Good problem to have.

DJDL

Club captain and Fitz will respect that. If he is fit he starts. If he isn’t fit he won’t even play anywhere.

It's a tough one for sure, but I think you're right. He's shown enough over the past decade to earn that respect.

Until last night I would have thought it was a three-way battle for that left edge spot between he, Teig and Sifa but I'm warming to the idea of Sifa at left centre. Teig, for all his improvement, is still not at Wade level so it's Wade straight back in and Teig to the bench.

Sifa at centre is the interesting one. Of the guys who've been played there this season, he looks the most comfortable and capable of making the position his own.

I scoffed at the idea less than a week ago, but damn that dude is bringing me around real quick.

R-15-3

One thing I would be doing is bringing Wade back in via the Jets, he hasn’t had much footy the past few years and the footy he has had was pretty ordinary.

2-3 weeks playing for the Jets will get his timing and confidence in attack & most importantly defence right.

No need to rush him back if we are doing fine without him.

Chimp

One thing I would be doing is bringing Wade back in via the Jets, he hasn’t had much footy the past few years and the footy he has had was pretty ordinary.

2-3 weeks playing for the Jets will get his timing and confidence in attack & most importantly defence right.

No need to rush him back if we are doing fine without him.
Agree completely with this. He’s no longer an automatic selection anyway, and needs to show that his fitness and form is where it needs to be, and that his timing is right - we know he’s susceptible to mistiming/getting his tackle technique wrong, which then leaves him concussed, and the team a man down.
Needs to earn his spot back.

Ozzi_78

Completely disagree. He was going to be C and in the 13 round 1. Had done the preseason and earnt his spot. He gets it back straight away and has to only prove he is fit IMO.

ghoti

Completely disagree. He was going to be C and in the 13 round 1. Had done the preseason and earnt his spot. He gets it back straight away and has to only prove he is fit IMO.
Yep he got named at captain he's the first guy picked.. can't remember all the details of Corner's various returns at the chooks, but same deal imo: sets the standard that if you work your way to the top at a club it comes with a mutual respect in a way

Wade will be straight back in.
No ifs or buts.
He is a NSW, Australian and GF winner representative, and the club Captain.
The Fitz culture says he'll be straight back in.
It's next year, and he's off contract, that will be the more interesting point.

Poss

Did anyone watch the post game presser with Fitzy and Wade? Right at the end, Wade was asked what he thought about the Smith sin bin and he said “I didn’t really hear what he said… I was sitting on the bench”. He then looked at Fitzy with a sarcastic smile and they laughed about it. Reckon they have had words about wades game time and bench time?

Not angry words. There's a plan to build him up to 80 minutes gradually. Wade thinks he can now, Fitzy not risking it.

Wade's going nowhere for those who are calling it. Not saying you are Poss

bluefox68

It’s like we are gradually changing our tune about retirement…

Wado, Fifita and even Tolman are playing very well! Moyza has already been re-signed!

Tolman has said (SharkCast) that his body is feeling really good…

I can see 1-year extensions for Tolman and Fifita, and maybe 2 years for Wado…

😬😬😬

bluefox68

Re: Wado

I reckon Fitzy knows Wade better than he knows himself!

Keeping him fresh is SMART!

Playing him in the middle more could also greatly simplify his defence, which should help with the HIA situation…