Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wake up to yourselves

BDH

Yeah right so no one suspected it given there roster (I had been saying it for years), anyone with half a brain suspected it they just didn't have proof until a few months back.

No they didn't know it and even though you may have suspected it, you didn't know it either.

And even if the FANS, did suspect it, what could they do? How does constant insults leveled at Storm fans help?

STG-Dragon

my opinion is the storm should not be in the competition this year if they cant get points.. the only people u should be blaming about this is the nrl.. and there soft rules... someone is likely to get hurt with the storm with nothing to play for.. im just glad last nyt no 1 got hurt.. sure some of the the storm players knew they were rorting the cap but it seems news ltd knew about this and obviously the nrl had an idea.. how come it took some 1 about to lift the lid on the club who got sacked before the nrl took action...

No way they are professional sportsman getting paid a lot of money. They have no right to play dirty and injure fellow athletes just because they can't win the comp. A whole lot of teams will soon join them in having no chance to win the comp actually prob 2-3 have already, you wont see them acting like thugs just cause they can't make the finals.

The problem is in that post you failed to recognise the intent of my post. The Storm FANS are the ones copping pathetic taunts from other club's fans.

Fan's didn't know of salary cap cheats. All they knew is they were supporting the team the rest of us were in awe of.

Fans did not, I agree there. But there are certain fans in this forum, simostorm for example, who constantly blame the NRL for what the Storm did rather than blame the Melbourne Storm club. I have deepest sympathies for the diehard Storm supporters who are ashamed of what their club have done and how it has affected the NRL. I truly feel sorry them. Can't understand how hurt they must be. But at the same time there are fans out there who think the Melbourne Storm are scapegoats and accuse everyone bar their own club for the salary cap rorts. These are the fans that give the Storm a bad name.

STG-Dragon

No they didn't know it and even though you may have suspected it, you didn't know it either.

And even if the FANS, did suspect it, what could they do? How does constant insults leveled at Storm fans help?

It helps when they are constantly defending their clubs dispicable actions and blaming everyone but their own club for what happened.

STG-Dragon

But the players and the coach were the DIRECT BENEFICIARIES of the Storm's cheating. They benefited from additional illegal income (or illegal goods in kind like Inglis' boat or Cam Smith's kitchen), they benefited from the experience of illegally winning premierships, and they benefited from a period of illegally obtained positive reputations.

It is very right imo that fans of all clubs stick it to the Storm players and coach at every opportunity when they appear to play, still illegal until players are shed for next season.

If some Storm fans wish to stick up for the players who were the direct beneficiaries of their club's cheating, and get upset on internet forums when other fans tell it like it is, then that is their choice. But they can't have it both ways.

If it happened to my club, I'd blame the officials, and I also wouldn't support the arrogance of the coach and players while they play the victim card in all this, and refuse to admit the penalties given by the league are ENTIRELY FAIR.

x2 :clap:.

STG-Dragon

Cool, I haven't seen any one (here or in real life/last night) give it to a Storm fan for just being a regular fan (without the conspiracy theories or chip on the shoulder.

Pretty much both. If my club was caught cheating in this way and carried on like the Storm Directors have, and the Storm Coach and Players (and their arrogance little So You Think You Can Dance choreographed walk across their ground to the press conference) have, then I personally would cease supporting them until some significant change (change of Board, change of Coach/player roster) had taken place. But if they were more humble about accepting their punishment, then as a fan I would stick around.

The players could make the choice to be a lot less arrogant, and to stop blaming the NRL and the penalty for the mess they are in. They should start blaming their bosses, blaming their managers, and blaming each other, and they might get a bit closer to the source of the problem. Cam Smith is the prime example of the arrogant victim mentality in action, that perpetuates the ill feeling toward the Storm club.

Fair point. As I've said I haven't seen Storm fans copping stick here or anywhere, unless they are playing the victim on the internet and quite frankly, asking for the responses that they get.

Another great post mate I agree 100%!

Slackboy72

...and this little piggy cried "wee weee wee!" all the way home to find some mysterious benefactor had redone his kitchen and left a boat in his driveway. But he didn't know anything about it...

chrisD

The club never once came out and said, or did, the right thing. On the contrary, their actions and words have been a disgrace. They deserve everything they get, as do their fans who stand behind the mentality. Their lack of class through-out the whole ordeal eroded any sympathy I once had for them.

stormbati

F*CK YOU

Who do you think you are telling people what that should and shouldn't do.

Last time i checked there is something in this country called freedom of speech.

If a fan from one club wants to give sh*t to a storm fan about their club cheating for the last 5 years, thats their right, be it at a game or in forums.

So how about you come down from your soap box BDH and give someone else turn.

Oh i forgot, F*ck the Storm.

From the bloke who wouldn't say a word unless sarrounded by other nimwit fans.

Mickyd39

From the bloke who wouldn't say a word unless sarrounded by other nimwit fans.

No mate.

More than happy to say it to a d*ckhead storm fan one on one at a game.

I did last night actually on the way out of the game when a Storm fan was complaning how bad Archer treated them in the game and how all refs were out to get the storm.

I advised him this may be true as refs may not like a team that has disgraced the game.

I told him to enjoy watching his team play for nothing and he needed to realise the storm are a disgrace.

More than happy to tell you the same thing one on one next time im in Victoriania.

The club never once came out and said, or did, the right thing. On the contrary, their actions and words have been a disgrace. They deserve everything they get, as do their fans who stand behind the mentality. Their lack of class through-out the whole ordeal eroded any sympathy I once had for them.

My sentiments exactly. The players and officials don't seem to understand how much they've hurt the game in general. If Billy Slater and Cam Smith were to come out publicly and say "I'm ashamed of what our club has done, and i'm ashamed of the damage it has caused to rugby league" it would be a different story. But the attitude from the Storm in general is it's all about them. They don't give a flying f**k about the damage created, they just think think it's 'them against us' and a lot of Storm fans think the same. That's why they're not drawing that much sympathy from other supporters.

hellteam

Fans did not, I agree there. But there are certain fans in this forum, simostorm for example, who constantly blame the NRL for what the Storm did rather than blame the Melbourne Storm club. I have deepest sympathies for the diehard Storm supporters who are ashamed of what their club have done and how it has affected the NRL. I truly feel sorry them. Can't understand how hurt they must be. But at the same time there are fans out there who think the Melbourne Storm are scapegoats and accuse everyone bar their own club for the salary cap rorts. These are the fans that give the Storm a bad name.

Those fans are probably about 13 years old and have no idea about the situation. Shouting abuse at the players and fans achieves nothing, quite embarrasing actually because anyone with half a brain would know it's the administration's fault.

I hope this petty abuse at fans and players doesn't happen at Suncorp when we play them, and I don't think it will.

1 Eyed TEZZA

To decent Storm fans. Get over it. The world isnt fair. This is the cold hard truth. Public justice is always blood and never just.

There are people out there who will lay the boot in (mainly because it gets a rise out of your fans like the OP, get the hint!!), you cant group them with the good fans of other clubs just like you tell us not to group you with the sh*tty storm fans, simostorm in particular. I would never bait Noa like I would simo.

Deal with it by not responding. The first one to react, loses. Get it.

WireMan

No mate.

I did last night actually on the way out of the game when a Storm fan was complaning how bad Archer treated them in the game and how all refs were out to get the storm.

I advised him this may be true as refs may not like a team that has disgraced the game.

I told him to enjoy watching his team play for nothing and he needed to realise the storm are a disgrace.

More than happy to tell you the same thing one on one next time im in Victoriania.

All bow down to the internet hard case.

You must of been proud of the 7000 crowd? all your fellow hard case eels fans scared of rain?

Didgi

All bow down to the internet hard case.

You must of been proud of the 7000 crowd? all your fellow hard case eels fans scared of rain?

Don't laugh at him man, he's so tough he can verbally cheap shot someone from a distance of 50feet. ;-)

attamarrap

After reading all the Parra vs Storm threads which were a result of a great game of football (I am a neutral supporter), I think it's time to say some home truths.

Every single Eels, Dragons or other "fan" who came out last night and said pathetic verbal-diarrhea (e.g. "storm fans look at yourselves you cheats" and other slanders) the time is now for you to WAKE THE f**k UP TO YOURSELVES!

The Storm officials cheated. Not the players (innocent until proven guilty and if you don't like that, f**k off to China), not the coach, AND ESPECIALLY NOT THE FANS.

The Storm fans have been decimated with what is easily the worst possible thing that could have happened to their beloved team.These Storm fans have done nothing more than LOVE THEIR FOOTY CLUB. Something that we all do and something which is the cornerstone of Rugby League.

You pathetic losers, who come on an internet forum, talk sh*t (because we all know the reality is very, very few of you would talk this sh*t face to face with Storm fans) and give it to Storm fans at every opportunity, smack of desperation.

Storm fans are VITAL to the rebuilding of the club, and the club is VITAL to the competition. By all means give people sh*t about how useless their club is, but to constantly bleat about something which has crushed most Storm fans is a dog act. They know their club cheated.....out of all of us NRL fans, they know the most.

Get a new insult.

NRL salary cap investigators have discovered champion hooker Cameron Smith had THREE separate contracts with Melbourne Storm.

One was registered with the NRL, one was in a file at the Storm's administration headquarters and another was being hidden at the home of former CEO Matt Hanson.

The contracts, which were drawn up by disgraced former boss Brian Waldron, also included payments for a home renovation and a guaranteed commentary role at Fox Sports. Super League architect John Ribot negotiated the Fox Sports deal.

Smith continues to deny he was aware of any rorting.

Other instances of Storm stars having more than one contract have been uncovered by the investigators.

The Storm are $850,000 over the cap this season and an astonishing $1.5 million next season.

News Limited spokesman Greg Baxter yesterday told 2GB the company now believed board members and players knew many of the contracts were illegal.

"The amount of money is significantly higher than first estimated, which is a massive problem. There are people who have previously claimed to be entirely innocent in these events and we now have emails that prove otherwise," Baxter said.

"We have circumstantial evidence that suggests members of the board were involved. This is probably going to get worse before it gets better.

"There is now evidence that some players were aware these arrangements were illegal in terms of the salary cap rules and they were happy to go along with it. You'd have to now assume some of the star players won't be at the club next year."

sourve: http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/spo...-1225875916005
WAKE UP TO YOURSELF YOU F@%$ING PELICAN!!! they had no idea my arse!!!

and the same storm fans we're supposed to take it easy on are the same wankers trolling the forums after they "win" a grand final they are the marion jones of rugby league!!!

Last edited by a moderator:

simostorm

No mate.

What a tought guy you are :lol::lol::lol::lol:

Your not the guy who was yellin abuse at that litle kid were you?

drake

I've never wanted the Storm in the game, and the blatant cheating only made it worse. My issue has always been the fact that they are a franchise put into the league by News Ltd at the expense of Rugby League clubs. I've been ranting about them since I started here years ago. Millions of dollars every year are sucked out of the game, and the only contrubution News has made with the funds is to prop up a club that was guaranteed success in an insane attempt to try and score Victorian supporters.

Yeah, AFL supporters are going to turn their backs on a club their great grandfathers followed to jump on a bandwagon franchise that embarasses Rugby League with it's falseness. Tradition is a major part of football support in Australia, and the Storm don't even have a club that they evolved from.

I have no issue with clubs outside of Sydney; North Queensland, Brisbane, GC, Canberra, Newcastle and even the Kiwis have major Rugby League followings and fully deserve representation. Melbourne cannot even tell the difference between Union and League. News Ltd and it's bitch the NRL have never tried to grow Rugby League in Victoria, they have just tried to sell tickets to watch the Bruise win.

I do feel sorry for the Melbourne fans that love the game and got sold a lemon. You can always do what the countless people from regions with no NRL club within 1000km do; pick another team and follow it. There are thousands of towns across NSW and QLD with no representation that are die hard RL fans and have been for generations.

I'm sorry, but the Melbourne Storm franchise is a joke, and is a neon sign for everything that has gone wrong since News Ltd got it's filthy claws into the people's game.

gronkathon

Storm as a club are utter human garbage (baring the players on minimum wage who got nothing from this rort)

The Storm fans are victims as much as we are. Yes there are some utter cum monkeys like Lowdown etc but they were like that before so what would make anyone elieve that their tenuous grip on reality would extend to realising their club cheated etc.

TheRam

Yeah judge us all by the likes of Simostorm.
P.S what a surprise, the same six or seven St Merge and Parra fans crawl out of the woodwork.
It's getting old.

I support you and all the Storm fans and I wish nothing but good for the Melbourne Storm as a club in the future.

It is a no brainer really that a strong and healthy Storm is a great thing for RL, but then again these abusive plonkers don't have enough between the ears to know that.

Oh and wasn't it a great game the other night...Go Parra!!!