Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wankiest genre ever??

Trollhammaren

^ well yes, subjective maybe. I also see religious connotations all over mainstream pop music, and in programs such as Aus Idol etc. As I said, the anti-religious music has less coverage, hence causing a far smaller affect on people

Once Dead

tiger pride said:
^ well yes, subjective maybe. I also see religious connotations all over mainstream pop music, and in programs such as Aus Idol etc. As I said, the anti-religious music has less coverage, hence causing a far smaller affect on people

Music is expression of self - belief, unbelief, passion etc.....the anti-religious music is at most times far more intense and can have a greater effect on people albeit a smaller section of the population.....either way, there's arguments against both...so i guess we agree

Ron Jeremy

SpaceMonkey said:
Ron Jeremy said:
SpaceMonkey said:
If you'd call it a genre, "shredding" has to be the wankiest. Albums of bland, forgettable soft rock tracks with some tight trousered guitar hero soloing incessantly over the top. Only everreviewed or advertised in guitar magazines and only ever purchased or listened to by guitarists or wannabe guitarists.
(/me awaits Ron Jeremy's indignant response)

I hope those guitarists you where refering to aren't Eddie, Satriani, Malmstein etc.....as they where clearly more talented then guitarists of other era's.

Say what you like, atleast they could play instruments & unlike bands these days know more then a Eminor power chord!
Eddie's fine, he was in a band that actually wrote decent songs. Satriani is ok as well although he drifts into wank territory on more than a few occaisions. Malmsteen? Sorry but he's a grade-A fretboard wanker. most of his music is c-grade cod-rock with ridiculously overblown leadwork all over it. Sure he's an incredible guitarist, but who gives a f*ck how good a guitarist you are if your songs suck? Andthere are far worse offenders, basically anyone who records albums that people buy simply for the guitar solos rather than the actual songs.

You have to remember though in regards to Satriani i sthat he is a solo guitarist, that's his job!!....he's not exactly going to get up on stages and play chords C,D,G LOL, he's a solo artist who may well go off at times in to the unknown.....however it sure does sound good!!......Surfing with Aliens is probably a good example of this when he starts introducing these whammy drops on the 14th-16th fret towards the end of the song, probably wen' to far in that instance, however not to many guitarists would take him on in a jam session and walk away with there heads up.

Malmstein your being hard on, he basically brought another dimension to the guitar in Classical, brillant, i have most of his work down pat and love nothing more to do then play a fast Adagio....skipping strings here and there & double string tapping......Love it!!!, he's talented....but i think maybe because you don't appreciate the hair thing you have down played his actual guitar talents....i'm sure he had short back & sides he'd be an immortal now.

PS i'd rather listen to the guitar then vocals.....so yes i'd buy an album for that, VH 1 perfect example.

Trollhammaren

^ Guitar wankery is allright, but 9 times out of ten the simplest songs are the best. I mean I respect their technicality, but sometimes it's just meaningless. The best lead work I've heard is also the simplest IMO, ie. Gunners, Opeth, Metallica (although not easy).

What you think of John Petrucci? I think he's grand, but I think rhythm is most important in guitar!

Ron Jeremy

Rythem is overated IMO......sure it's needed, but i don't think a rythem guitarist possess the skill of a grand lead guitarist.

I do agree simplicity works, however, if your applying this theory to all means of music everything from lyrics to guitar you cannot possible reckon that night bush city limits requires more talent to right then say Imagine or November Rain....get my point??.....i do agree with you in ways but it does have it's neagtives.

Eddie could be very complex....however solo's from songs like Dreams, running with the Devil are simplistic yet brillant!!!

Gunners did have some killer riffs, solo's & songs!!

SpaceMonkey

On the rhythm vs lead thing I'd class rhythm as way more important but will admit that that's probably partially because of the genres I prefer; while I like nice leads there are tons of brilliant black/death metal tracks with little or no lead guitar on them, but none with no rhythm!

blackfriday

Death metal.

It's boring as hell, the people who play it can't sing so they have to shout, and it's dumb, dumb, dumb, even though they probably think the lyrics are really intellectual...

oh? a song over four mintues too long for you? maybe you need some rest because kindergarden starts tomorrow.

blink

blackfriday said:
Death metal.

It's boring as hell, the people who play it can't sing so they have to shout, and it's dumb, dumb, dumb, even though they probably think the lyrics are really intellectual...

oh? a song over four mintues too long for you? maybe you need some rest because kindergarden starts tomorrow.
I'd laugh at your comment but your disgustingly sexist signature means I can't.
Oh well.

Trollhammaren

Ron Jeremy said:
Rythem is overated IMO......sure it's needed, but i don't think a rythem guitarist possess the skill of a grand lead guitarist.

I do agree simplicity works, however, if your applying this theory to all means of music everything from lyrics to guitar you cannot possible reckon that night bush city limits requires more talent to right then say Imagine or November Rain....get my point??.....i do agree with you in ways but it does have it's neagtives.

Eddie could be very complex....however solo's from songs like Dreams, running with the Devil are simplistic yet brillant!!!

Gunners did have some killer riffs, solo's & songs!!

I shall agree to disagree. Maybe because I'm a rythm guitarist and can't play lead for sh!t, but I do believe it is far more important. That doesn't make lead playing redundant, it is damnwell necessary but it has a small bearing on the bigger picture. Like in November Rain, that final lead work by Slash is just extremely emotionally evocative, and that's where lead's strength lies. I don't care, how fast you can play, just want to hear something good.

I once heard someone say, Malcolm Young may think an arpeggio is a city in Italy, but he is the finest guitarist there is. And... it ain't far from the truth.

hrundi99

blackfriday said:
Death metal.

There are people out there that don't like the stuff that you like. Get used to it.

Where did I mention anything about the length?

hrundi99

ThrashViking said:
[-( Im trying verry hard not to bite the bait
Arent you a indie rock fan? Pwoar, now thats a genre that has no faults

I admire your resilience. :)

My favourite genre is power-pop (pretty much the least pretentious genre out there), but I listen to indie-rock, jazz, rock'n'roll, classical etc.

I'm not defined by the music I listen to.

I'm curious to know what you think the faults with indie-rock are.

hrundi99

tiger pride said:
haha, i guess image is what counts ey?? Go wait for your next edition of NME to tell you what your new favourite band is...

Amusing call on the NME. I stopped reading it about 15 years ago because I realised where they were going. Mind you Rolling Stone does exactly the same thing.

The only music magazines I tend to read are Mojo and Q.

Funny that you mention image. It's the very image associated with Death Metal which contributes to my hatred of it (and the fact that the music really sucks). You've got it the wrong way around. As mentioned in another thread, the bands I like just wear normal clothes.

They don't have long dyed black hair.
They don't wear black clothes and overcoats in the middle of summer.
They don't wear makeup.
They don't wear weird jewellery.
They don't get stupid piercings
They don't get into wiccan crap.
They don't get covered in tattoos.
They don't hang out at Utopia.
They don't muck around with satanic overtones.
They don't get into the faux S&M stuff.
The don't read Anne Rice thinking it's stellar literature.

And my stuff is all about image. :roll:

Trollhammaren

^^ stupid generalisations, that's what I was doing with the NME call. I listen to Death Metal, and none of those things apply to me, barring the long hair, but that's just personal choice cause it gets me all the chicks :p

I think you'll find most of those refer to Black Metal more, which indeed, is full of trend-hopping posers. But I don't care about that stuff. It's the music that counts, and a lot of people who listen and play that type of music are 'normal' people with unorthodox, perhaps extreme taste in music.

I have little doubt that metalheads as an entity are the nicest most decent people of met. It's just stupid public perception, and fear of blasphemy that gives them a bad reputation...

*cranks some Psycroptic, sacrifices a few chickens* 8)

SpaceMonkey

hrundi99 said:
They don't have long dyed black hair.
They don't wear black clothes and overcoats in the middle of summer.
They don't wear makeup.
They don't wear weird jewellery.
They don't get stupid piercings
They don't get into wiccan crap.
They don't get covered in tattoos.
They don't hang out at Utopia.
They don't muck around with satanic overtones.
They don't get into the faux S&M stuff.
The don't read Anne Rice thinking it's stellar literature.

And my stuff is all about image. :roll:
You're describing goths more than anyone else there. The metal crowd generally don't bother with most of that stuff, apart from some black metal fans. I've been listening to death/black metal for 15 years and haven't conformed to many of those stereotypes for at least the last 10 of those.

hrundi99

I've never heard of "black" metal. Well I guess I've learned something today.

Yes my laundry list is stereotypical, but you know that there are a whole bunch of young people who love that sort of thing because it pisses off their parents and because they think it will somehow make them cool. Ever notice how a lot of goth chicks are fat? Psychology 101.

If you sat in Utopia (commonly known as THE metal store in Sydney) for a day, how many "normal" looking punters do you think you'd see as a percentage of the total customers for the day?

I reckon 35-40%. That tells me that metal is still quite image-focussed.

ThrashViking

What pitty i hate JPY's "singing"
And your stereotypes are silly, not many goths are into death metal.
It's almost as bad as saying all dance parties have gay drugged men wearing little or no clothing.
For the record: I dont hate my parents, I usually wear casual clothing and I have short hair.
Im not going to label what I hate about garage, indie or pop rock because it's pointless. It just bores the living crap out of me. They all seem go by a certain image also (Yes -Hrundi, so does Rap so it's not just Metal)
Love it or hate it, it takes some skill to be in a highly succsesful metal band.

hrundi99

ThrashViking said:
What pitty i hate JPY's "singing"

I wasn't quoting JPY because I'm a fan of his...

And your stereotypes are silly, not many goths are into death metal. It's almost as bad as saying all dance parties have gay drugged men wearing little or no clothing.

But a lot of metalheads have long hair, zits and daggy clothes.

For the record: I dont hate my parents, I usually wear casual clothing and I have short hair.

Great. You're the exception to the rule.

Im not going to label what I hate about garage, indie or pop rock because it's pointless. It just bores the living crap out of me.

Fair enough. Metal bores me AND pisses me off. Each to their own.

They all seem go by a certain image also (Yes -Hrundi, so does Rap so it's not just Metal)

About the only image cliche amongst the power-pop fraternity is our love for Converse - Chuck Taylors.

Love it or hate it, it takes some skill to be in a highly succsesful metal band.

I've been down this road before. I can appreciate virtuoso musicianship only as far as it takes interesting and memorable music.

ThrashViking

And it's intresting and memorable to me and many other people.
Heck - I enjoy Jazz, hiphop & some dance music for the same reason.
Hrundi - Why do people have to dress a certain way? Like 'normally' as you put it. I dont get it. I'd rather be dead than be seen in a suit or pair of $300 jeans just so I can look nice at some sh*tty over-priced cafe with all the other metrosexuals down at Darling Harbour.
You dont seem to have a problem with the Beatles bowl cut/clean image that was used to appeal to the masses or the wigger down the street wearing baggy pants and a USA hoodie saying 'fo sho' every second word because he saw eminem on channel V.
Alot of Pop-Rock fans wear tight jeans, have longish hair & are usually 14/15 year olds. I suppose there are exceptions to every rule.
Dont worry mate, im not going to track you down and slaughter your dog in the name of satan ;-)