Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wankiest genre ever??

SpaceMonkey

ThrashViking said:
SpaceMonkey said:
ThrashViking said:
Are you Rob Halford ? :lol:
No, I'm his boyfriend.
In MTVs top 100 most metal moments Rob Halfords coming out announcment rated higher than Count Grishnackh's murder of Euronymous.
A brutal killing involving band members making necklaces of their guitarists skull is some what metal but some homosexual guy - now that's metal. :lol:
God I hate MTV.
I still find it funny how obviously screaming queer Halford's always been though. I mean why was it any news when he came out? Think of how he'd always been, the tight leather, the pierced nipples, the cropped hair, he'd look pretty at home on Oxford St. And the somg titles... "Hell Bent for Leather", Ram it Down", "Delivering the Goods"... :lol: :lol: :lol:

By the way your getting confused about the Mayhem murder/suicides. Hellhammer reportedly made a necklace out of peices of Dead's skull after dead committed suicide prior to the recording of "De Mysteriis..." Euronymous was stabbed by Vikernes but no-one did anything with his skull.

ThrashViking

I did get it wrong #-o
Dead's suicide letter repotedly had the words "Sorry about the mess"
:lol: I think somebody was yanking my chain.

hrundi99

tiger pride said:
Yes you are. Seriously, if you don't really know much about the genre then how can you critique it. Most metal gigs are about beer, banging your head, enjoying the music, and haveing a great night. What the f**k is worng with that?

Beer is good, but it tastes better when the music isn't crap.

And your comments about indie fans being 'normal' are not exactly correct. I have a known a mate for years, and as he has got more into Brit Pop and indie stuff, which yawns me to the moon, I've seen him turn completely into a British Beatles-lookalike clone. I've been to a couple of indie nights in pubs here in Sydney, and these people are definately trying to look fashionable. The shaggy, slighly long hair, daggy clothes bought from Vinnies, and badges all over their jackets. It's an image, just more trendy. Being British and indie is a trend now. I'll just wait and see how long Jet can last selling their albums to 15 year olds.

I didn't say "indie fans" are normal. I said that I, my friends and the bands we listen to are "normal".

ThrashViking

again with the "normal" crap
I dont know if anyone remembers the incident when a bunch of goths digged up a bunch of skulls and basically every single metalhead in NZ was targeted and labeled 'satanic' etc; heres a good article about it and the mainstreams tolerance towards the extreme metal scene
http://www.cult.canterbury.ac.nz/cult/Sarah Forgan essay Heavy Metal.htm
It's got a picture of my mates band Skuldom and yes that chick is wearing a meat bikini.

hrundi99

If I'm referring to myself I think I'm more than entitled to say anything I want.

Whatsamatta? Feeling abnormal?

Trollhammaren

Metalheads are always the scape goats for devious acts. It's because of stupid misconceptions of the culture, as our good buddy hrundi99 has displayed. Slayer were blamed for three of their fans raping a girl, which was in court for a long time. M Manson was blamed for the Columbine massacre. Yet, I believe it was 2002, a young man in Melbourne killed and chopped up his best friend, writing a rap song about it called 'Rap Revenge', however, no blame was put on that musical genre...

Music is about seeking release, having a good time, and evoking emotions, not replicating what a SOME lyrics may say. If you take it seriosuly, you're an idiot.

SpaceMonkey

ThrashViking said:
again with the "normal" crap
I dont know if anyone remembers the incident when a bunch of goths digged up a bunch of skulls and basically every single metalhead in NZ was targeted and labeled 'satanic' etc; heres a good article about it and the mainstreams tolerance towards the extreme metal scene
http://www.cult.canterbury.ac.nz/cult/Sarah Forgan essay Heavy Metal.htm
It's got a picture of my mates band Skuldom and yes that chick is wearing a meat bikini.
Gotta admit dude, that's a pretty wanky essay. BTW I've met the guy with the dreds and the chick in the meat bikini from Skulldom before at a gig in Auckland a couple of years back when I lived there.

ThrashViking

Sarah and Heath - yeah, the blonde guy from Skulldom organised the NZ leg of the Deeds Of Flesh tour.
I wonder if anyone has ever tried to take a nibble out of the infamous meat bikini.

SpaceMonkey

I'm quite the carnivore, but I'd probably me more inclined towards the contents of the the bikini ;-)

hrundi99

tiger pride said:
Metalheads are always the scape goats for devious acts. It's because of stupid misconceptions of the culture, as our good buddy hrundi99 has displayed. Slayer were blamed for three of their fans raping a girl, which was in court for a long time. M Manson was blamed for the Columbine massacre. Yet, I believe it was 2002, a young man in Melbourne killed and chopped up his best friend, writing a rap song about it called 'Rap Revenge', however, no blame was put on that musical genre...

Music is about seeking release, having a good time, and evoking emotions, not replicating what a SOME lyrics may say. If you take it seriosuly, you're an idiot.

You're really mistaken. You're associating attitudes to me that I haven't mentioned at all.

I hate the music. I think a lot of the people who are really into metal are dags.

That's the long and short of it.

Where did I accuse metalheads of being satan-worshipping criminals? That's right, I didn't.

Having said that, the folks in the pictures are hardly a glowing advertisement for the supposed normality of the folks who are into metal. It's kind of like Muslims weeding out the extremists. Tell these folks that they're WANKERs and maybe you won't get the negative associations from the ignorant masses.

ThrashViking

Some of the pictures are purely theatrical.
Do you honostly believe meat bikinis or bras is the 'in' fashion or a bunch of blokes wearing blue paint truely believe that they are zombies? With that said there are alot of assholes who dont know how to have fun at some concerts ive attended and sometimes take it a little to far.
The National Front is again in the headlines which again means anyone wearing there old Mayhem shirts will get dirty looks, ignorance is bliss.

hrundi99

All face-painters have some form of mental deficiency. I think we can all agree on that.

*disclaimer - That statement doesn't include Kiss. Or maybe it does. Not sure*

Trollhammaren

hrundi99 said:
tiger pride said:

You're really mistaken. You're associating attitudes to me that I haven't mentioned at all.

I hate the music. I think a lot of the people who are really into metal are dags.

That's the long and short of it.

Where did I accuse metalheads of being satan-worshipping criminals? That's right, I didn't.

Having said that, the folks in the pictures are hardly a glowing advertisement for the supposed normality of the folks who are into metal. It's kind of like Muslims weeding out the extremists. Tell these folks that they're WANKERs and maybe you won't get the negative associations from the ignorant masses.

All I mentioned about you was that you had a misconception about the culture.

hrundi99 said:
Funny that you mention image. It's the very image associated with Death Metal which contributes to my hatred of it (and the fact that the music really sucks). You've got it the wrong way around. As mentioned in another thread, the bands I like just wear normal clothes.

They don't have long dyed black hair.
They don't wear black clothes and overcoats in the middle of summer.
They don't wear makeup.
They don't wear weird jewellery.
They don't get stupid piercings
They don't get into wiccan crap.
They don't get covered in tattoos.
They don't hang out at Utopia.
They don't muck around with satanic overtones.
They don't get into the faux S&M stuff.
The don't read Anne Rice thinking it's stellar literature.

That's fine if you aren't calling these people satinist murderers or whatever, but when others take it too far it's not on.

I also think you'll find most metalheads despise those fvckers that give them a bad name. For example, Vic on the Park in Sydney has stopped holding metal gigs at it's venue due to a toilet being smashed at a metal gig a couple of moths ago. Word is it wasn't actually a metalhead who did it, just some bogan playing the pokies. Anyway, metalheads were blamed, and now have lost a venue. Naturally, if this person who smashed the toilets was found, about 99.9% of metal-loving people would love to show this fool what they think of him, and his acts.

Deeds of Flesh tomorrow. YAY!

ThrashViking

hrundi99 said:
All face-painters have some form of mental deficiency. I think we can all agree on that.

*disclaimer - That statement doesn't include Kiss. Or maybe it does. Not sure*
After hearing a rumor about Gene's penis size I should bloody well hope so :shock: