Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wankiest genre ever??

hrundi99

ThrashViking said:
And it's intresting and memorable to me and many other people. Heck - I enjoy Jazz, hiphop & some dance music for the same reason.

Fair enough.

Hrundi - Why do people have to dress a certain way? Like 'normally' as you put it. I dont get it. I'd rather be dead than be seen in a suit or pair of $300 jeans just so I can look nice at some sh*tty over-priced cafe with all the other metrosexuals down at Darling Harbour.
You dont seem to have a problem with the Beatles bowl cut/clean image that was used to appeal to the masses or the wigger down the street wearing baggy pants and a USA hoodie saying 'fo sho' every second word because he saw eminem on channel V.

I just think the idea of dressing up a certain way because it reflects the type of music you listen to is dumb (whether it be metal, goth, hip-hop, Chisel fans wearing JD or JB singlets, whatever).

Alot of Pop-Rock fans wear tight jeans

That's so that we can show off the armadillos down our trousers.

have longish hair & are usually 14/15 year olds. I suppose there are exceptions to every rule.

Sadly I don't see a lot of young people going to shows that I go to.

Dont worry mate, im not going to track you down and slaughter your dog in the name of satan ;-)

Well I don't have a dog but I'll take your word for it.

ThrashViking

But is how Muslims dress any different? I mean they were influenced by somebody to pray to or believe in to do what they do and how they dress.
Let me put it this way - we all know we look upto a influence in our life, we start to dress like them or listen to whatever they listen to so how is that different to being part of a religion?

lol, who actually says that?? I think I've managed to create my own stereotype (kudos to half as well).

hrundi, I'm interested by your comments about clothing. I'm not exactly a fashion guru, nor do I have enough money to spend on clothes, so I don't have a huge wardrobe. But when I buy clothes, I buy along sort of casual/hip-hop lines. You can't deny that when you go out buying clothes today, there are a lot of clothes (perhaps even a majority of them for people of my age) available that quite clearly conform to a certain musical taste. Personally, I actually find it hard to imagine what else I could wear, because most of the clothing out there conforms to one trend or style or another. I would still look like a wannabe whatever I wore, so I may as well wear the clothes that least misrepresent me. It seems a whole lot easier to just wear clothes that could be defined as "hip-hop" fashion, then go out of my way to look "normal" or like "an average guy", which is just another stereotype to conform to. I don't dress unusually or anything, I pretty much do just dress like any average guy, but it's so hard to find clothes these days that won't see you characterised as something or other, so you're usually best to lean towards what represents you best.

hrundi99

ThrashViking said:
But is how Muslims dress any different? I mean they were influenced by somebody to pray to or believe in to do what they do and how they dress.
Let me put it this way - we all know we look upto a influence in our life, we start to dress like them or listen to whatever they listen to so how is that different to being part of a religion?

Same ballpark for mine...

ThrashViking

So basically according to the gospel of hrundi it's wrong to dress what best suits your lifestyle.
That’s a crap attitude to have in my opinion; I reckon trying to dress up as the 'normal guy' is just as bad as it quite clearly is also falling into another stereotype (thank you Thierry).
Were all sheep and some mythological creature who for all I know doesn’t exist is our Sheppard.
Meh....

SpaceMonkey

The Gospel according to Hrundi:

Music is wanky if:
the songs are longer than four minutes
the musicians dare to play anything remotely flashy
the lyrics have any remotely imaginative subject matter
the band do anything except play three chords whilst staring at their shoes and mumbling.

Music fans are wanky if:
they dare to express themselves as part of a musical subculture by the way they dress
they dress in any way that makes a statement

Bloody hell it must be a boring world you live in!

(by the way are you a fan of Grandaddy by any chance?)

ThrashViking

I can handle why he doesnt like Death Metal or Metal in general, thats fine but his arguement "If you dress in a way you fit in a stereotype there for you must be a sheep" is inane and makes no sence.
If we all wear $500 suits and have the same hair style it'll be a dull world.
Most metalheads & rap fans are just proud of their difference where as mainstream pop/rock fans seem to avoid being different.

SpaceMonkey

That said my favourite article of clothing is my $800 suit, (not that I pid that much for it though, go the boxing day sales at Grace Bros!) I like the mafia hitman look, haha
Of course since Akercocke got popular suits have been pretty metal :p

ThrashViking

Akercocke look stylish and malevolent at the same time. Try wearing a white shirt at a concert next time, you get extra attention inside the mosh pit and a free beer.
Brutal as hails.

Kakihara

ThrashViking said:
Most metalheads & rap fans are just proud of their difference where as mainstream pop/rock fans seem to avoid being different.

Totally agree there.

SpaceMonkey

ThrashViking said:
Akercocke look stylish and malevolent at the same time. Try wearing a white shirt at a concert next time, you get extra attention inside the mosh pit and a free beer.
Brutal as hails.
I think I'll turn up to the next metal gig I go to in a black suit, white shirt, black leather gloves and with my head freshly shaved, that should get a few people wondering :p

hrundi99

ThrashViking said:
I can handle why he doesnt like Death Metal or Metal in general, thats fine but his arguement "If you dress in a way you fit in a stereotype there for you must be a sheep" is inane and makes no sence.
If we all wear $500 suits and have the same hair style it'll be a dull world.

What's your fascination with $500 suits?

Most pop/rock fans don't have any urge to be different. They are not conforming, just not finding any great need to be different just for the sake of it.

If you want to be different, be different in a way as defined by the contents of your mind, not the contents of your cd collection.

hrundi99

SpaceMonkey said:

Music is wanky if:
the band do anything except play three chords whilst staring at their shoes and mumbling.

Music fans are wanky if:
they dare to express themselves as part of a musical subculture by the way they dress

So to summarise, I think that Metal sucks.

Dylan is one of my favourite songwriters, so I hardly think that I'm averse to meaning in songs. Yet there is more meaning to me in a song about a girl than there is in a song about Egyptian pharaohs or teen angst from a thirty-something.

I think I've seen a Grandaddy video and i didn't mind it. It was catchy and they looked like they were having FUN. Something which seems to be a low priority in the metal arena (though I could be wrong).

SpaceMonkey

hrundi99 said:
I think I've seen a Grandaddy video and i didn't mind it. It was catchy and they looked like they were having FUN. Something which seems to be a low priority in the metal arena (though I could be wrong).
I asked because I thought they might be your sort of thing, I'm a faily big fan of them and saw them live last month. Some of us have fairly broad tastes :p

ThrashViking

metalheads can have fun, I think anyone who was in attendance at the Deeds of flesh concert can vouch for that.

The Pop and Rock cultures thrives on a certain image does it not? The last time I checked they all looked the same. Maybe I should yell at my dad for looking like Bob Dylan in his old uni photos :roll:
Doesnt 70 % of how humans think/talk/dress etc thrive on a surrounding influence(s) hrundi? So how are bogans any different to the next average joe?

Trollhammaren

hrundi99 said:
SpaceMonkey said:

Music is wanky if:

Music fans are wanky if:

So to summarise, I think that Metal sucks.

Dylan is one of my favourite songwriters, so I hardly think that I'm averse to meaning in songs. Yet there is more meaning to me in a song about a girl than there is in a song about Egyptian pharaohs or teen angst from a thirty-something.

Yes you are. Seriously, if you don't really know much about the genre then how can you critique it. Most metal gigs are about beer, banging your head, enjoying the music, and haveing a great night. What the f**k is worng with that?

And your comments about indie fans being 'normal' are not exactly correct. I have a known a mate for years, and as he has got more into Brit Pop and indie stuff, which yawns me to the moon, I've seen him turn completely into a British Beatles-lookalike clone. I've been to a couple of indie nights in pubs here in Sydney, and these people are definately trying to look fashionable. The shaggy, slighly long hair, daggy clothes bought from Vinnies, and badges all over their jackets. It's an image, just more trendy. Being British and indie is a trend now. I'll just wait and see how long Jet can last selling their albums to 15 year olds.

ThrashViking

SpaceMonkey said:
ThrashViking said:
Are you Rob Halford ? :lol:
No, I'm his boyfriend.
In MTVs top 100 most metal moments Rob Halfords coming out announcment rated higher than Count Grishnackh's murder of Euronymous.
A brutal killing involving band members making necklaces of their guitarists skull is some what metal but some homosexual guy - now that's metal. :lol:
God I hate MTV.