Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Warriors ISP Cup 2017

Cold Roses

Last up start against the Panthers.

Tevita Satae 40 mins

11 - Runs
149 - Meters
50 - Post Contact
1 - Try Assist
1 - Linebreak
6 -Tackle Busts
23 - Tackles
0 - Miss Tackles

Team missed 46 Tackles combined

He gets a starting spot this week. I'll be interested to see how he goes.

Replying to myself

Tevita Satae - 51 mins

15 - Runs
151 - Metres
62 - Post Contact
1 - Tackle Busts
21 - Tackles
2 - Missed Tackles

Continuing with his good form.

With a solid off season under his belt, this guy could really do something for us in first grade next year.

Cold Roses

Patrick isn't even that young anymore, he's 25. If developed properly they could both be a Martin Taupau in regard to physical presence

Pat Sipley and Satae could both be late bloomers in the mould of Gavet. If we could build them up to the sort of fitness levels and numbers that Tapau is providing...

Blair

Another sydney game this week. Love it

Hipster beards, iconic flanos, designer tatts, craft beers, cider, gourmet food stands, lattes, baby-wearers...

It'll be rugby league but not as I know it!:

35631002910_5f2cd1a1d4.jpg

Can't wait but.

I guess the suburbs of Newtown, Marrickville, Petersham, etc are much like Ponsonby, Grey Lynn and Grafton are in Auckland. That is, a lot different to when they were working class joints.

KeepingTheFaith

Pat Sipley and Satae could both be late bloomers in the mould of Gavet. If we could build them up to the sort of fitness levels and numbers that Tapau is providing...

Pulu is in that mould as well. I don't think it's a plan, but having a core group of guys right below the leadership group who have had to go the long/hard way to first grade wouldn't be the worst thing for the youngsters coming through.

Blair

Newtown get the win 38 - 12. Bad loss in what has been a good season so far.

A disaster for us, great day for Newtown, 9000 at the ground although at least 7000 would've been (extremely) fair weather fans just there for the food and beer festival.

They did a haka at the end in honour of their player, Kurt Kara, clocking up his 150th for the Jets, some Warriors joined in too:

I'm looking forward to our man, R & S, posting his report tomorrow. He aint a happy chappy tonight.

Heres the report from yesterday

Last night was the coldest night in Sydney in 10 years. Where i work was 2 degress and where i live was 1 degree and i saw my first frost here this morning. So with the ISP Warriors playing here in Sydney today what better way to warm up by stomping the feet and clapping the hands and supporting the boys, so The Fan In The Stand grabbed the Whanau and off we went.
Todays game is against the Newtown Jets (Sharks Reserve Grade) played at Henson Park. The Park has heaps of tradition with the likes of Tommy Raudonikis leading the Mighty New Town Blue Bags on this ground. This is my favourite suburban ground as its like a basin and you can drive in and park your car on the hill and watch the game from there eating a piece of bacon and egg pie washed down with some mountain dew. So off to the inner west of Sydney we went, home of the hipsters, skinny roads and nose to tail traffic.

As i road rage through all the shit drivers here in Sydney im thinking about how the club has been rocked this week. First Big Manu farewelled the club on Friday after the Panthers spoiled his night, then conformation that SJ will miss the rest of the NRL with injury. Nearly every Warriors fan is having a salty sook saying the first grade seasons over or we are cooked cos no Johnson. Thats only 1 player???? Last time i squinted through the cataracts there are 13 players out there playing for the jersey, so when 1 goes down another steps up. Haere Mai Mase. Your time to shine brother. Will mention that later. I approach the ground and notice more traffic than usual, cars and foot traffic everywhere. I get to the driveway and its closed to cars WWWWWWTTTTTTTFFFFFFFFFFF!!!!!! So i have to park down a side street miles away, so we get our stuff and lock the car while crossing my fingers that the ol girl is still there after the game (memories of Belmore)

I get into the game and there are people everywhere. There is a beer food and footy feast on the hill and the hill is chocker with people, so we go sit on the other side just behind the Warriors bench. I check out the field and ive got the shits with it. The Aussie rules lines are still marked out plus the bloody posts are still in there. The middle of the field is a dust bowl that doesnt look like they have any grass there. Shocking. I watch the boys doing their final warm ups. Body language looks good, no errors in the drill and everything seems fine. Still on my mind that the loss of Lino might cause a bit of trouble. But with Sam Cook and Jazz in the halves they know the deal and how the game is played im sure they will be fine. The ground announcer does a good job pronouncing the boys surnames finally. Few changes for us. Big Toafofoa Sipley drops to the interchange and big bro Pat takes his place, King Vuniyayawa and Johnny Vuetibau pack the 2nd row with Ofa Ogden back to the bench and up and coming Kenese Kenese jumps on the bench with Big Chris Satae getting his debut jumper in 1st grade with Ruck God Gavet breaking his arm. Great stuff Chris tear it up tonight and well deserved. I scope the Jets team. I notice 3 of their forwards are Huge. Sam Tagataese, Saulala Houma and Tepatasi Fuiava are bigger than the Undertaker. Also a nice touch as the players came out Kiwi halfback for the Jets Kurt Kara was playing his 150th game for the Jets so he came out with his family to a massive occasion.

Warriors kick off and Jets ruck it up for some easy metres really and get a good kick away Santo takes it but is dragged back in goal forcing us to have a goal line drop out. WOW nearly the perfect start. We drop it out Jets hit it up for 3 tackles spread it wide and Edrick Lee goes over in the corner. Yip, this is the perfect start for them. Junior Paulo misses the kick so down 4-0 after about 3 minutes. Seems to be the way with our boys, early try let in always. But we always bounce back so no concerns there. We restart but again the Jets make easy metres due to offloads and 2nd phase, they spread it wide again but this time we force them over the sideline. Bit worrying as they are keen to spread it wide and making metres doing it. We get the ball finally after 5 minutes and make around 75m with strong hitups from Palavi and King. A good kick and chase however is ruined by a penalty for offside on tackle 2. More defence coming up. But with the Jets attacking and spinning it wide again Junior Pauga races out and puts on a big hit on their centre shutting down the move. Onya Junior. Next tackle we force an error so handover to us. Santo offloads to Cook who makes a 30m break showing what our little men can do to counter the Jets big boppers. With that set we get in a good position but Palavi is given the ball on the last and is tackled. Our defence again is exposed as the Jets winger Leigh Higgins makes a break but Santo saves a try with a great tackle. 2 tackles later the hooker Adam Clydsdale sells a big dummy and goes over for a try which Paulo converts. Down 10-0. Sheesh cmon boys.

A couple of sets later we get a penalty and some possesion but a loose carry and we lose it on tackle 2 and are defending again in our half. Bureto Faraimo pulls out a great hit shutting down a raid. All shoulders. They keep attacking but we hold out and they drop it over the line. With us getting some ball our 5th tackle option is not good and the bomb is uncontested with an easy 20m tap for the Jets. After 20 minutes its more of the same with us giving away a penalty and more defence. Tagataese and Fuiava are tearing us through the middle making big metres. Our right side defence shredded again and Higgins dives over and Paulo again converts. 16-0 after 22 minutes. Man the boys look flat, just dont seem up for the game. We kick off and again Tagataese powers through the ruck offloads for another line break. Santo again makes a try saver tackle but a quick play the ball to Paulo chips and richochets off Cook and The Jets get another try. A freakish try but its still a dam try. 24-0 after 24 minutes and things are woeful. Boys heads are down and we have no answers. Very very flat. But Fresh troops come on with Tof and Ofa coming on. Hoping they turn things around. We kick off and limit the Jets metres this time but tackle 4 give away a penalty DE JA VU.

They kick for touch and attack. We hold out this time but they have forced us to a goal line drop out. We hold out for 3 tackles then Tagataese chucks his head down and drives over for another try. Unbelievable. Cant believe what im watching at the moment. This is the worst half of footy ive ever seen this team play. Just not up for this match. 28-0 with 6 minutes left till halftime. This time King Vuniyayawa saves a try with a reflex catch and takes off beating 3 tacklers and jumping over 1. We have a settling set and make it to their 20m zone and Ogden makes an offload which is scooped up by a jets player. If it hits Allwood we get a try. Unlucky. Looks like we have settled down with a bit of compsure but after Tof Sipley makes a strong hitup the next tackle we lose possesion and 1 tackle after that we get penalised. Unreal. ALso ive just smashed my pen writing down notes with this frustration and the family next to me are having a laugh. Up yours kios. We barely manage to hold out the Jets again due to Houmas massive hitups and they cross for a try but we get the penalty for a player being infront of the kicker. We manage to get some tackles in their half but cant break their defence. Right on half time Pauga makes a break but is tackled 1 on 1 and looses the ball and Half time is called. 28 zilch down. Didnt see this coming at all

Halftime Thoughts

Positves
- I found a spare pen in my bag

Negatives
- The team is flat. Look unsettled. All the games i come to over the years ive never seen a half like that. Usually its us dealing out the punishment. Injuries and a long season catching up with us perhaps. Even with Captain Lino here it would not have made a difference

- No one is really standing out. Our usual crackers are being muted. Jazz cant produce and offloads, the Sipleys are being held in check. Junior cant get any room to crank the wheels. Zac Santo has produced some great try savers otherwise it could of been closer to 50-0. James Bell usually pokes his nose through the line with his hitups but the defence are waiting with hankies

- Coach Henry who im sitting behind is kicking the ground and shaking his head everytime a try is scored or error made. If he keeps this up the ground hes kicked will be enough to build another motorway

- Diciplne a major problem

- Tagataese, Houma and Fuiava just walzting through the middle of our ruck. That needs to be contained. Off the back of that Junior Paulo is creating havoc at 5/8

- Just looking around this massive crowd of about 5000 i spot Tui Lolohea just sitting in front of me. Also Kevin Locke walked past as well. Interesting. Also quick chat with Blair. Champion effort mate for coming to these games as well. Few Warriors merchandise around the ground, always good to see

- Also with the ground close to the airport seeing the big airbuses flyover the ground is awesum. Can nearly see the pilots faces they that low

Im thinking the game is gone as the lead is so big but if we can just get some decent possesion we can practise things for the upcoming weeks.

Jets kick off and we make an error tackle 3 GRRRRRRRR. Might have to look for another pen. Jets attack straight away but we hold out and get a releiving penalty. We have a good set and manage to force a repeat set. Our first of the game. We manage to put on some good plays but the Jets defence is awesum. 3 tackles in a row we get tackled 1m out. Santo grubbers and we get another repeat set. This is the way im used to the team playing as we are getting some good possesion in good field position. We keep putting on some moves and still 3 more times tackled 1m out. Paulos Latu chases another grubber and forces the fullback in goal. 4th set for us coming up and we need points from this as we have momentum. But a Jets player goes down injured and the ref stops play. Get up Grub!!!! Finally after about 3 minutes play resatarts and Pat Sipley makes 2 big runs in the set but a wayward dummy half pass gives posession to the Jets. Off the hook but at least we asking some questions. 12 minutes in we are competing and given away no penalties and stopped the Jets yardage, just as i write that in my notes Pat Sipley makes a half break but offloads to a Jets player standing in front of Sam Cook. 2 tackles later we give away a penalty Ive just put the writers curse on, also ive broken my 2nd pen.

Zac Santo has just saved another try with a beauty of a tackle round the legs. Seems like hes saved about a dozen today. Next play Kurt Kara kicks to his winger to score, Paulo mosses and its 32-0. 8 minutes later after trading 2 sets each with not much happening we get the ball but make an error and the Jets hit it up and Sam Tagataese again just bowls everyone out the way to score his 2nd try. 38-0 down and Tagataese is dam near impossible to stop. This getting very tough to watch but i still yell out for the guys. 2 sets later when we have the ball 30m out our prop Daniel Palavi who resembles a young Suaia Matagi makes a line break beating 2 tacklers and dragging 4 over the line to score one of the best front rower tries ever. Amazing to watch and the sprinkling of Warrior fans stand up and cheer him. Great reward for Palavi as its been a tough day up the middle and he hasnt stopped hitting it up all dae. Cook converts 38-6 with 10 to go.

Jets kick off and we have a good set again and Paulos Latu makes a great break down the right edge but gets tackled 2m out and goes out. Still a good set and we certainly havent chucked the game in. Our next set Santo kicks and chaces his own kick forcing a goal line drop out. Great commitment shown. A few sets each sees a couple of errors from both teams but we manage to get a try when Manaia Cherrington darts over from dummy half as the fulltime hooter goes. Cook converts to have the final score ring out at 38-12

Man Of The Match this week id give to Zac Santo. Come up trumps as our last line of defence by saving countless tries. Scoreline probably doubled if he doesnt make these. Everyone else contained and wasnt allowed to do things. Our forwards very quiet which nullifies our backs. SO
3 Santo
2 Cook
1 Palavi

Post match thoughts

We were dominated in every aspect and stat today. Boys were very flat and out intheused in that first half. But massive credit to them as they come out real different in the 2nd. We actually won that 2nd half 12-10 so thats a positive. Certainly not panic stations. Just one of those days. Id compare it to what they do in the olympics. In the diving the judges judge a dive and the best and worst score are taken off for an average. Id do that to this game. Just wipe it out. As i mentioned long season few injuries etc

At the end of the game Lots of Kiwis gathered on the field to give a respectful haka to Kurt Kara on his 150th game. A couple of Warriors joined in. Awesum moment, check the video i posted. Spine tingling. So as we head our way out to the car thinking about the usual post match family feast from KFC in Casula im writing this game as a 1 off. It happens. Even the Melbourne Storm, Cleveland Cavaliars, Baltimore Ravens, Lyttelton Krackens and the El Kahir SlimShadys have these once a year.

Next game is against Mounties at Mt SMart on Saturday at 3pm. If ya can guys get there and support them. Coming to the buisness end of the season so lets get behind them

A Depressed Fan In The Stand from Henson Park OUT

Just a side note. I wrote this report today as i wanted to watch the 1st grade fully last night against the Cows. Just want to give a huge Shout Out to ISP boys Mason and Chris on his debut last night.
Mason you kicked ass. Your composure was outstanding even when some of your team mates left u hanging grrrrrr. You knew what to do when it needed to be done. Even though you are the captain of our ISP team i think u wont play another game for them. 1st grade is for u now
Chris, great debut. Your hitups were strong in the limited minutes you had. Didnt let anyone down. Hopefully Coach Kearney releases the shackles and gives u some decent game time. Both well deserved selections.
NOW PICK THE BLOODY SIPLEYS COACH KEARNEY!!!!!!!!

Blair

Brilliant stuff, boss.

I actually saw you sitting way over the other side, with the fair weather footy festivities, at the start. Glad you clocked on and realised the real fans were over our side.

We had a good laugh about Locke. You mentioned he was there and I thought I'd been talking to him earlier. Then you said he was 'wearing headphones' and I realised the guy I was talking to had on a 'Bunnings fleecy', and there's no way our Kevvy would be wearing something like that.

I was a little underwhelmed by the ground, it's too oval-shaped, we were too far from the action.

That fun clown-like oke, who rode around the ground on the Penny-farthing after each Newtown try, blowing bubbles, waving flags, hooting his horn and, like the pied piper, followed by rapturous kids, also deserves an honourable mention. He had his work cut out for sure. You could tell he was thinking, 'not again'.

I shook Henry's hand at the end and said 'see you in Sydney for a semi', but they should have home semis before a GF, if they get that far? If that GF's on NRL Grand Final Day then yesterday was the last time I'll see them this year.

I'm writing a personal letter to Henry telling him how much I enjoyed attending his reggies games this year, despite the fact I've never seen the Warriors reggies win, going all the way back to NRL GF Day 2011!

Brilliant stuff, boss.

I actually saw you sitting way over the other side, with the fair weather footy festivities, at the start. Glad you clocked on and realised the real fans were over our side.

We had a good laugh about Locke. You mentioned he was there and I thought I'd been talking to him earlier. Then you said he was 'wearing headphones' and I realised the guy I was talking to had on a 'Bunnings fleecy', and there's no way our Kevvy would be wearing something like that.

I was a little underwhelmed by the ground, it's too oval-shaped, we were too far from the action.

That fun clown-like oke, who rode around the ground on the Penny-farthing after each Newtown try, blowing bubbles, waving flags, hooting his horn and, like the pied piper, followed by rapturous kids, also deserves an honourable mention. He had his work cut out for sure. You could tell he was thinking, 'not again'.

I shook Henry's hand at the end and said 'see you in Sydney for a semi', but they should have home semis before a GF, if they get that far? If that GF's on NRL Grand Final Day then yesterday was the last time I'll see them this year.

I'm writing a personal letter to Henry telling him how much I enjoyed attending his reggies games this year, despite the fact I've never seen the Warriors reggies win, going all the way back to NRL GF Day 2011!

That guy riding around after every Jets try nearly died of cardiac arrest

Cold Roses

http://www.warriors.kiwi/news/2017/07/25/_teams_gubb_s_comeba.html

INTRUST SUPER PREMIERSHIP

VODAFONE WARRIORS v MOUNTIES

Mount Smart Stadium, Auckland

1.00pm, Saturday, July 29

VODAFONE WARRIORS

1 ZAC SANTO

2 CHARNZE NICOLL-KLOKSTAD

3 MATTHEW ALLWOOD

4 JUNIOR PAUGA

5 BURETA FARAIMO

6 SAM COOK

14 JAZZ TEVAGA

8 PATRICK SIPLEY

9 MANAIA CHERRINGTON

10 DANIEL PALAVI

11 OFAHIKI OGDEN

12 ISAIAH PAPALI’I

13 JAMES BELL (c)

Interchange:

15 TOAFOFOA SIPLEY

16 CHARLIE GUBB

17 KING VUNIYAYAWA

18 SEMISI FOTU

20 REECE CHARLIE

21 JOHNNY VUETIBAU

COACH | RICKY HENRY

Cold Roses

Chris Satae not named. Hopefully that means he gets more time in the top side. With any luck Pat Sipley will get a couple of games when the season is gone as well.

KeepingTheFaith

Throw Roache, Afoa, Satae, Lino, and Ata back into that mix and it's a pretty formidable line up for ISP.

Vete might even be eligible if he recovers in time. Not sure how many ISP games he's played.

Cold Roses

http://www.warriors.kiwi/news/2017/07/29/_isp_match_report_wi.html

Late tries to Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad and Isaiah Papali'i thwarted a Mounties comeback to earn the Vodafone Warriors a crucial 32-22 victory in today's 21st-round Intrust Super Premiership clash at Mount Smart Stadium.

They were given a huge scare as they sought to give their campaign a much-needed boost after last week's disappointing 12-38 loss to lowly-ranked Newtown.

The Vodafone Warriors' handy 16-6 halftime lead was quickly trimmed to 16-14 by the visitors early in the second half before they drew level 22-22 with 15 minutes to play.

Only then did the Vodafone Warriors wake up to put the result to bed.

Earlier Vodafone Warriors coach Ricky Henry had rearranged his line-up for the contest.

Chris Satae, who made his NRL debut against the Cowboys last week, was available to slot into the front row pushing Patrick Sipley back to the bench while Jazz Tevaga started at loose forward replacing James Bell. Bell had been listed to play in the No 13 jersey earlier in the week but he was called up for his first-grade debut against Cronulla on Friday night.

There was significant reshuffling in the backline with Zac Santo moved from fullback to the halves, Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad switched from the wing to fullback, Junior Pauga pushed out of the centres onto the wing and Semisi Fotu off the bench to start in the centres. Nicoll-Klokstad was also named captain.

In his playmaking role, Santo made his mark after just four minutes giving early ball to centre Matt Allwood to score from close to the line.

The Mounties countered in the 14th minute, benefiting from a string of penalties to arrange a try wide out for wing Alofi Mataele which former Vodafone Warrior Isaac John converted splendidly for a 6-4 lead.

The Vodafone Warriors then earned a period of dominance and were rewarded with twin strikes, first through recent signing Bureta Faraimo in the 19th minute. A Mounties attack broke down on the Vodafone Warriors' line, Fotu snaring the loose ball and feeding Faraimo who sped 80 metres to score with Pauga converting.

The 10-6 lead became 16-6 in the 28th minute when hooker Manaia Cherrington sneaked over from dummy half for Pauga to convert again.

Having built a 10-point lead the Vodafone Warriors then handed back their advantage when John crossed in the 44th minute and then again in the 53rd minute. Neither try was converted leaving the home side just 16-14 ahead.

When big Vodafone Warriors prop Toaf Sipley charged over from near the line in the 59th minute, Pauga's conversion took the score-line out to 22-14.

All too soon, though, the contest was locked up at 22-22 with 15 minutes to play after a Makahesi Makatoa try and a conversion and penalty from John.

It set up a frantic last stanza but the Vodafone Warriors were up for it, regrouping superbly after John's penalty.

Their first statement was a 71st minute try for skipper Nicoll-Klokstad. It came from long range again after the Mounties turned the ball over near the home side's line. Pauga swooped, collected the ball and went 70 metres before offloading to Nicoll-Klokstad and then converting the try to put his side 28-22 ahead.

The deal was sealed straight after the restart with second rower Isaiah Papali'i going over for an unconverted try, the 32-22 win lifting the Vodafone Warriors to second on the ladder on 29 points pending the outcome of the top-of-the-table encounter between the Mounties and Penrith.

MATCH DETAILS

Vodafone Warriors 32 (Matt Allwood, Bureta Faraimo, Manaia Cherrington, Toaf Sipley, Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad, Isaiah Papali'i tries; Junior Pauga 4 conversions).

Mounties 22 (Isaac John 2, Alofi Mataele, Makahesi Makatoa tries; Isaac John 2 conversions, penalty).

Halftime: 16-6 Vodafone Warriors.

Vodafone Warriors | Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad (c); Junior Pauga, Matt Allwood, Semisi Fotu, Bureta Faraimo; Zac Santo, Sam Cook; Chris Satae, Manaia Cherrington, Daniel Palavi; Ofahiki Ogden, Isaiah Papali'i; Jazz Tevaga. Interchange: Patrick Sipley, Toafofoa Sipley, Charlie Gubb, King Vuniyayawa.

Blair

Santo is good. The sort of unfancied player the Warriors have turned into a highly effective first grader in the past.

Gubb would make a big difference to that side too. Maybe it's no coincidence that they found winning form again now he's back.

Cold Roses

http://www.warriors.kiwi/news/2017/08/08/_teams_isp_and_nyc_l.html

INTRUST SUPER PREMIERSHIP

VODAFONE WARRIORS v WENTWORTHVILLE MAGPIES

1.45pm, Sunday, August 13

VODAFONE WARRIORS

1 ZAC SANTO

2 CHARNZE NICOLL-KLOKSTAD

3 MATTHEW ALLWOOD

4 JUNIOR PAUGA

5 BURETA FARAIMO

6 MAFOA’AEATA HINGANO

7 SAM COOK

8 CHRIS SATAE

9 MANAIA CHERRINGTON

14 DANIEL PALAVI

11 OFAHIKI OGDEN

10 LIGI SAO

13 JAZZ TEVAGA

Interchange:

15 TOAFOFOA SIPLEY

16 CHARLIE GUBB

17 SEMISI FOTU

18 REECE CHARLIE

20 TEVIN ARONA

COACH | RICKY HENRY

Cold Roses

http://www.warriors.kiwi/news/2017/08/08/_teams_isp_and_nyc_l.html

The Vodafone Warriors won’t be short of players with NRL experience for their 23rd-round Intrust Super Premiership game against the Wentworthville Magpies at Mount Smart Stadium on Sunday (1.45pm kick-off).

A total of 11 players who have appeared at NRL level have been named as the Vodafone Warriors seek to consolidate their second spot on the ladder with only three games left until the finals.

In the backline, they are set to have Zac Santo, Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad, Matt Allwood, Bureta Faraimo and Ata Hingano along with forwards Chris Satae, Manaia Cherrington, Ligi Sao, Jazz Tevaga, Charlie Gubb and Toaf Sipley.

Both sides come into the match after their third and final bye with the Vodafone Warriors on 31 points, four behind competition leader Wyong and two clear of third-placed Penrith. The Magpies are seventh on 24 points, level with Illawarra and only one point ahead of ninth-placed Newcastle.

The Vodafone Warriors were buoyed by their performance in the 21st round when they finished strongly to account for the Mounties 32-22.

Included in the Wentworthville side are former Vodafone Warriors halfback Jeff Robson and ex-Vodafone Warriors ISP and NYC back rower Marata Niukore.