Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wayne Bennett and future coach talk

So if his been planning the great escape since May which it's sounding more and more like he had zero intention of sticking around, it's safe to say his put zero planning into were the Knights will be next year, add this to the fact that he'll take all his staff with him and leave the poor coach with basically nothing it's going to be a huge task for whoever signs up.

RE: Dane sad to hear this, RE: BJL can you guys imagine what he'll be like once his out from under Bennett's whip? Can see him going pretty sour pretty fast.

Nuffy

Well they did have Fifita fall through on a massive contract so obviously they have money around.

I'm sure you are right about Boyd I am just surprised that nothings been done to this point.

Perhaps they thought that Boyd really was a package deal with Bennett.

Or they want to see what happens with Barba and Bennett.

They might want to keep their powder dry at this point.

Well they did have Fifita fall through on a massive contract so obviously they have money around.
That deal stank to high heaven. I reckon they dodged a bullet trying to do the dodgey there. They probably do have a bit of space, but not as much as they offered Fifita imo.

Having said that, the Dogs make the most sense. They need a fullback and usually get what they want. Raiders are probably his only other option.

Where is this mail that Dane wants out coming from? Was he not moving his family down here a few months ago?

Nuffy

Where is this mail that Dane wants out coming from? Was he not moving his family down here a few months ago?

I dont know there has been any and as I said, he's not a big show to be welcomed back to the Broncos as they have two established centres on contract and Milford to join Barba, Hoffman and supposedly Karmichael Hunt.

I think Dane will see this deal out and then it depends on whether the Bronco's want him.

The key to our recruitment will be 2016. if Brennan is the coach as is rumoured, and we by some miracle get Koukash to own the joint ( by miracle I mean Knights fans in general being wise enough to see he and Tinkler are like Chalk and cheese) , then Brennan has about 12 months to show he is a coach going places so we are an attractive proposition for a player. i hope by coaching under Cleary and Gould's mentor ship that Garth can be a wise and astute recruiter like Gould is. Gould's recruitment is the best I have seen. the balls in showing a guy like Jennings the door has bought them two or three quality players for the price of one. Dean Whare has just gone into another league as player there. What a defender he is. Mansour is just pure class. Their time will come for the title.

Wato

Will be interesting to see how the salary cap drams at the Broncos impact there starting position next year and what style of footy Bennett gets them to play. The style he has adopted here and at saints is not going to come easily for guys like Milford, Barba and Hunt being very instinctive off the cuff players.

Nuffy

The key to our recruitment will be 2016. if Brennan is the coach as is rumoured, and we by some miracle get Koukash to own the joint ( by miracle I mean Knights fans in general being wise enough to see he and Tinkler are like Chalk and cheese) , then Brennan has about 12 months to show he is a coach going places. I hope by coaching under Cleary and Gould's mentor ship that Garth can be a wise and astute recruiter like Gould is. Gould's recruitment is the best I have seen. the balls in showing a guy like Jennings the door has bought them two or three quality players for the price of one. Dean Whare has just gone into another league as player there. What a defender he is. Mansour is just pure class. Their time will come for the title.

Thats my concern with the likes of Brennan and Stone, can they attract and more importantly, keep players at the club.

Thats where Stone may have it over Brennan, players within our system already know him and that may be of benefit.

Wato

The key to our recruitment will be 2016. if Brennan is the coach as is rumoured, and we by some miracle get Koukash to own the joint ( by miracle I mean Knights fans in general being wise enough to see he and Tinkler are like Chalk and cheese) , then Brennan has about 12 months to show he is a coach going places. I hope by coaching under Cleary and Gould's mentor ship that Garth can be a wise and astute recruiter like Gould is. Gould's recruitment is the best I have seen. the balls in showing a guy like Jennings the door has bought them two or three quality players for the price of one. Dean Whare has just gone into another league as player there. What a defender he is. Mansour is just pure class. Their time will come for the title.

May see guys like Sam Anderson back at the knights in the short term also what ever happened to Matt Robinson looked a real good young prospect for Penrith.

Matty Moylan is a kid I would like to see us sign. He will however have plenty of interest. Moylan reminds me of Lockyer. He is something else.

slotmachine

Also before you pat Bennett on the back for the juniors, my mail is that he has zippo to do with them, leaving it to others like Stone. Is it more a case that with Tinklers money, we were able to hang onto more of the juniors than before hence the teams are across the board better?

Not so much "hanging onto" juniors, as buying up plenty from QLD and NZ.

Noname36

I want Bennett gone now but what if we send him on his way and he takes over the Broncos immediately and goes on to coach them to finals footy? That would piss me off...

The only benefit of getting rid of him now would be is if Stone is going to be the coach next year. Brennan couldn't come now and there's no point in bringing in stoney for a few weeks only to demote him again, we would get no benefit and that wouldn't be fair on him either. If Stoney is coach next year then fair enough, he can come in and try get a few wins, try bring in a bit of a much needed positive feel and a spring in the step for a big off season.

I can't help but think how different things could have turned out for us after Tinkler took control if Bennett didn't come. Imagine if he did go to Souths and we landed Madge Maguire instead. We might have been in a completely different position and killing it. Tinkler might have even still owned the club. I know him losing the club wasn't performance based and was financial but maybe he would have dug a little deeper to ensure that wouldn't happen if we were a chance of winning a premiership in the next couple of years. It was a bullet that we didn't dodge...

Yep. Only reason we should piss Bennett off now is if Stone is going to be coach next year. If not, there's absolutely no point. Like you said, Brennan is needed till the end of the year at Penrith and it would be a further slap in the face to Stone if we asked him to take over for the rest of the year but he wasn't getting the gig for 2014.

Also I don't really like the idea of paying Bennett while he gets a head start up at Brissy.

Alex28

Noddy saying he wants to coach isn't hiking to hold anything up - he won't be coach.

I'd be putting my cash on Garth Brennan. Announced sooner rather than later.

cram

Noddy saying he wants to coach isn't hiking to hold anything up - he won't be coach.

The Mole is on twitter saying it's Brennan, his mail is usually good.

Nuffy

It's going to be a few week at least. They haven't drawn up a short list, that's later this week.

Interviews next week and then a decision.

Burwood

An interesting interview between Rothfield and Bennett on the Foxsports website.

Buzz: I’ve written that you should leave Newcastle straight away so someone else can come in and start planning for next year.

Bennett: That’s (planning) already happening. We’re across all that and I’m not going anywhere right now. That’s why I told them I was leaving so they could get on with all that stuff.

Buzz: So you’re going to hang around until the end of the season.

Bennett: Yes I will. That was all agreed when I told them what I was doing.

Buzz: I’m suggesting they need a coach in there now who can plan and recruit for next year.

Bennett: I’m helping them do the recruiting. I’m working with Matt Gidley and Peter Mulholland, who is the full-time recruitment guy.

I knew I was going but I was part of the recruitment to keep Korbin Sims in Newcastle in the last couple of weeks.

Buzz: But if the boss of Kmart quits to go to Woolies, surely he’d leave straight away. This is the same thing except we’re talking about footy clubs.

Bennett: This is happening at footy clubs all the time. I’ve left three clubs in different parts of the season. I announced I was leaving the Dragons in about May of that year.

I told the Broncos in February and I told the Canberra Raiders in about June or July and then we played in a grand final.

Buzz: But that doesn’t mean it’s right.

Bennett: It’s the way football is. That’s why I told the Knights a couple of weeks ago. I’d rather not tell anybody what I’m doing but you’ve got to tell the clubs because of your point. So they can recruit. So they can be honest with the players.

Buzz: It’s a bit strange in my view that you can agree to work for a rival employer but stay with the old one for another six weeks while they are planning for next year.

Bennett : It’s strange because there’s no recruitment policy in the NRL. You have to do it this way.

We should be able to go to the end of the year and make our decisions. But because we’re recruiting all year, players are staying or going.

You can’t say you’re going to be staying here if you’re not.

Buzz: No one is saying you haven’t been upfront. I will never understand why you are staying for the rest of the year. Your job moving forward is to get the right roster for the Broncos.

Bennett: That’s right but people in Newcastle are working on recruitment and I’m working with them. OK. I’m not leaving these clubs all bitter and twisted. We’ve all got great relationships.

You do the right thing for each other. I don’t want to leave the club in disarray. That’s the last thing any coach wants to do.

Buzz: So you’ll wait until round 26 and then shoot through.

Bennett: That’s the deal and that’s what I’m doing. Same as (Anthony) Griffin will finish out the season in Brisbane. Neil Henry did the same last year at the Cowboys.

Buzz: There’s a bit of a difference. They were sacked and don’t have jobs to go to. We’ll have to agree to disagree.

Bennett: I didn’t have a job when I quit Newcastle either.

Buzz: Geez you’re going to have some fullbacks. Darius Boyd, Ben Barba, Josh Hoffman and Anthony Milford.

Bennett: Who said I’m taking Darius up. I’m not sure what he’s doing. Yeah, we’ve got plenty of fullbacks but that’s all down the track.

Buzz: Are the Knights going to put Rick Stone in?

Bennett: No. I don’t know what you guys get off on.

The Knights are going to interview three or four people and they’ll make a decision based on that sooner rather than later. It will be in the next two or three weeks.

Buzz: OK, good luck.

Would have liked Rothfield to ask if Bennett will be trying to recruit any current Newcastle players to Brisbane in 2015.

Nuffy

So based on that exchange, the signing announcement is Korbin Sims extending his contract, even though he was already signed for 2015.

I don't think Bennett would mix up Tariq and Korbin.

We might be heading for a major letdown if we think a big name is heading our way.