Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wayne Bennett recommended Steve Price didn't he?

Ronnie Dobbs

Henjack had a shocking first year, and was let go first few weeks of 2011.

Griffin did well last year and has opened well this year, but it's still early days and Origin hits Brisbane hard.

Melbourne took several years to play well under Bellamy; they were competitive but 2003 - 2005 they were competitive without being strong. We also know what happened in 2006 onwards.

Kearney has struggled at Parramatta, despite having a reasonable roster.

Tim Sheens first four years at Penrith, he won less than 50% of his games.

Michael Mcguire took hold of a pretty talented Wigan side, so his success is a bit warped. The indications with Souths are he's doing well, but again, he's also had a strong recruitment.

I think people have to realise coaching is not a 'start and succeed' type of venture here. Price has walked in with a much different squad and staff than Bennett had, and we can all safely say Bennett's success was due as much to him as it was to those around him. Folkes is no doubt doing his best, but the reality is these things take time.

For crying out loud, we won the fricken premiership two years ago and had three years of bloody good success! Not to mention the 2004, 2005 and 2006 seasons, which were also flippin' good under Brown. Sure, Browneye didn't get us over the line, but you'd think by the way people are talking right now we'd never won a game since 1979.

Give Price his three years. We owe him that. Some of the people on here want success at all costs and, frankly, success never works like that. It's crafted, people work hard for it, it's a time consuming process. Give Price his three years.

If people were so f**king passionate about the club, they'd concentrate on the front office and the issues there before they lynch club champions, rookie coaches and the freaking Dragons mascot.

Mate, very good post.

I've said multiple times that I'm happy to pay the price (no pun intended) for the premiership and that Coach Price was always on a hiding to nothing this year.

I'm happy to support him all the way.

But,

He deserves, not criticism, but scrutiny. He deserves scrutiny. I agree Saints fans tend to goo off their heads as soon as we lose. I can cop losing, so long as we're having a crack. We are having a crack.

I can cop a rebuild, so long as, during the rebuild, you can look at what you have, whats coming, whats working and what isn't.

Now would be the perfect time to start looking at what isn't working. It comes down to execution to a degree, so I get where they're coing from. But, in the glory years, our execution was down to set up plays to get into position. We don't do that as well any more. We don't have Boyd any more.

But, we keep on trying to do it in spite of its failings. Its at this point, right now, that I would like Steve to be thinking "This isn't going to take us forward. Lets have a look at this"

Instead, its the same thing over and over again, with the same result. Its past its use by date.

I'm fully behind Price, but now, RIGHT NOW, will show what he's got as a coach.

Is he willing to say "Fugg this. We're doing it my way. From scratch." Does he have the balls and does he have the nous to start again and to then see what works?

There will be pain and risk for him in the short term. I can cop that.

He won't be sacked. I can definitely cop that. He needs to be supported. I support him and so should we all. He needs time.

What he also needs, is do something to take us forward IMO.

Now's the time for him.

I personally doubt he can do it, but thats just my hunch.

I hope LIKE FUGG that he can.

Drew-Sta

Firstly, I stand corrected. It's 2 years, not 3. My apologies.

I suppose you're right Drew-Sta; lets just be content being a community based club. We can act as a feeder club for other teams. We will develop our juniors and other teams can take them. We can even develop rookie coaches who make 3-5 years worth of mistakes and then let other teams pick them up when they have served their time at Saints. Hey, your right, no need to sign McGuire when he was available (do you note how several players want to play with McGuire?). What a load of rubbish.

You are a wank, you know that?

You've not even listened or comprehended what I've written. All you've done is gone for the quick finish at the expense of long term success.

I loved Wayne Bennett. He epitomised everything I wanted in a coach and moulded the team into everything I wanted it to be. But do you know what? He may have been the worst thing to have happened to this club. Not because he coached us to three of the best seasons Saints have had in 30 odd years. Not because he turned our juniors into superstars. Not because he kept Doust busy in his front office and was grooming Price.

He might have been the worst thing for the club because he actually did what no other coach has done in 30 years and took us to a grand final and got us over the line. And the result? Fans have a tase of success and now feel ENTITLED to success. They're not willing to suffer the harships; they want another 11. In fact, they want 15. They want 20. They want 25 premierships in a row.

And that's f**king rank, mate. It's rank with so many problems it's not funny. It's the problem with society as it is now; always demanding immediate success and gratification and results according to it's childish emotions and when times get tough then the tears and the whinging and the rediculous character-assasination begins.

You're a wank, Rob. A f**king wank. Like every wanker, all you want is the happy feeling at the end without considering the work that goes into it. Keep pumping that wrist mate.

Fans like you are a blight on rugby league.

There is a cold wind blowing through the NRL as of today and its name is "private ownership". Tinkler will get it right at Newcastle. The Warriors are owned by a billionaire and they are a scary proposition and the Bronco's are scary wealthy as well. Unless you are run ruthlessly you will not compete. Fullstop. Whilst I loved 2010, I think it was a blip on the radar. Leadership, leadership, leadership. No where to be seen at Saints. Oh and as and aside, why do we have to settle for rebuilding years? We are St. George. We don't rebuild. We win ever other year; but not with this rabble running the place.

Case in point. We might be St George, mate, but this is 2012. Melbourne are the only team to achieve what you're saying and we all know how they went. Even Manly look to be on the slide now after Hasler has swapped sides.

And if you have a problem with the 'rabble' running our club, stop posting about it and get out there and DO something.

Ronnie Dobbs

You've not even listened or comprehended what I've written. All you've done is gone for the quick finish at the expense of long term success.

I loved Wayne Bennett. He epitomised everything I wanted in a coach and moulded the team into everything I wanted it to be. But do you know what? He may have been the worst thing to have happened to this club. Not because he coached us to three of the best seasons Saints have had in 30 odd years. Not because he turned our juniors into superstars. Not because he kept Doust busy in his front office and was grooming Price.

He might have been the worst thing for the club because he actually did what no other coach has done in 30 years and took us to a grand final and got us over the line. And the result? Fans have a tase of success and now feel ENTITLED to success. They're not willing to suffer the harships; they want another 11. In fact, they want 15. They want 20. They want 25 premierships in a row.

And that's f**king rank, mate. It's rank with so many problems it's not funny. It's the problem with society as it is now; always demanding immediate success and gratification and results according to it's childish emotions and when times get tough then the tears and the whinging and the rediculous character-assasination begins.

You're a wank, Rob. A f**king wank. Like every wanker, all you want is the happy feeling at the end without considering the work that goes into it. Keep pumping that wrist mate.

Case in point. We might be St George, mate, but this is 2012. Melbourne are the only team to achieve what you're saying and we all know how they went. Even Manly look to be on the slide now after Hasler has swapped sides.

And if you have a problem with the 'rabble' running our club, stop posting about it and get out there and DO something.

:lol::lol::lol:

Post of the year Drew.

Well said mate.

jenninga

Actually Henjak made the finals in his first year. I think they lost in the prelim final. Geez, what a failure!
Henjak was highly rated and would have had success that season ,but with Bennett a chance to return to Brisbane it would have been too embarrasing to sack Henjak at the end of the season.We can now see the talent at the Broncos that Henjak had to work with.

Elias1983

:clap::clap::clap:

Fans have a taste of success and now feel ENTITLED to success. They're not willing to suffer the hardships; they want another 11. In fact, they want 15. They want 20. They want 25 premierships in a row.

That's it in a nutshell.
Some people need to wake up, emerge from their Rip Van Winkle slumber, and realise it's not the sixties anymore. 11 in a row was achieved in a Sydney based, 10 team competition. And that's not to in any way detract from such a marvelous achievement. It won't be done again.
But to even achieve 1 premiership in what is a hugely more demanding, more competitive, fully professional competition that we have today, is certainly something to crow about.
And all those involved in delivering it deserve our gratitude.
Even if it was just "a blip" on some people's radar.

Elias1983

Mate, very good post.

I've said multiple times that I'm happy to pay the price (no pun intended) for the premiership and that Coach Price was always on a hiding to nothing this year.

I'm happy to support him all the way.

But,

He deserves, not criticism, but scrutiny. He deserves scrutiny. I agree Saints fans tend to goo off their heads as soon as we lose. I can cop losing, so long as we're having a crack. We are having a crack.

I can cop a rebuild, so long as, during the rebuild, you can look at what you have, whats coming, whats working and what isn't.

Now would be the perfect time to start looking at what isn't working. It comes down to execution to a degree, so I get where they're coing from. But, in the glory years, our execution was down to set up plays to get into position. We don't do that as well any more. We don't have Boyd any more.

But, we keep on trying to do it in spite of its failings. Its at this point, right now, that I would like Steve to be thinking "This isn't going to take us forward. Lets have a look at this"

Instead, its the same thing over and over again, with the same result. Its past its use by date.

I'm fully behind Price, but now, RIGHT NOW, will show what he's got as a coach.

Is he willing to say "Fugg this. We're doing it my way. From scratch." Does he have the balls and does he have the nous to start again and to then see what works?

There will be pain and risk for him in the short term. I can cop that.

He won't be sacked. I can definitely cop that. He needs to be supported. I support him and so should we all. He needs time.

What he also needs, is do something to take us forward IMO.

Now's the time for him.

I personally doubt he can do it, but thats just my hunch.

I hope LIKE FUGG that he can.

Two great posts in a row. Keep it coming!

Fire

Two great posts from Drew and Ronnie.

Gotta roll with the punches, support your team through thick and thin. Gotta be a f**ken hard merkin too and take the good with the bad.

Rob Dragon

Drew-Sta, I won't respond with a personal attack on your character. I don't know you personally and you may well be a very decent fellow. Further I would not wish to offend a fellow St.George supporter. I think this forum should be used to share views and exchange thoughts and ideas. Unfortunately at times it does desend into personal slanging matches.

Seeking instant success? I am not sure that is achievable in any endeavor in life. I stand by all the opinions I have stated; and I very much hope to be proved wrong in the next year or so; but I don't believe I will be.

As an aside, I find it interesting having my loyalty to this great club questioned. My oldest son found me outside after the 2010 GF in tears and he asked me if I was alright and I told him that my team was handed down to me by my father, and in turn I hand it down to all of my children, and that in the year of my fathers death in 2010, I know how much we would have loved to have been with us watching; and so whilst I was delirious to have seen us win, the win was achieved without my father sitting next to me. Drew-Sta, you need to think about things before you post them mate. Opinions are great, personal attacks are pretty ordinary.

Bring back choc

That's it in a nutshell.
Some people need to wake up, emerge from their Rip Van Winkle slumber, and realise it's not the sixties anymore. 11 in a row was achieved in a Sydney based, 10 team competition. And that's not to in any way detract from such a marvelous achievement. It won't be done again.
But to even achieve 1 premiership in what is a hugely more demanding, more competitive, fully professional competition that we have today, is certainly something to crow about.
And all those involved in delivering it deserve our gratitude.
Even if it was just "a blip" on some people's radar.

Wayne bennett gave us all the tools to be a great club. To be a club that does demand success. We have thrown it all in the bin. He even said it himself in his press conference the other day. He said he's not at Newcastle so they can be 8th every year. He wants to create a club and culture that's similar to Brisbane and Melbourne... Always good. Always strong. Always successful.

I note he didn't use saints as an example.
There's plenty of other clubs that are handling success better than us.
Why should we go through 3 years of missing the finals. We have been given the tools. We saw what works. We have f**ked it.

Ronnie Dobbs

Wayne bennett gave us all the tools to be a great club. To be a club that does demand success. We have thrown it all in the bin. He even said it himself in his press conference the other day. He said he's not at Newcastle so they can be 8th every year. He wants to create a club and culture that's similar to Brisbane and Melbourne... Always good. Always strong. Always successful.

Why should we go through 3 years of missing the finals. We have been given the tools. We saw what works. We have f**ked it.

Oh no. Wayne didn't mention us.

Who said anything about 3 years of missing finals being acceptable? Do you think we'll miss the finals the next three years?

Brisbane - missed the finals in 2010. Last won a comp 6 years ago. Had one of the greatest players ever,an entire states best young guys to choose from, along with unlimited $$$$$$$$$$$$$

Melbourne - Haven't won a comp since 99. Have two of the greatest players of all time and bought disgrace to the game. Oh, they also have unlimited $$$$$$$$$$$$.

Newcastle - Won 1 and a half comps with THE GREATEST PLAYER EVER. Have been a basket case since and have constantly bought disgrace to the game.

But hey, we are 6-7 18 months after winning a GF.

You are a moron.

Godz Illa

Bennett's "tools" are not working too well at the moment. Maybe, just maybe, he walked into a pretty good situation when he joined our club. Maybe the club had been leading the right path when he joined it. Maybe we'd built the core of a side that went close to winning a couple of comps, beaten by a combination of things. Maybe we're building that core again

Plenty? The Panthers? The Roosters? The Dogs? They've won comps AND all had wooden spoons in the past ten years.

Brisbane, Storm and Newie have already been summarised by Ronnie.

WTF do you mean by plenty of other clubs?????

Godz Illa

Wests Tigers? Couldnt make a finals series for 4 years after winning the comp! And they had the likes of Benji and Farah in their squad the while time.

We've missed one finals series since 2003. What other club can say that (without cheating). Brisbane? And we've both won the same amount of comps.

Drew-Sta, I won't respond with a personal attack on your character.
With respect Rob, Drew simply picked up on your 'wanker' passive aggressive response when you started putting words into his mouth. He simply used words to get to the crux of your intentions.

Heat in the kitchen and all that. If you want to play that game, don't get cranky when it comes back at you.

FTR, you lost me when you made up some conspiracy theory. I asked if you were fair dinkum, and I was hoping it was just a joke. But you said you only wanted to start some controversy. So by your own admission, you weren't being honest and were looking to be divisive.

Each to their own I suppose, but it seems like you didn't start your argument on good foundations.

W.Smith

we do come accross as a spoiled bunch 'eh ? Lol - coz this club has nearly always given us hope for high xpectations

i reckon Gordy Tallis hit the nail on the head on NRL Xtra on Monday night when he spoke of coaches needing time, he even mentioned how Benny was nearly given the spear early on at the Bronc's and as has been pointed out Pricey is only half a season into the boss job and i think he has made some decisions and changes in selections and tactics that has shown he is working at it and finding his way under his coaching staff which is a near new one since Benny took most his team with him up the F5

the Price will be right

Drew-Sta

EVERY club demands success. EVERY club wants to win. EVERY club is out there TRYING to win. What, do you think the GC, Souths, Wests, NQ etc turn up to play like it's a social competition? You muppet. You absolute muppet. You keep crying out 'We want success!!' without ANY concept of how to GET the success, nor the effort that goes into it. You're oblivious to the training, the mix of age and youth, the mix of juniors and recruited. You have no more idea of what it is to craft success at a football club than your next door neighbour.

Of f**king course Wayne Bennett isn't at Newcastle to come 8th. Do you think he came to Saints to come 8th? Do you think Price is keen to snag 8th position this year?

"Well guys, we did it! You can be proud of yourselves, we achieved 8th! Woo hoo!"

That's not what he's looking for you dish rag. He wants the trophy, like we all do.

St George have ALWAYS been a strong club. We've ALWAYS had comparitive success. The problem is the success has never been rewarded with the prize for 30 years until Bennett arrived. We've missed the finals 3 years since 1999, with at least 5 of those years (2005, 2006, 2009, 2010, 2011) having Saints being a really strong candidate for the GF. We took one, and fell short on the others. Are you blind to this? Do you just ignore these facts? The ONLY other teams that have had this success is Melbourne (Who breached the Salary Cap) and Brisbane, who have a major advantage that Ronnie has identified. The Roosters did well to hit 4 GF's in 5 years (2000, 2002, 2003, 2004) but they missed the semi's in 05-07, a wooden spoon in 09 and were 11th in 2011. Are we like that? Have we won a wooden spoon lately? Hell no.

The success we want, which is the continued success of the club as it has been going, is a continuous process. We need to keep crafting, keep building. My one BIG complaint, which as Father Ted has noted, is the board and I was a part of a group trying to fix that. We failed, to the detriment of the club in our opinion.

I want the board to change. I want the Dousts and Robinsons and the rest of those idiots out. I want a strong business running in the Leagues club, I want the footy side reaching the finals and winning premierships every 5 or so years. I want that. But I also know there will be years where things go wrong; injuries, suspensions, player morale dropping. I want the success of this club to be about how we recover from these periods, not who we blame when they happen.

THAT'S success, in my mind. Because it shows character and pride and loyalty and spirit which other clubs crave. Wayne Bennett kenw that. He played on it. That's why we on in 2010 and went so close in 2009. He used what was already there and brought it to the forefront. The Dousts of the board shield it. Have you ever thought about that?

So Wayne Bennett doesn't mention us in an interview, so we must be unsuccessful. Do you hear what you're saying?

We have NOT gone through 3 years of missing the finals. In fact, we haven't yet ARRIVED at the finals yet. We're 14 rounds in you muppet. We're 14 ROUNDS in. Even IF Price misses the finals, we will be achieving what Melbourne did in 2009 and Brisbane did in 2010 - Some f**king success they are if they've missed the finals in the last 3 years and we've been contesting!

Grow up, BBC. You're getting tiresome and I'm sick to death of the cancer you're spreading amongst supporters.

We're not doing well. I get it. Everyone does. But FFS, change your tune mate. You're worse to listen to than Justin Bieber on loop in an elevator.