Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

WC 1st Semi Final: India v New Zealand - Manchester 9/7/19 (NZ won by 18 runs)

edabomb

This match is very similar to our 99 semi, except we've gone even slower. We lost that one by 9 wickets.

I just can't understand what the mindset was after scoring tempo has been our undoing in the last few matches. Why did we come out with the exact same mindset of taking it long rather than be proactive?

Dave's mate

This match is very similar to our 99 semi, except we've gone even slower. We lost that one by 9 wickets.

I just can't understand what the mindset was after scoring tempo has been our undoing in the last few matches. Why did we come out with the exact same mindset of taking it long rather than be proactive?
The side might still have mental scars from Brendon McCullum playing the most selfish shot in cricket history?

If the pitch was hard to play, the extra day may just help the kiwis. Could only get worse.

Weather is bad in the morning, with spots of afternoon rain. Maybe a T20 coming up

AlwaysGreen

A reduced game actually helps the kiwis. A 20 over game target was 148, which considering they scored 211 in nearly 50 is a ridiculous but that's DLS for you.

JJ

I think it's pretty clear that the wicket and bowling wasn't conducive to being terribly proactive - Williamson and Taylor are both world class and they struggled... If they'd have been aggressive I reckon we're rolled for 140... seemed like conditions demanded ongoing assessment, and accelerating was difficult...

If the wicket stays the same, we might have a chance

TBH I hope we've seen the end of Munro and probably Guptill too- time to move on... Nicholls not the answer opening (but presumably will take Taylor's spot when he decides he's done - time to try some other options - Phillips, Seifert, Bruce, whoever - not many obvious opening candidates, but Munro is a flog, and Guptill streaky and looking past it at the moment... for the most part might have well opened with Williamson and Taylor - people will criticize Williamson's tournament strike rate - but look at the context (2 for f**k all, difficult wickets, unlucky runouts) - he's been unbelievable with the bat... as captain not so much, but he has a chance tomorrow to be more aggressive, he has to - we need to bowl them out - can't let them do what he let Australia do

shiznit

The side might still have mental scars from Brendon McCullum playing the most selfish shot in cricket history?
The most selfish shot in cricket history?? :joy::joy:

That was just a Sunday afternoon for McCullum...

If that was the most selfish shot in cricket history then he played one of those about 6 or 7 times every innings of substance... :joy::joy:

The only thing here is it didn’t come off... but that was the nature of him as an opener.

The problem was the rest of the team didn’t have their skipper’s back and meekly rolled over.

Reactions: JJ
A reduced game actually helps the kiwis. A 20 over game target was 148, which considering they scored 211 in nearly 50 is a ridiculous but that's DLS for you.

It’s not totally ridiculous. Going after 148 knowing you have 10 wickets in hand for 20 overs is a lot easier than compiling 148 quickly in a 50 over game. The openers can take risks.

edabomb

I think it's pretty clear that the wicket and bowling wasn't conducive to being terribly proactive - Williamson and Taylor are both world class and they struggled... If they'd have been aggressive I reckon we're rolled for 140... seemed like conditions demanded ongoing assessment, and accelerating was difficult...

If the wicket stays the same, we might have a chance

TBH I hope we've seen the end of Munro and probably Guptill too- time to move on... Nicholls not the answer opening (but presumably will take Taylor's spot when he decides he's done - time to try some other options - Phillips, Seifert, Bruce, whoever - not many obvious opening candidates, but Munro is a flog, and Guptill streaky and looking past it at the moment... for the most part might have well opened with Williamson and Taylor - people will criticize Williamson's tournament strike rate - but look at the context (2 for f**k all, difficult wickets, unlucky runouts) - he's been unbelievable with the bat... as captain not so much, but he has a chance tomorrow to be more aggressive, he has to - we need to bowl them out - can't let them do what he let Australia do

It was brilliant bowling but we did nothing to challenge them. We just sat back in the crease and allowed them to dictate to us. It was definitely slow and up and down, but it wasn't moving sideways off the surface consistently. If they judged it to be a 240 wicket on the fly I think they'll be proven wrong tonight.

We've made pitches look like minefields against Pakistan, Australia and England where the opposition had few issues. Attitude is a huge part of that IMO.

JJ

He's gone ok but continues to play within himself. Take a risk or two now and then Kane, it won't dent your record too much.
I can only conclude you haven't seen much of him bat

And Taylor who few would criticise is that way batted at the same pace...

We can't all be Glenn Maxwell

Iafeta

Is that pitch really that bad? It looked like they’d assessed 220 would be a cracking score on it. Yes it looked slow as hell and near impossible to hit in front of the wicket but they weren’t rotating the strike either.

I’m sure Taylor walked out with a seeing eye dog. The way he was batting it was like a day 47 Delhi pitch.

Iafeta

It was brilliant bowling but we did nothing to challenge them. We just sat back in the crease and allowed them to dictate to us. It was definitely slow and up and down, but it wasn't moving sideways off the surface consistently. If they judged it to be a 240 wicket on the fly I think they'll be proven wrong tonight.

We've made pitches look like minefields against Pakistan, Australia and England where the opposition had few issues. Attitude is a huge part of that IMO.

Well that’s the thing. Williamson I thought may have been fine. The others can be brainless boundary plunderers but he has real touch. But even he wasn’t looking to turn a few singles over. He’s usually very good with his footwork but aside from one occasion he wasn’t getting down the wicket either.

Taylor he was just off his rocks with the forward defence his only shot.

I think India will win this match, kiwis were a little conservative , whilst the deck isnt a concrete belter they really needed a few more runs, they could have scored from a lot of deliveries eg pushed for a single, but they just Chris Tavare blocked endlessly

Will be interesting if the deck gets a bit more bounce and movement from yesterday due to the rain and conditions. I said earlier 250 could be a winning total. Hopefully Boult and Locky can cause some early damage , seems their only chance

My call :- India to win. Kiwis wish they had another 20 runs on the board

lockyno1

Is that pitch really that bad? It looked like they’d assessed 220 would be a cracking score on it. Yes it looked slow as hell and near impossible to hit in front of the wicket but they weren’t rotating the strike either.

I’m sure Taylor walked out with a seeing eye dog. The way he was batting it was like a day 47 Delhi pitch.

240 would be a winning score imo last night. There was turn (heck Jadeja was turning it square), swing, and seam. Even Williamson wasn't really batting with any fluency. Tough pitch. You get 230, it's defendable. You'll need early wickets from Boult though.