Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

"we don’t play for penalties..."

...but we should. Manly do it. Souffs do it. Cronulla do it. We should start doing it too and regain the penalty balance.

A furious Trent Robinson has blasted leading referee Ben Cummins following his side’s 11-2 hammering in the penalty count in the Roosters 8-0 loss to Manly on Friday night. Robinson labelled Cummins’ performance as “unacceptable”. Cummins was assisted by Gavin Reynolds.
“It was unacceptable from Ben Cummins,” Robinson said. “There were so many instances in that game. Boyd Cordner gets called for third man in – pocket ref says OK. He has talked to Jamie Buhrer about being offside on the first tackle of the scrum on two occasions – well penalise it.
“Mitchell Pearce gets hit high off a kick – that’s a penalty. These are very simple rules.
“You can’t have a game 11-2 against us and have those infractions in the game.
"They need to give a good explanation as to why that was the case.
“They worked against each other.
“I’m happy with different rulings, but I can’t answer why we aren’t receiving penalties.”
Robinson backed the video referees' decision to deny Daniel Tupou a try that may had drawn the scores level inside the final 10 minutes. Mitchell Pearce was ruled to have run behind a decoy runner, obstructing the defenders.
““We don’t lie down,” Robinson said. “We don’t lie down, we don’t play for penalties.
“We might be wrong, but that’s our ethic. We don’t play for penalties.
“We openly talk about it. We are not going to lie down. We are going to stand up and keep fighting. We will let the footy gods decide. It’s not in the spirit of the game.”
Despite the loss, Robinson described the match as the Roosters best defensive effort of this season.
Meanwhile, Robinson anticipated prop Jared Waerea-Hargreaves wouldn’t have a case to answer despite being placed on report for his shoulder coming into contact with Glenn Stewart’s head. The blow left Stewart concussed and unable to return to the field.
“It wasn’t even close to a shoulder charge,” Robinson said. ““It was in the right timing and it was unfortunate that Glenn couldn’t come back but it was in the motion [of a tackle].”
LINK

It wouldn't change anything. They would just find another reason not to penalise our opposition

jono

Funny how Manly got the rub if the green two weeks in a row......
just sayin'......

Jack_Napier

Robbo should go for it in the pressers every week like he did last night. Might cost $10k here or there. Sitting silent and hoping it turns clearly hasn't worked for as long a I can remember.

Headless Chook

I have always felt Robbo kept his emotions in check pretty well at post game interviews. A no excuses policy if you will. The Storm game last year springs to mind when Slater knocked on twice in the one play . Didn't blow up at the presser but instead said we should have protected our line and not let them them score ( or words to that effect)

But seriously, what we were dished up against Manly by the refs, it's totally understandable why he vented his spleen and would test even the most composed or diplomatic coach.

But enough is enough.

The Eagle

I like the part where he talked about Friend who pushed 2 markers 10 metres trying to win his team a penalty, Friend lacks the running speed to worry offside markers enough to get tackled prematurely

H.H

I like the part where he talked about Friend who pushed 2 markers 10 metres trying to win his team a penalty, Friend lacks the running speed to worry offside markers enough to get tackled prematurely
Really? You should review the tape of our round 2 clash last year...as a start.

BCH

"We don't play for penalties..." - well it's working because we certainly don't get many...

The Eagle

Really? You should review the tape of our round 2 clash last year...as a start.

That tape lacks relevance to today,that was last year and i've moved forward into DVDs now,i don't own a vhs anymore.....

If we go back to say round 2-4 2011 when we played we look like the toughest team any SOB had ever breathed breath into,but in the here and now in the 2014 season it's for nil and the scoreboard's have ticked back to zero and now forward to 8-0

Point being Friend played for a penalty,when he was the one who was spoken of as if he'd never played for a penalty in roosters colors,every team trys to "earn" penalties both fairly and underhandedly,Matai is the king of winning a marker penalty and Choc is good for scabbing a good strip penalty by "accidentally" dropping it

There could have been more than 2 penalties given to your blokes on the night,probably 5 to 8 added on to the tally with slowing down in the ruck the main culprit,but at the same time we could've gotten 15 to 20 so it kind of evens out wouldn't you say? BOTH teams done a few ILLEGAL 3rd man in tackles,i noticed your blokes do about 5 but at no speed,the one you were pinged for had some sort of force in it so i'd be assuming that its going to be another grey area rule which is something the game needs less of,that said cannonballs need to be finished

Manly vs Roosters will continue to be pricks of games for both sets of fans to watch,hopefully now you'll return to being our bitches again...please

BCH

...but at the same time we could've gotten 15 to 20 so it kind of evens out wouldn't you say?

But according to the "experts" we are giving away penalties deliberately so if we were penalised more often then we would have been gaining more of an advantage...:sarcasm:

Chook

It stands to reason if we don't play for penalties, then we don't have a deliberate strategy to give them away, despite what the fox sports "drips under pressure" have to say.

Ben merkinims should be sacked for this week. It'd be interesting to know if and what we sent to NRL HQ about Friday night and what the response was.

Chook.

Chook

Expect another reaming this Friday night as we've got Shayne "Bunniesman" Hayne in the drivers seat and he will crucify us.

Chook.

The dogs have conceded 33 penalties in 4 games this year with an average of just over 8. What odds that they dont concede any more then 4 this Friday night?

The Eagle

The dogs have conceded 33 penalties in 4 games this year with an average of just over 8. What odds that they dont concede any more then 4 this Friday night?

Guess the whinge and whine works for some coaches,should've been fined $10k oh but i guess Greenberg likes the roosters

We should be asking for our money back

BeeeeeRad

You reckon it may have had something to do with this being his first time calling out the refs in his NRL career, as opposed to a club such as yours with its last 2 coaches carrying on like total dickheads, sounding like broken records after each loss? Not to mention it was such a f**king terribly reffed game they would have been taking the piss with any further punishment.