Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

We don't need a Stormy night!

Casper The Ghost

I hated their dull, grindy style of play long before it was revealed they were cheating the cap.

f**king grapple tackles, holding down, high percentage, low risk football with all their tries scored either through weight of possession or flashes of brilliance from Slater and Inglis.

It's been terrible football to watch and if the NRL is guilty of anything it's hanging onto outdated rules that reward possession and punish risk.

The Storm are boring to watch for everybody bar their fans. St George is heading down the same path.

And for you to Poupou:clap::clap::clap:

Has probably already been said, but I thought emails from the club to members resulted in posts/threads being deleted here at LU...?

On Osborne's email, I thought it was a gee up when I received it. Seems there's a lot of sympathy for the Storm about in league circles - first Gus when it was all unfolding, and now a push by our club to tone down natural crowd responses to a cheating side. There was nothing wrong with what the Canberra crowd did when Melbourne played there, nothing at all imo.

Osborne and his silly little message and his extra security guards can all take a good hard look at themselves... I'll be bringing my wooden spoon ready to wave at the Storm and be willing to chant "cheaters" at them all night long :D. Throw me out of the ground for that and you won't get a Membership next year, Osborne.

What is was noting that Mr Price's comments appear to be completely to the counter of Mr Osborne's.

Now Mr Osborne works for Mr Price, so either they are doing good cop bad cop, in if they are they are doing it badly, or someone forgot to get everyone on side before the message went out to members.
Yes, something clearly went wrong in the communications there this week... hard for Sevens to stick up for both gents at once when they are doing opposite things.

On Osborne's email, I thought it was a gee up when I received it. Seems there's a lot of sympathy for the Storm about in league circles - first Gus when it was all unfolding, and now a push by our club to tone down natural crowd responses to a cheating side. There was nothing wrong with what the Canberra crowd did when Melbourne played there, nothing at all imo.

Osborne and his silly little message and his extra security guards can all take a good hard look at themselves... I'll be bringing my wooden spoon ready to wave at the Storm and be willing to chant "cheaters" at them all night long :D. Throw me out of the ground for that and you won't get a Membership next year, Osborne.
i think if it was more of the same as in canberra he wouldnt mind it so much but with emotions running high if a lot of people go off half cocked it could turn ugly he's trying to calm things down but going too far the other way in my opinion why shouldnt we be fkn ropable over whats happened to us we have far more right than canberra as far as im concerned

hard for Sevens to stick up for both gents at once when they are doing opposite things.

How about Mortimer's backflip on the Footy Show tonight? He actually used the word 'revenge' and I don't believe for a minute that he ever says anything in public that isn't first vetted by the club's PR department.

Maybe the club/Osborne have realised they misread fan/member/public opinion, and f**ked up with their little plea to Members earlier in the week?

An easy mistake to make when you're cooped up in "footyland" all week, and only mixing with players and staff moreso than the public or fans. Hopefully he'll learn from these mistakes. Good on Pricey for summing up how the majority of people (still) feel about this Storm debacle. Let them play (to keep the TV rights holders happy) while they are still an illegal squad, but if you've taken the premierships off them, take the trophy away from them too!

Sangreal 86

So are you saying the Storm where the better side last year and won it fair and square???

The one rule that I will look at is the following taken from the NRL site

http://www.nrl.com/news/news/newsar...d/58360/nrl-salary-cap-explained/default.aspx

The NRL Salary Cap for 2010 is $4.1m for the 25 highest paid players at each club. If each player was paid an equal amount, they would get $164,000 each.
Each club can exercise its discretion in relation to how much individual players are paid, providing that total payments do not exceed the $4.1m cap.
In addition to the $4.1m Salary Cap for top 25 players, each club may spend up to an additional $350,000 on players outside the top 25 who play in the NRL competition.
Firstly it assists in “spreading the playing talent” so that a few better resourced clubs cannot simply out-bid not so well resourced teams for all of the best players. The NRL believes that if a few clubs were able to spend unlimited funds that it would reduce the attraction of games to fans, sponsors and media partners due to an uneven competition. Allowing clubs to spend an unlimited amount on players would drive some clubs out of the competition as they would struggle to match the prices wealthy clubs could afford to pay.
Another reason for the cap is to ensure clubs are not put into a position where they are forced to spend more money than they can afford, in terms of player payments, just to be competitive.

The Storm are in breach of the salary cap, and due to this breach have gained an unfair advantage, I'm not interested in the past 9 years of the premierships, I'm simply stating I do not agree with your conclusion that Parra was beaten by the better team and should retain the championship.

Correct the players are under contract, but the Storm have to shed some $700000 off next years cap which could mean player contracts can be broken. There has been some talk in the media as of late that Storm players are willing to take pay cuts to stick together, and this is where my comment comes in with giving them the finger, if the players fill so hard done by they should move on and show their frustration towards the Melbourne club.

Yes the Storm were the best on the day, and obviously the better side last year, end of story. We could and should of won that game, Storm are the premiers and in my opinion that is that. This is New's doing, not the players or the fans.

On the rules Joey, go to the part on how players are valued by the NRL if they have represented, then go through the last 10 premiership teams.

NRL will not allow players to take a pay cut to come under the cap, David Gallop has stated that this team will not stay together, players have to move on to come under the cap.

I dont think they will have that problem, as I have heard 2 of Storms forwards have gone to Canterbury already, the young prop and the Kiwi second rower.

Joey put yourself in these players position, sticking your finger up at the hand that feeds you is a very dangerous game.

Sangreal 86

Yet we are supposed to believe that News Ltd standards are so poor that a subsidiary company can siphon off $2 million dollars over 4 years and nobody noticed.

Stuff the cheats, the company that owns them, the players that benefited and anyone else involved.

I feel sorry for the fans - but if they turn up to matches to support these cheats then they are deluded as well as ripped off.

You all keep blaming the players......barking up the wrong tree.

Their fans are as passionate as ours mate, they are not deluded, yes cheated.

Keep sticking up for the players Terry, they need you as they have very little real public support.

Astonished how Bellamy escapes criticism as well. To think that they had even made offers to Mason before he went north. What a f**king joke.

Anyway, we get to play the $5.1m team again tonight. Oh what fun. :roll:

Sangreal 86

If the suggestion of unlimited club-assisted sponsorship comes in then it'll advantage teams that can rake in higher value sponsors. They can sign up the best players and best prospects using a higher percentage of sponsor dollars and less of their own money. As the rules currently stand the competition would then quickly become lopsided with the Roosters, Souths, Brisbane, Gold Coast all at the top and Canberra, Newcastle, Cowboys and like at the bottom. In fact as the rules stand, adding in unlimited sponsorship, Thurston could sign with a team for minimum wage and top up with $800k of sponsors, with only the $55k counting to the cap.

If the NRL relaxes sponsorship rules too far, they'll have to bring in further rules to ensure at least a semblance of spreading talent across the competition. Rules like salary levelling (e.g. international can't have salary less than $300k, SOO player can't have salary less than $200k) and junior base protection. We are already pillaged by every other club and have to fight to keep Haynes and Caylesses and future Haynes and Caylesses, how would we feel if we couldn't even fight to keep these players because a Roosters can come in and promise them a $1m sponsorship deal from a huge Sydney business but we can't match them because that sponsor will only pay them if they play for the Roosters?

In all honesty, I can't see them deciding to make a change, and even if they did I don't think anyone at the NRL is smart enough to make the correct changes.

That said I agree with you partially on abusing the Storm players. The heckling shouldn't have to do anything with them cheating us last year, it should just have to do with the fact they wear a jersey which isn't Parra's and therefore should be justly booed and jeered when they make a mistake... all part of football

The example you have given in your second paragraph on rules, are already in place, representative players are valued under the cap at a set figure even if their contract is less.

There is a lot you say that is correct, we cannot have clubs going off and loading up on internationals as Manly did years ago, and still did'nt win, but clubs should be able to retain their juniors.

The cap can be tuned up and be raised if an IC had control, and if News were fair dinkum in the share that should be distributed to all clubs.

Its a complex mess when one of our teams come unstuck which is owned by the mob who owns us and runs us.........SECURITY.

fish eel

the players are the public face of this club that deliberately cheated every other club and every NRL supporter for a number of year.

They are the public face and representatives of a club that are still not playing on a level playing field.

They are fair game for supporters of other clubs.

Stuff 'em. I dont feel one bit of sympathy.

What can never be taken away from them if the feeling they had when the fulltime siren went last October in the GF. A feeling they were never entitled to have.

Stuff 'em.

Sangreal 86

If you think I am upset at Ray then you are completely of the mark. Which as I have told you personally happens more often then not I am sorry to say. You seem to read personal hatred into my posts where none exists, I am as I have said again and again pointed out that the article quoting Ray in effect means the club is sending mixed messages in light of the letter from Ozzy.

If Ray was upset about the article, here is a tip don't answer the phone. If I am not mistaken it is the same Jurno who use to have Fitzy "throw him a bone" during the Summer and wrote the infamous article that contained the "Wont be here in 5 years quote". It is a simple answer, no comment.

Our fans will be stressing their disdain for the club as a whole, those that administered it and those that currently represent it. I don't know what I will be doing, most probably the same as normal, Putting on my Sports Ears and listening to the ref and the call.

You want to get the message through to News, here is a tip we had a chance at the start of the year in speaking with the NSWRL AGM, and hearing what they had to say about the IC, what happened, we no one from our club turned up, Not one elected official of either the football club or the leagues club went, so if we are reduced to people power to get our message across then we have lost an opportunity. If you want to get the message across ensure that Ozzy is speaking with Gallop and Carr about the IC and how it is progressing.[/

Whose being precious now Mark.

Ron Hilditch was going to represent the club at that meeting, but a personal family matter at last minute would not allow him to attend, and everyone else was detained with their own business. Denis was the only person to bring that up at the PDRL AGM and now your beating the same drum......spooky.

Parra Steve

The players are pretty much the only people we can take our frustrations out on, what are we going to do go down to Melbourne to their head offices and booo their executives that were to blame for thiss.

the players are the public face of this club that deliberately cheated every other club and every NRL supporter for a number of year.

They are the public face and representatives of a club that are still not playing on a level playing field.

They are fair game for supporters of other clubs.

Stuff 'em. I dont feel one bit of sympathy.

What can never be taken away from them if the feeling they had when the fulltime siren went last October in the GF. A feeling they were never entitled to have.

Stuff 'em.

word! :cool:

Sangreal 86

Yet if Billy signed a contact with Holden, Ford, Kia, Hyundai or any other car marque that wasn't sponsoring the club his personal endorsement could be unlimited. Don't blame the salary cap for the piss poor work of player agents.

No Mark you are very very wrong.

the NRL has to put something in place to MAKE it the players (and/or their managers) responsibility to be aware of exactly what they NRL is valuing them at in the cap and all the payments that go into that ..... THEN its on their heads when sh*t happens and there's no copping out of it ..... i reckon there'd be a bit less rorting going on

Sangreal 86

:clap::clap::clap: Well said Terry. Because I have learnt how the real mechanics of the establishment come together to control society, the powers that be pull the strings of their marionettes who perform at arms length on their behalf. Many men and women, and there are billions globally, know something is wrong but can't seem to put their finger on what it is. They know there is a powerful cabal of men and women who control governments, private corporations, political parties, banks, insurance, companies etc. Our Rugby League, particularly the NRL is completely controlled by this brotherhood/sisterhood of men and women whose allegiance to their order excludes the best interests of the players, fans and most of the labourers who work, free or not, for the game they love so much. Fox is controlled by this cabal which Rupert is part of.

Look at America. the U.S.A. has had over 200 years of elections, parties coming and going, coming and going and coming and going, new policies and promises coming and going, coming and going and coming and going, but the situation for most men and women just gets worse and worse. We could say the same for Australia. Until we all get together and chuck the whole corrupt system in the bin, men and women will continue to be lied to and done over. The grass roots of Rugby League is the working class and this heart and soul of Rugby League needs to rise up and and take back THEIR game from the greedy, selfish, tiny few, who want all the power and control of the world for their own glory. Things are not what they seem.

Extracts From JFK Speech on Secret Societies
And Freedom of the Press

Links to the video and full text are at the bottom of this posting.

The President and the Press: Address before the American Newspaper Publishers Association
President John F. Kennedy
Waldorf-Astoria Hotel
New York City, April 27, 1961

The very word "secrecy" is repugnant in a free and open society; and we are as a people inherently and historically opposed to secret societies, to secret oaths and to secret proceedings. We decided long ago that the dangers of excessive and unwarranted concealment of pertinent facts far outweighed the dangers which are cited to justify it. Even today, there is little value in opposing the threat of a closed society by imitating its arbitrary restrictions.

Even today, there is little value in insuring the survival of our nation if our traditions do not survive with it. And there is very grave danger that an announced need for increased security will be seized upon by those anxious to expand its meaning to the very limits of official censorship and concealment. That I do not intend to permit to the extent that it is in my control. And no official of my Administration, whether his rank is high or low, civilian or military, should interpret my words here tonight as an excuse to censor the news, to stifle dissent, to cover up our mistakes or to withhold from the press and the public the facts they deserve to know.

But I do ask every publisher, every editor, and every newsman in the nation to reexamine his own standards, and to recognize the nature of our country's peril. In time of war, the government and the press have customarily joined in an effort based largely on self-discipline, to prevent unauthorized disclosures to the enemy. In time of "clear and present danger," the courts have held that even the privileged rights of the First Amendment must yield to the public's need for national security.

Today no war has been declared--and however fierce the struggle may be, it may never be declared in the traditional fashion. Our way of life is under attack. Those who make themselves our enemy are advancing around the globe. The survival of our friends is in danger. And yet no war has been declared, no borders have been crossed by marching troops, no missiles have been fired.

If the press is awaiting a declaration of war before it imposes the self-discipline of combat conditions, then I can only say that no war ever posed a greater threat to our security. If you are awaiting a finding of "clear and present danger," then I can only say that the danger has never been more clear and its presence has never been more imminent.

It requires a change in outlook, a change in tactics, a change in missions--by the government, by the people, by every businessman or labor leader, and by every newspaper. For we are opposed around the world by a monolithic and ruthless conspiracy that relies primarily on covert means for expanding its sphere of influence--on infiltration instead of invasion, on subversion instead of elections, on intimidation instead of free choice, on guerrillas by night instead of armies by day. It is a system which has conscripted vast human and material resources into the building of a tightly knit, highly efficient machine that combines military, diplomatic, intelligence, economic, scientific and political operations.

Its preparations are concealed, not published. Its mistakes are buried, not headlined. Its dissenters are silenced, not praised. No expenditure is questioned, no rumor is printed, no secret is revealed. It conducts the Cold War, in short, with a war-time discipline no democracy would ever hope or wish to match.

Nevertheless, every democracy recognizes the necessary restraints of national security--and the question remains whether those restraints need to be more strictly observed if we are to oppose this kind of attack as well as outright invasion.

Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=haZIaIF5BZY

Full text located here: http://www.jfklibrary.org/Historica...s/JFK/003POF03NewspaperPublishers04271961.htm

Amen!!

Sangreal 86

I hated their dull, grindy style of play long before it was revealed they were cheating the cap.

f**king grapple tackles, holding down, high percentage, low risk football with all their tries scored either through weight of possession or flashes of brilliance from Slater and Inglis.

It's been terrible football to watch and if the NRL is guilty of anything it's hanging onto outdated rules that reward possession and punish risk.

The Storm are boring to watch for everybody bar their fans. St George is heading down the same path.

Yes that would be called modern day rugby league, and how to win a premiership.

Sangreal 86

Yes, something clearly went wrong in the communications there this week... hard for Sevens to stick up for both gents at once when they are doing opposite things.

Ozzie has duty of care Bart, Ray has a soapbox on hand everywhere he goes, not happy with the misquotes from his conversations with a redheaded scribe.

Lastly Bart, please stop listening to Mits's conspiracy theories.......do you think I will get a bite out of that one??