Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

We kept the right half

Adsy

Where the f**k is a thread comparing that garbage kick of Mullo's yesterday to Dureau's against the Tigers.

roopy

Kicking for Uate seems almost like a knights tradition. Walsh, Dureau and Mullen have all been doing it since 2005 I reckon.
I'm a bit surprized they get so few tries in firstgrade from it, because they must practice it heaps.
It relies on Uate being faster than his opposite, and he had El Masri well covered for pace.

antonius

Scott is a better defender than Walsh.

But that is no wrap on Scotts defence.

Our kicking game was terrible yesterday.

Mullens cross field kick to Aku that went out on the full was the poorest decision of the game.

Having conceded 10 points in ten minutes and had only two sets. Forwards out on their feet, we finally get an ok yardage set out to the 40m line and get a chance to apply some pressure on the Dogs in thier own 20m.

Mullen kicks across field to Aku out on the full on the fourth tackle. Dogs get the ball on our 40m.... and score in the following set to get within 6 points.
Agreed, The TV commentators were raving on about how good Mullens kicking game was, it was 50-50 at best, and to be honest I have never rated his kicking game, he doesn't have the shrewdness of the good kickers. Don't get me wrong he had a good game, but his kicks were not all that the commentary team would have you beleive.

Apey

I thought it was a good idea. They were definitely short over that side, maybe through the hands would have been better. It pissed me off that it was a poor kick though :fist:

Rolla

Kicking for Uate seems almost like a knights tradition. Walsh, Dureau and Mullen have all been doing it since 2005 I reckon.
I'm a bit surprized they get so few tries in firstgrade from it, because they must practice it heaps.
It relies on Uate being faster than his opposite, and he had El Masri well covered for pace.

W have scored a few.....man id love to see mullen kick for Aku from the scrum in our own half if ever the fulback is shallow, i mean its a high percentage play, and at the same time if execution is off slightly at least they are bringing the ball out from their line.

Serc

I've been wondering the same too Rolla...I hope its one of those scrum/penalty plays that Smithy has mentioned the team is working on :)

Pika

I think its a great play.

I just dont think it was the right plat at that time.

Yosh

Cant say Aku seems blinding fast though can ya? Aku definately needs to get more involved... Don't get me wrong I'm his number 1 fan but hasnt been playing to his potential at all... Maybe having Sau as his centre partner aint helping but yeah would love to see Aku get a bit more early ball or put into a bit of space. If Mullen passed that long ball to Aku not Lulia we could have seen one of the tries of the season!

Alex28

Where the f**k is a thread comparing that garbage kick of Mullo's yesterday to Dureau's against the Tigers.
It was a rubbish kick, however given that Mullen does all the things that Dureau should do but doesn't (such as defend and run) I let him off a savage post yesterday ;-)

Serc

Yoshy - Aku has been getting a lot more involved of late, during his last 2 games since returning, he's really been pulling his weight in taking up the ball a few times to give the forwards a rest!

In fact you've inspired me to dig up some stats from these last two games, and bear in mind these are in a close win against the #1 form team in the comp and a spanking from the Cowboys:

vs Dogs
13 runs
122 metres
More runs than anyone else except Hilder, Taia and Sau (who had a screamer in these stats yesterday btw)
More metres gained than anyone else except Sau (which also includes no decent line breaks to give his tally a boost)

vs Cowboys
15 runs
131 metres
More runs than anyone else in the team, which included 4 hitups for 29m and 5 general runs for 61m (with only that 20-30m break where Kaufusi ankle tapped him to boost his tally)

CJG 182

WHAT!!! He tied his own shoes?!!?!?! I'm off to start a new thread!! How could we release such talent?!

Rolla

On that kick to aku...was it just me or was aku absolutely filthy that it didnt land on his chest, shooting looks that could kill and yelling and cursing. I thought he was 1 step away from running over and smacking mullen over the head (this is certainly what it looked like on tv)

bluesbreaker

Hahaha yeah, I noticed earlier in the game, someone didn't get in position that he wanted and he gave them a mouthful of something or other.

I imagine it was Fijian for 'how's your ma? thinking about coming over for that bbq after the game mate!'

bluesbreaker

I'm pretty sure it was Karawana now come to think of it! I'll have to check out the replay. Was piss funny. Don't think old Apu pu should be getting on Marv's wrong side, what with Marv stacking on like 100 kilos in the last 2 years.