Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Week 1 finals eels v storm Team List Thread

No my main source of evidence is the way we play and he hasn't addressed almost any of our short comings either in attack or defense. But it is an easy fix. ;)
That’s not your main source when you try and suggest that he is happy with our performances.

It’s a weak argument that a number of people on here trot out and it makes me f**king laugh every time. Who takes press conferences seriously?

Blind Freddy can tell that we are down on form, but if it makes people feel good about themselves to think that they have spotted something that BA isn’t aware of then knock yourselves out merkins.

Mr Parramatta

No it isn't. BA has been happy on many occasions in the post game interviews with our effort when we were playing like crap and not supporting the ball runner in attack very well at all and just managing to win by a couple of points often against crappy low placed teams, because the "effort" was there. But what he is mostly focusing on is our ability to defend our way to victory. As good as it is and obviously necessary to have a sound defense, it isn't enough when you come up against the best sides.

It may be footy 101 one but only 4 or 5 teams do it regularly and well in the NRL. We just started to in the first 10 rounds of this years comp and then just STOPPED.

You need to be a very fit and well drilled team that has very demanding and quality play makers that drive this type of behaviour at training ALL the time. Do extra training sessions for hours on end practicing and rehearsing these moves in particular with your back rowers and centres. It is not off the cuff stuff. You need to make this your bread and butter style of play. Be able to pick weaknesses in the defensive line and work towards exploiting this and calling plays that you have perfected as second nature to capitalize on those weakness.

When was the last time we saw anything like that happening out there for Parra? But I'm sure you will see plenty of that come from Smith, Munster and Co tonight.

We aren't even on the same planet when it comes to real game management as the top teams at the moment.
I agree, Brad sees the silver lining in every performance, where Bellamy wins the game and still has the dirts, that is the difference between a world class coach and the Brad Arthur’s in saying that I will be at the GF regardless hoping to cheer on my team of 44years!!

I think Brad Arthur is a decent human and a very good assistant coach.

TheRam

That’s not your main source when you try and suggest that he is happy with our performances.

It’s a weak argument that a number of people on here trot out and it makes me f**king laugh every time. Who takes press conferences seriously?

Blind Freddy can tell that we are down on form, but if it makes people feel good about themselves to think that they have spotted something that BA isn’t aware of then knock yourselves out merkins.

OK well then lets go down that path then. If we can't trust and I agree in general, that we can't believe what coaches say in the media, then our only guide to what is actually going on is 1. the murmurings that come out of our clubs and 2. how the team is actually performing.

So since all the pundits are reporting the same thing that the club thinks that it is an easy fix and are generally happy with what the club and coaching staff is doing then we can only believe that that is what is actually the case.

As you know there are very few if any secrets in RL and if the coach was secretly not happy with what was being executed out there, we would have by now have heard something. Something like "coach BA maybe publicly positive and putting a healthy spin on the teams performances, but I can tell you privately he is ....."

But we hear nothing of the sort. So we can only go with what we see and hear and all we hear coming from our club is positivity and sh*t performances follow whether we win or lose.

So again we can't be addressing what is really the issue because it isn't getting fixed. Oh and to suggest that the coaching staff maybe addressing the issues but the players just aren't executing it, I find laughable. This group of players are way too talented and powerful to not improve if we (coaching staff) knew how to get the best out of them.

This of course is my opinion and I find your contrary opinion laughable and naïve to be honest.

OK well then lets go down that path then. If we can't trust and I agree in general, that we can't believe what coaches say in the media, then our only guide to what is actually going on is 1. the murmurings that come out of our clubs and 2. how the team is actually performing.

So since all the pundits are reporting the same thing that the club thinks that it is an easy fix and are generally happy with what the club and coaching staff is doing then we can only believe that that is what is actually the case.
Which pundits and where do you have a source regarding anyone being happy with our decline in form in recent months? I dont believe that you do.

I said it at the time that the 'easy fix' comment was made that it would be applied in ways in which I never think it was intended. I believe it was in relation to the lack of effort in the Souths game. It proved to be an easy fix as we have not shown the same lack of effort since.

I don't think he actually meant that it was an 'easy fix' to suddenly become premiership contenders. But again, I take it all with a grain of salt because no-one actually says what they really mean in press conferences. Its a f**king charade mate.

As you know there are very few if any secrets in RL and if the coach was secretly not happy with what was being executed out there, we would have by now have heard something. Something like "coach BA maybe publicly positive and putting a healthy spin on the teams performances, but I can tell you privately he is ....."

But we hear nothing of the sort. So we can only go with what we see and hear and all we hear coming from our club is positivity and sh*t performances follow whether we win or lose.
Thats as weak as piss. Do you really believe that?

Firstly, there are plenty of things that we don't know when it comes to rugby league. Secondly, its hardly newsworthy if he is saying to various players that they need to improve. Thirdly, its really clear that we have been down in certain areas. There is absolutely no f**king way that our coaching staff isn't aware of that. It does my head in that you could honestly believe that everyone other than BA knows this. Thats not a rational position to take.

So again we can't be addressing what is really the issue because it isn't getting fixed. Oh and to suggest that the coaching staff maybe addressing the issues but the players just aren't executing it, I find laughable.
That is a massive misinterpretation. In fact, you've actually just made that up.

You originally said that BA is happy and doesn't appear to be aware of our problems. I said that there isn't a single league person in the world that doesn't know we have been struggling in certain areas. Like everyone else, BA would be aware of this.

If you had suggested that he doesn't seem to know how to fix the problems I would have agreed. But you didn't say that - you implied that he isn't even aware!

This group of players are way too talented and powerful to not improve if we (coaching staff) knew how to get the best out of them.
On that we agree, but I was never questioning that at any stage.

This of course is my opinion and I find your contrary opinion laughable and naïve to be honest.
You didn't even know what my opinion was. I had to spell it out for you.

I agree, Brad sees the silver lining in every performance, where Bellamy wins the game and still has the dirts, that is the difference between a world class coach and the Brad Arthur’s in saying that I will be at the GF regardless hoping to cheer on my team of 44years!!

I think thats a rather crude characterisation. I reckon BA knows how to get angry (ask Fui what he thinks of BA) and I also reckon that Bellamy is capable of being compassionate and measured (ask Slater, Cronk or Smith what Bellamy means to them).

Even if it were true its not the reason that Bellamy is a better coach. There are plenty of examples of angry merkin coaches who have failed as NRL coaches.

TheRam

Which pundits and where do you have a source regarding anyone being happy with our decline in form in recent months? I dont believe that you do.

I said it at the time that the 'easy fix' comment was made that it would be applied in ways in which I never think it was intended. I believe it was in relation to the lack of effort in the Souths game. It proved to be an easy fix as we have not shown the same lack of effort since.

I don't think he actually meant that it was an 'easy fix' to suddenly become premiership contenders. But again, I take it all with a grain of salt because no-one actually says what they really mean in press conferences. Its a f**king charade mate.

Thats as weak as piss. Do you really believe that?

Firstly, there are plenty of things that we don't know when it comes to rugby league. Secondly, its hardly newsworthy if he is saying to various players that they need to improve. Thirdly, its really clear that we have been down in certain areas. There is absolutely no f**king way that our coaching staff isn't aware of that. It does my head in that you could honestly believe that everyone other than BA knows this. Thats not a rational position to take.

That is a massive misinterpretation. In fact, you've actually just made that up.

You originally said that BA is happy and doesn't appear to be aware of our problems. I said that there isn't a single league person in the world that doesn't know we have been struggling in certain areas. Like everyone else, BA would be aware of this.

If you had suggested that he doesn't seem to know how to fix the problems I would have agreed. But you didn't say that - you implied that he isn't even aware!

On that we agree, but I was never questioning that at any stage.

You didn't even know what my opinion was. I had to spell it out for you.

Mate we are arguing in circles. What I believe is that BA doesn't know how to get the best out of each and every player in out squad. He is a good enough coach to get the team up to an ok to good level but then hasn't ever been able to get it up from there. He hasn't the skills to bring players like Moses along to full potential. Not that that would be easy, but it isn't impossible with the right coaching.

He obviously can see our short comings but doesn't know how to fix them. I have said this many times before. It is a given. But he also doesn't seem to think they are a major issue if we just work harder on the one percenters. I on the other hand think it is much more pressing and not just about the one percenters.

No it isn't. BA has been happy on many occasions in the post game interviews with our effort when we were playing like crap and not supporting the ball runner in attack very well at all and just managing to win by a couple of points often against crappy low placed teams, because the "effort" was there. But what he is mostly focusing on is our ability to defend our way to victory. As good as it is and obviously necessary to have a sound defense, it isn't enough when you come up against the best sides.

It may be footy 101 one but only 4 or 5 teams do it regularly and well in the NRL. We just started to in the first 10 rounds of this years comp and then just STOPPED.

You need to be a very fit and well drilled team that has very demanding and quality play makers that drive this type of behaviour at training ALL the time. Do extra training sessions for hours on end practicing and rehearsing these moves in particular with your back rowers and centres. It is not off the cuff stuff. You need to make this your bread and butter style of play. Be able to pick weaknesses in the defensive line and work towards exploiting this and calling plays that you have perfected as second nature to capitalize on those weakness.

When was the last time we saw anything like that happening out there for Parra?
We saw it plenty last year. But this year there is a real focus on Mahoney and Drown becoming decision makers.

Mate we are arguing in circles. What I believe is that BA doesn't know how to get the best out of each and every player in out squad. He is a good enough coach to get the team up to an ok to good level but then hasn't ever been able to get it up from there. He hasn't the skills to bring players like Moses along to full potential. Not that that would be easy, but it isn't impossible with the right coaching.

He obviously can see our short comings but doesn't know how to fix them. I have said this many times before. It is a given. But he also doesn't seem to think they are a major issue if we just work harder on the one percenters. I on the other hand think it is much more pressing and not just about the one percenters.
I agree with all of that.

I love a happy ending.

Joely01

that’s absolute bulls**t!
I’ve seen a number of press conferences where he hasn’t been happy with the performance!
But BA isn’t like a lot of the coaches in the aspect of he doesn’t like the media attention, so he won’t say too much in his press conference to basically get out of it!
The players often mention how they don’t want to be on the wrong side of BA in a video session or at training!
It’s actually one Characteristic that most players so far have said as a big reason for staying as BA is very honest with them whether it’s a good or bad performance...

I think that’s a super lazy response saying he sees the silver lining in every performance.

I think the BA bashing really needs to stop, go look at my reasoning in the NRL 360 thread.

It’s finals footy, pump the f**k up and let’s get these boys home over the scum!!!

Just looking at the teams from last year's finals, they are nearly identical. Here's the changes from 2019:

Melbourne
Lee in for Chambers
Welch for Finucane
Faasuamaleaui for Kamikamica
Hynes for Scott
Lewis for King

Parramatta
RCG for Alvaro (Evans to bench)
Matterson for Ma'u
Smith for Takairangi
Davey for Moeroa

Just looking at the teams from last year's finals, they are nearly identical. Here's the changes from 2019:

Melbourne
Lee in for Chambers
Welch for Finucane
Faasuamaleaui for Kamikamica
Hynes for Scott
Lewis for King

Parramatta
RCG for Alvaro (Evans to bench)
Matterson for Ma'u
Smith for Takairangi
Davey for Moeroa
Lewis for King sounds like a wash.

Mr Parramatta

that’s absolute bulls**t!
I’ve seen a number of press conferences where he hasn’t been happy with the performance!
But BA isn’t like a lot of the coaches in the aspect of he doesn’t like the media attention, so he won’t say too much in his press conference to basically get out of it!
The players often mention how they don’t want to be on the wrong side of BA
in a video session or at training!
It’s actually one Characteristic that most players so far have said as a big reason for staying as BA is very honest with them whether it’s a good or bad performance...

I think that’s a super lazy response saying he sees the silver lining in every performance.

I think the BA bashing really needs to stop, go look at my reasoning in the NRL 360 thread.

It’s finals footy, pump the f**k up and let’s get these boys home over the scum!!!

How is it bashing? Because I disagree with other opinions?
I think thats a rather crude characterisation. I reckon BA knows how to get angry (ask Fui what he thinks of BA) and I also reckon that Bellamy is capable of being compassionate and measured (ask Slater, Cronk or Smith what Bellamy means to them).

Even if it were true its not the reason that Bellamy is a better coach. There are plenty of examples of angry merkin coaches who have failed as NRL coaches.
okay.