Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Week 1 Finals: Parra v Penrith GAME DAY THREAD @ Bluebet Stadium 9/9/22

IFR33K

you are spot on as usual - jake must have been exhausted when Cleary strolled past him and he kicked out on the full.

Probably needed a nap but Dad made him stay up and play.

The kid isn't ready and anyone who says otherwise is either trolling or just obstinately defending the indefensible to try to "win an internet argument.

Not only is he not ready, but he’ll never be good enough. To slow will always get found out. Maybe he should make the code switch to afl.

Soto

I'll be there next Friday.
I won't be happy if JA or Makatoa are named in the 17.
After 23 years as a season ticket holder I probably won't renew If we lose next week and BA isn't sacked...
The garbage bench rotation and player selection will ultimately be his undoing.
He's had enough of a go.
If we exit next week, so should he and then appoint Flanagan by Sunday.

Legal Eel

Lot of vulgar verals at the game last night, unfortunately they were Parra fans. Dont think there is that much dumb ass at Commbank, but plenty on an opposition ground. Ming boggling

The abuse JA got from some so called fans was beyond civilisation. We all get the kid aint up to it, and warrants discussion that he isnt NRL standard yet (may never will be, or may end up being very good), BUT the utter garbage thrown at the kid is quite pathetic

For next week id bring in Russell for Waqa. The guy has lost confidence and will be targeted
Ruff put a few bombs up to Sivo's end initially. He caught them well. They tried Waqas end and were successful at first attempt, and were relentless at him from then on.

NBrown in for Makatoa. Just tell NB to go hell for leather in a 15min stint thats all. He wont do any worse, but may ignite some of his aggression , knowing it a small stint. Cartright has to coem in for JA. Its getting well beyond useless putting the kid on the bench for no value. His season is done for mine

66% completion rate for the game tells the sad story for us
Also we tried to go through the middle far too many times, and just got belted each time. What worked for us last few weeks, as second phase play, and shifting the ball wider , was non existant. Lets not blame Penriths defence, Storm have similar type line speed and agggression in the ruck.

I dont feel like attending next weeks game. Just sad and depressed yet again (can we do a Parra mental health thread?) on the Eels. Some big names went missing, the usual dumb shit returned. Penrith were clinical but were also there to be had if we held our nerve and went toe to toe, we were the first ones to crack, not once but a few times in the second half. Goodbye Jack dont come back.

Our whole season can be shaped up positively in the next game or two with wins. Or it can limp out as per usual next week.
Absolutely agree that the abuse is pathetic.

But the kid is clearly not up to playing first grade and that has been obvious to all and sundry (even the great defenders admit it) since last year.

Perhaps that may change, but if any other player were dishing up that rubbish whenever they played they just wouldn't get this may chances.

I know people think it is a coincidence, but we have seen it many times now that when Jake comes on the field, the opposition scores two quick tries.

We saw it in our win over the Warriors.
We saw it in our win over the Storm .
We saw it in the the loss last night.

They aren't all from his mistakes, but you have to conclude that the players either have no faith in his ability or that he doesn't know the systems in any way - because when he comes on, our defensive systems and our defensive intensity go to water.

And yes, we have all read and heard the stories where all the players say that he is the best option and that they absolutely want him on board and we have all heard the story that the senior players TOLD Brad to pick him...but come on, what do you think the players are going to say when asked by anyone about the coach's son?

What do you think they are going to tell the coach or his assistants when asked? As if they could say "no mate, Jake just isn't up to it".

Whatever it is, there is clearly something amiss when he is on the field.

As for him being the only available back up, well that is just a furphy thrown up by people trying to "win" the internet argument. The coach has designated him as the only back up option and has to wear the criticism.

Sadly, our board and management share the same attitude as many poster on here. "Well, he probably deserves another couple of years and then we'll see..."

Soto

But the kid is clearly not up to playing first grade and that has been obvious to all and sundry (even the great defenders admit it) since last year.

Perhaps that may change, but if any other player were dishing up that rubbish whenever they played they just wouldn't get this may chances.

I know people think it is a coincidence, but we have seen it many times now that when Jake comes on the field, the opposition scores two quick tries.

They aren't all from his mistakes, but you have to conclude that the players either have no faith in his ability or that he doesn't know the systems in any way - because when he comes on, our defensive systems and our defensive intensity go to water.

And yes, we have all read and heard the stories where all the players say that he is the best option and that they absolutely want him on board and we have all heard the story that the senior players TOLD Brad to pick him...but come on, what do you think the players are going to say when asked by anyone about the coach's son?

What do you think they are going to tell the coach or his assistants when asked? As if they could say "no mate, Jake just isn't up to it".

As for him being the only available back up, well that is just a furphy thrown up by people trying to "win" the internet argument. The coach has designated him as the only back up option and has to wear the criticism.

Sadly, our board and management share the same attitude as many poster on here. "Well, he probably deserves another couple of years and then we'll see..."
This

T-Boon

That’s such a shame that you were embarrassed by our own fans. I too agree that young Arthur shouldn’t be in first grade, but I blame his father as coach for poor selection decisions and perhaps nepotism.
Fans giving it to a 19 year old kid does not sit well with me personally either. Like I said, he shouldn’t be in first grade, but thats on his father.
Do they boo him constantly or just when he f**ks up (which I suppose would still be constantly)?

I have mixed feeling about the booing. If a player isn't up for crowd feedback they should not be in first grade.

He could definitely go to his dad and say I think I need time to work on my game in Flegg.

Happy MEel

He was beaten for speed once, when we were on the back foot and he came in to get in front of Luai. Otherwise he didn't see a lot of traffic. Penrith were content to roll through our middle as we were out of gas by the time Arthur came on.
He was beaten for speed once in about 20 minutes of footy. He has been beaten plenty of times previously.

he’s known for his brain farts. Last night team selection for classic Ba in his prime. Everyone knew it was going to be a massive forward battle except him. Not sure why he saves his worst for September footy. If we lose next week he needs to be shown the door asap.
should’ve been sacked 2-4 years ago when he proved he was a choker. No premiership this year then he’s done. Need to be sacked. If he wins it, then give him another 9 years 🤣

IFR33K

There’s your lack of leadership right there!!!

The coach cleared the decks for his own son to play grade when it’s obvious to all he’s not a NSW cup player. The coach is putting his own personal wants ahead of the club. It’s a disgrace.

then the coach started taking instructions from the team on whom to pick. Why not let them run the training sessions too????

King-Gutho94

Waking up and reflecting after going the game all is not lost as long as Moses plays next week.

In the game for 55 mins. Most frustrated part for me was not targeting May's side when he was in the bin we kept going the other way it was a waste of 10 mins.

Next week will be our biggest mental challenge of the season. The week 2 noose hanging over the players heads after 4 failed attempts in 5 years.

I would be confident in saying this match will be harder mentally then the preliminary final. And if we do win I would say we make the GF as the mental burden would be released and going into a PF as underdogs against a team we should be more battle hardened against will be a luxury.

Just have to win next week.

First trek out to Penrith stadium seriously I don't think we realise how lucky we are having a world class facility. Who would want to play in surbaban shitholes when you commbank which is perfect.

They have one entry point and exit. So takes 20 mins to get in and out of the joint. They closed off 2 turnstile exit points which was absolutely ridiculous so you have this stampede walking out the ground.

And then that's not including lining up for 30 mins to buy a beer.

the panthers gave us no room and were excellent in defense. Credit to them.
They sure did. Good players go chasing the ball and make it happen though. Dylan brown needed to go and actively get involved. Something like a simple hit up to help out, to work himself back into the game. He sat out wide and watched the game pass him by.
Thought Moses was fantastic last night. His kicking kept us in it and he was f**king trying only to be let down by his team mates.

So will BA continue paying nepotism dad next week or drop his son. Will he still carry Waqa or drop his ass for maybe Russell? Does he still carry his other son makatoa on the bench ?
Make the calls BA

King-Gutho94

Lot of vulgar verals at the game last night, unfortunately they were Parra fans. Dont think there is that much dumb ass at Commbank, but plenty on an opposition ground. Ming boggling

The abuse JA got from some so called fans was beyond civilisation. We all get the kid aint up to it, and warrants discussion that he isnt NRL standard yet (may never will be, or may end up being very good), BUT the utter garbage thrown at the kid is quite pathetic

For next week id bring in Russell for Waqa. The guy has lost confidence and will be targeted
Ruff put a few bombs up to Sivo's end initially. He caught them well. They tried Waqas end and were successful at first attempt, and were relentless at him from then on.

NBrown in for Makatoa. Just tell NB to go hell for leather in a 15min stint thats all. He wont do any worse, but may ignite some of his aggression , knowing it a small stint. Cartright has to coem in for JA. Its getting well beyond useless putting the kid on the bench for no value. His season is done for mine

66% completion rate for the game tells the sad story for us
Also we tried to go through the middle far too many times, and just got belted each time. What worked for us last few weeks, as second phase play, and shifting the ball wider , was non existant. Lets not blame Penriths defence, Storm have similar type line speed and agggression in the ruck.

I dont feel like attending next weeks game. Just sad and depressed yet again (can we do a Parra mental health thread?) on the Eels. Some big names went missing, the usual dumb shit returned. Penrith were clinical but were also there to be had if we held our nerve and went toe to toe, we were the first ones to crack, not once but a few times in the second half. Goodbye Jack dont come back.

Our whole season can be shaped up positively in the next game or two with wins. Or it can limp out as per usual next week.
Yeah it wasn't bad some of the abuse Jake was copping. I agree with the frustration of fans we have our best chance in 36 years and we are pissing it away with the coaches son in the team.

I just don't yell out and abuse in public that's what this forum for.

One fan behind me was yelling out to security in the last 5 mins that there was a pitch invader wearing number 15 for parramatta out there.

I reckon next week atmosphere will be awesome it's a home game against an out of town side. Commbank should be full and we all know our record there when it's packed. We are different side.