Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Week 1 Finals: Parra v Penrith GAME DAY THREAD @ Bluebet Stadium 9/9/22

Speaking of choking. Where then f**k was Gutho and Dylan Brown last night. MIA. Disappointing they froze. Flat track bullies they are, just like the coach.
Gutherson made something like 60m whilst Edwards made well over 200m, again. Brown was shit also as was Blake and Sivo. Basically the whole team besides Moses and RCG decided to have their worst games of the season. How does that happen ? As I said in the other thread it’s a moment of truth and the future of Brad Arthur. As I I wake up this morning I don’t have a good feeling about it. I don’t feel confident especially if we play the Storm.

IFR33K

Gutherson made something like 60m whilst Edwards made well over 200m, again. Brown was shit also as was Blake and Sivo. Basically the whole team besides Moses and RCG decided to have their worst games of the season. How does that happen ? As I said in the other thread it’s a moment of truth and the future of Brad Arthur. As I I wake up this morning I don’t have a good feeling about it. I don’t feel confident especially if we play the Storm.

Yeah our record against the storm is abysmal come semi final footy. Hope we can turn that around if they win.

# Alternate fantasy (demented) Summary

BA - Boys, myself and many merkins on LU as shit scared if we play Souths again. We cant take the risk of Chooks beating them on Sunday. So along with my assistants (I have even rang up David Kidwell in Argentina) I have advised some strategies to avoid being on their side of the draw

Dylan mate, cut back your running game by 70% ok? No more than 6 runs for the whole game otherwise my son starts next week and your on the bench

King Gutho, its your birthday lad. its time to chill. Have a dense mud cake before the game

Shauney - Ease up on your game tonight. Definatley no offloads please. You dont want the risk of being selected for the WC

Waqa pal, You have made a lot of simple unforced errors in the past. Buddy need you to be at your brainfart best. Cleary will kick a lot, We will blame the swirling winds, wet ball and poor lighting. Make 4 errors for the game, and automatic selection next week

I want a lot of one out running. Go hard up the middle. They will bash you all game long, thats what im looking for , lots of collisions, we want it just as much as they do in the first half only. Put away the second phase play, Make sure we dont do more than 14 off loads for the game, cause when we do that we usually win the game (we did 12)

Lets bring on week 2.
See ya all at training. Anyone want to come in and do extras, Call me anytime, Im 7 min away

🧐

Happy MEel

If there's more attackers than they can cover then they are at the mercy of the attack. If the attack gets it right then any decision the defender makes is the wrong decision. They just have to hope the attack f**ks it. The only thing the defence has in its control is effort - getting numbers across in cover, like Penrith did tonight, right up until the 80th desperate minute.

The reason a missed tackle leads to a line break is an isolated defender. Arthur was isolated on that play so his single missed tackle led to a linebreak. Moses missed three tackles but they ocurred while his team mates were fresher so they didn't lead to linebreaks. Kaufusi broke two tackles on his try because Koroisau and Kikau both attempted one-on-one tackles. If they'd hit him at the same time they would likely have stopped him.
No, Moses’ missed tackles didn’t lead to line breaks because he was fast enough to get his body in the way. That’s his job. Jake on the other hand…

amazing. He doesn’t trust Bryce or nrown yet he trusts a 19 yo with less talent, slow as a sloth, mistake riddled and with poor defense.
Yeah but do they live 5- 7 mins from training depending on the traffic???

Happy MEel

That's the circumstance we can't cover from elsewhere in the squad. There's other merkins we can throw the ball to when we're chasing points. The stay composed and build pressure option isn't going to come from moving Cartwright into the halves.
Dylan Brown is the guy to take over in this circumstance.

Have we ever played melbourne in a final in sydney other than the GF?

Melbourne are always f**kin hard. Big grubby pricks. I kinda think the raiders knock em off, but that might be w8shful thinking

I still dont think it will be at commbank. It will be at homebush. They will want the possibility of more than 30k

Angry_eel

For next week id bring in Russell for Waqa. The guy has lost confidence and will be targeted
Ruff put a few bombs up to Sivo's end initially. He caught them well. They tried Waqas end and were successful at first attempt, and were relentless at him from then on.

NBrown in for Makatoa. Just tell NB to go hell for leather in a 15min stint thats all. He wont do any worse, but may ignite some of his aggression , knowing it a small stint. Cartright has to coem in for JA. Its getting well beyond useless putting the kid on the bench for no value. His season is done for mine

66% completion rate for the game tells the sad story for us

Will Russell come in? No
Will Brown cone in? No
Will JA drop for Cartwright? No

I'll have to see the Team List to attend. If JA is in and so is Moses, that will do me for the year.

King-Gutho94

Have we ever played melbourne in a final in sydney other than the GF?

Melbourne are always f**kin hard. Big grubby pricks. I kinda think the raiders knock em off, but that might be w8shful thinking

I still dont think it will be at commbank. It will be at homebush. They will want the possibility of more than 30k
1999 PF at the SFS was the only other time we have played Melbourne in a final in Sydney outside of the GF

Also the only time we have played Melbourne in a final when finishing above them on the ladder.

We wont get a better opportunity next week it will almost be better to knock 2 hurdles off on one night beat the storm in a final and get to a preliminary final under BA.

T-Boon

Isn’t that flegg half Lui supposed to be pretty promising?
I guess halves who aren’t the coaches son must do a proper apprenticeship.