Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wests Unite as JV remains anything but Cosy

Magpies Forever

Geez, I'm over this. I support wt and want them to succed and win. Yes, we are the result of the merge of 2 older, original rl clubs. How we manage the merge and later accommodate some changes will always create some disagreement. Maybe some changes will happen of there is a rejig of the jv but I don't want to change the wt brand but somehow I'd like it if the magpie got some more prominence. Don't know how, I suggested the second tier comp if the jv desired only 1 second grade team instead of the traditional magpies and tigers. I support the existing wests tigers in the Nrl- what more can I say?

macnaz

If I took it the wrong way I apologise. I am a supporter of the jv, I just think we can do it better. I accept Wests and Balmain are gone, and also believe we are stronger as the Wests Tigers. I hope we move forward in the future.
My apology also Danoz , my reply wasnt directed at you personaly . But i just keep hearing the same things year after year . And i also fail to see where Balmain didnt give up 50% as well .
Just curious when Western Suburbs were still in the competition and someone asked who do you support what did all you old supporters say ?
If i was ever asked i was always a Balmain supporter , never did i say a Tigers supporter .
Least this topic gives the forum something to talk about i guess :)

Lockyer4President!

People need to forget the Magpie and learn to love the Tiger. Being bitter about the past is not helping the club in any way at all...

Magpies Forever

My apology also Danoz , my reply wasnt directed at you personaly . But i just keep hearing the same things year after year . And i also fail to see where Balmain didnt give up 50% as well .
Just curious when Western Suburbs were still in the competition and someone asked who do you support what did all you old supporters say ?
If i was ever asked i was always a Balmain supporter , never did i say a Tigers supporter .
Least this topic gives the forum something to talk about i guess :)

I always said I was a magpies supporter. Most people those days knew the general geography of the clubs. Wests already had been a wandering- pratten park, lidcombe oval and later shared games concord oval and campbelltown (at least in terms of where to play matches, whereas balmain tigers were always stable at leichhardt oval.

(damn iPad and it's auto spelling............)

I will put my cards on the table and declare I am an old Wests Magpies supporter.

From my point of view, Wests have been the neglected half of the joint venture. The juniors are from the west, and yet our players having to travel to concord for training etc and the old Balmain team was stacked with the talent while the Wests side had the second tier. Alot of juniors preffered to pursue contracts with the Panthers for travel purposes alone.

The "Wests" side of the jv was also forgotten when it came to identification with the team. As the article said, often we are referred to only as the Tigers, and the Magpie emblem requires a telescope to be seen on the jerseys, and alot of merchandise is made without the white.

The Wests side of the jv taking more control is a good thing imo with a greater focus to be put into the west where the juniors are and the leagues clubs are profitable.

That said -

The Wests Tigers is a brand which carries more weight than the Magpies or the Balmain Tigers ever did alone. We are a very marketable commodity, and with better management the combination of the two clubs, traditions and areas make us a far stronger, more viable proposition with the best long term future. I never want to see Balmain eliminated from the jv, I just want the focus to shift in a direction that is better for the club.

Wests Tigers gave me my first living premiership and I hope to see many more.

Your last line measures up my sentiments DanOz. I'm a old Balmain fan, but Wests Tigers is where it's at for me. Nothing Balmain did will ever measure up to how WT made me feel around 9pm on October 2nd 2005. Whatever happens with Balmain, their debt and the Wests Group, I simply hope that the interests of WT will be protected going forward. They are my team.

magpie4ever

Increase the size of the magpie of the sleeve will be a start, then get rid of the CEO; his old man was one of the dogs that kicked us out originally.

magpie4ever

People need to forget the Magpie and learn to love the Tiger. Being bitter about the past is not helping the club in any way at all...

There is an old saying: "Never forget the past, because history will repeat" - the magpie will never or should never be forgotten.

philgood

There is an old saying: "Never forget the past, because history will repeat" - the magpie will never or should never be forgotten.

Balmain Tigers saved your sorry arse. All i ever hear is Wests supporters whinge and whine. FFS you guys are like Dragons fans.

Without Balmain OR wests there is no Wests Tigers.

Embrace the joint venture.

gronkathon

At this stage of the game the only "we" or "us" should be Wests Tigers related.

If it isn't I question that persons acceptance of the JV

DanOz

Balmain Tigers saved your sorry arse. All i ever hear is Wests supporters whinge and whine. FFS you guys are like Dragons fans.

I hope you remember your own words as the balance of power shifts

DanOz

Your last line measures up my sentiments DanOz. I'm a old Balmain fan, but Wests Tigers is where it's at for me. Nothing Balmain did will ever measure up to how WT made me feel around 9pm on October 2nd 2005. Whatever happens with Balmain, their debt and the Wests Group, I simply hope that the interests of WT will be protected going forward. They are my team.

I hear you mate. I loved the Magpies, but the success of the jv and and the culmination of the premiership in 05, the hope of playing semi final football every year (especially now since Sheens is gone) have made me a Wests Tigers supporter through and through. As Balmains financial issues decline I hope the jv remains solid - the brand is now the Wests Tigers and any thoughts of disolution are looking backwards and not forwards imo.

Balmain Bug

This thread is an idiot-fest.

The Ownership structure of Wests Tigers will change because Balmain cant pay their bills.

Nothing else will change and Wests Tigers will be the same old Wests Tigers, except the Wests side might get a fairer representation in colours and brand recognition as they will become majority shareholders.

The Wests Group will not do anything to undermine Balmain. They support Balmain.

That is it.

Grow up you imbeciles.

Wests Tigers split board is like Gillard spending her time in power just trying to survive instaed of doing what shes meant to be doing, running the country and making decisions
We're treading water with 50/50....others keep flying past....were trying to give and take with the JV partners...too much effort in every single thing trying to be equal (which it really isnt) instead of effort placed on winning f**kin footy comps

magpie4ever

You reckon to saved our sorry arse, well there is no Balmain now - you are broke, so you tiggies can piss off.

I hear you mate. I loved the Magpies, but the success of the jv and and the culmination of the premiership in 05, the hope of playing semi final football every year (especially now since Sheens is gone) have made me a Wests Tigers supporter through and through. As Balmains financial issues decline I hope the jv remains solid - the brand is now the Wests Tigers and any thoughts of disolution are looking backwards and not forwards imo.

Agreed, they will always have a special place in our respective hearts, but they lay in the past. Despite the initial dreaded years of the JV, we won our first premiership six seasons in and have marketed ourselves as a potent attacking side. 2012 was a disappointing year, but on the whole, the Wests Tigers have delivered more in their 13 seasons of existence than the 11 years I followed Balmain prior. This proves we are a stronger club, of which dissolution of WT is simply foolhardy. The ownership may change, but Benji, Robbie and 2/10/2005 has formed the groundwork of which will make WT a great club with a rich history, if it is managed properly.

magpie4ever

Agreed, they will always have a special place in our respective hearts, but they lay in the past. Despite the initial dreaded years of the JV, we won our first premiership six seasons in and have marketed ourselves as a potent attacking side. 2012 was a disappointing year, but on the whole, the Wests Tigers have delivered more in their 13 seasons of existence than the 11 years I followed Balmain prior. This proves we are a stronger club, of which dissolution of WT is simply foolhardy. The ownership may change, but Benji, Robbie and 2/10/2005 has formed the groundwork of which will make WT a great club with a rich history, if it is managed properly.

90% of western surburbs supporters just want more recognition with the jersey and the colours - larger magpie on the sleeve and more white of the jumper. Also a small magpie on all promotional items - t-shirts, jumpers etc. What about all future designs of the jersey must be 50% black, 25% gold and 25% white and the magpie must be the major item on the sleeve even if it costs the club ponsorship $s.

10% of magpie supporters will never return (like one of my bros) lost to the game forever - more to do with superleague and the forced amalgamations.

But the attitude of certain Balmain supporters has been we saved your arse and the guys have been along for the ride. So bloody smug, now Balmain is up shit creek, realistically Wests could pull the plug and Balmain would totally disappear - they are broke and Wests need to cover the loan - to some revenge would be sweet - after their smug attitude for 15 years.

There should be edict put out by the club that broadcasters - TV and radio should refer to the side as the "Wests Tigers" not the "Tigers"; this should include players and officials when interviewed - if smug old Balmain supporters pulled their heads in, we all might get along.