Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What now Paul Osborne

zuke

Now that we have missed out Cooper Quade and Cooper Cronk what players do you have in mind to join the 2011 side? After what most of the supporters have seen over the last few months we are hopeful that there is a back-up plan to lure someone back to the NRL. After the last few performances I honestly think you could put the number 7 on Sterlo and he would deliver something better than what we have seen recently. Very disappointed.

yeah sad state of affairs really.
but still have money to spend so maybe some thing will come up, a english player or a player who has a falling out with current club during the off season.
You never know really.
I judge it by the preformance on the field next year.

Delboy

Ok , Zuke, just let us know what 7 there is we could get,...CiC is uinder contract to the Scum and couldm not get a release, QC a long shot but at least we had a go, Kimmorley and Barrett retired, DA wanted to go with Robson (aarrgghh), and there is no one out there.

The CEO can only chase real opportunites, we are a fickle lot, find someone to blame, look at the coach for no game plan when you have a weak 7 and 9, just pass it and hope for the best doesn't cut it.

Now that we have missed out Cooper Quade and Cooper Cronk what players do you have in mind to join the 2011 side? After what most of the supporters have seen over the last few months we are hopeful that there is a back-up plan to lure someone back to the NRL. After the last few performances I honestly think you could put the number 7 on Sterlo and he would deliver something better than what we have seen recently. Very disappointed.

I think you've completely missed the real issue here, we targeted blokes who were either under contract or the verge of retirement simply because there was no other option available, this the reason why we probably should of made an approach to Trent Hodkinson (if DA wanted him) very early in the piece but the money offered from the dogs was just too great, Quade Cooper would of been the greatest challenge and we were always shovalling sh*t up hill despite the efforts to get him here not even the greatest CEO of all time could fix issues we have in tracking down a play maker.

SDM

If I had a question to ask Paul Osborne, I would just post it on this forum, but then again, I am quite stupid.

There's only really so many plans you can have. I'd just wait and see what players are left unwanted by their clubs for next year there's still a fair few off contract but you'd think finding a dignified star is out of the question now but you can't blame Ozzie for that.

Ok , Zuke, just let us know what 7 there is we could get,...CiC is uinder contract to the Scum and couldm not get a release, QC a long shot but at least we had a go, Kimmorley and Barrett retired, DA wanted to go with Robson (aarrgghh), and there is no one out there.

The CEO can only chase real opportunites, we are a fickle lot, find someone to blame, look at the coach for no game plan when you have a weak 7 and 9, just pass it and hope for the best doesn't cut it.

Once again in the back half of the year show me a time where we completed the set and I will show you a try. The game plan was there, the execution was Piss Poor. Talk about fickle.

Delboy

Mits, you seem to jump to the defence of the hierarchy, if they had a game plan then it was not obvious.

If you continue to pick Mateo and Inu, and that is part of the game plan and you haven't altered it because your 6, 7 and 9 can't kick or break the line, then you also haven't done a godd job.

I think DA needs to be in the frame for the season being so poor, we looked like headless chooks and people want to absolve the coach, please explain.

If we miss out on QC I would allow Brad Murray to have a full season as the number 7, with Humble or Morts at 6. Then I would think about 2012 and who is available.

and whilst you say that, we've probably landed the best halfback option in the NYC comp..

Exactly Stags. Remember in the offseason prior to 2005? Smithy went all out for Thomas Leulai and missed out on him because he was under contract. He then opted to go with the best young halfback in the comp at the time (ie Tim Smith) and we had a great season. In addition we signed Paul Stringer at the cross roads of his career (a bit like Carl Webb)and a player looking for a chance to prove the doubters wrong (ie Tahu). Which in the present is similar to Maitua.

Mits, you seem to jump to the defence of the hierarchy, if they had a game plan then it was not obvious.

No mate, I just think you are jumping down the coaches throat at the slightest provocation. In the cold hard light of day, you would see that there were game plans, but poor execution cost us.

If you continue to pick Mateo and Inu, and that is part of the game plan and you haven't altered it because your 6, 7 and 9 can't kick or break the line, then you also haven't done a godd job.

Mate I have been to wenty, seen who is on our books, the cupboard is bare, seriously, I know Stagger would have Jono instead of Inu, but that is about all you could replace on a full time deal, there is no one better down at Wenty. Taniela will be good next year, get a few more games and work harder to be a full timer. He will have stiff competition, and if Tom Humble can get his mind up to the speed of first grade then we will been in a position to mate the top 8.

I think DA needs to be in the frame for the season being so poor, we looked like headless chooks and people want to absolve the coach, please explain.

The whole f**king club needs to be in the frame mate, anyone picking out one specific point of failure is simply missing the point.

The players execution, the clubs mentality the other parts of operations all had a part in this I think. There is a great deal that is just "Slightly" wrong with the club and it needs to be snapped into line quick smart.

84 Baby

Exactly Stags. Remember in the offseason prior to 2005? Smithy went all out for Thomas Leulai and missed out on him because he was under contract. He then opted to go with the best young halfback in the comp at the time (ie Tim Smith) and we had a great season. In addition we signed Paul Stringer at the cross roads of his career (a bit like Carl Webb)and a player looking for a chance to prove the doubters wrong (ie Tahu). Which in the present is similar to Maitua.
Yeah we shouldn't sign anyone for next year because history says Murray will have a blinder of a season... then in 2012 we'll sign an experienced halfback because Murray will be sh!te that year just like Smith & Morts. Or perhaps it'll be 3rd time lucky

Mark

Ando can coach no doubt but if he fails next year he should be out on his ear. It's horses for courses and for two years now minus about 8 weeks late last year the players have not responded to his coaching.

I reckon a lot of it happens to be some players bad attitude rubbing off on other players. However seeing that they will not be here next year we will now see where we are at.

PJ Marshal

No mate, I just think you are jumping down the coaches throat at the slightest provocation. In the cold hard light of day, you would see that there were game plans, but poor execution cost us.

Mate I have been to wenty, seen who is on our books, the cupboard is bare, seriously, I know Stagger would have Jono instead of Inu, but that is about all you could replace on a full time deal, there is no one better down at Wenty. Taniela will be good next year, get a few more games and work harder to be a full timer. He will have stiff competition, and if Tom Humble can get his mind up to the speed of first grade then we will been in a position to mate the top 8.

The whole f**king club needs to be in the frame mate, anyone picking out one specific point of failure is simply missing the point.

The players execution, the clubs mentality the other parts of operations all had a part in this I think. There is a great deal that is just "Slightly" wrong with the club and it needs to be snapped into line quick smart.

thats why the nsw cup competition is a complete utter joke , reserve grade needs to be brought back in