Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What those advocating afl style expansion don't want u to know

Wb1234

Well that’s a furphy but overseas interests do yes. For example, American or British interests invest a lot more in Australia than China.

Nevertheless, Australia is so inconsequential to China that the idea of an invasion is ludicrous.
Still got a few pages to catch up but this post is an actual thing of beauty. I reckon by the time you've walked from your bed to the dunny for your morning piss the sharks have already ruined your day just by existing.

Love your work buddy xx

Cheese sandwich

@Iamback is unable to stay on track. He makes up shit and derails the topic as soon as he's been proven wrong.

The fact that the nine clubs from Australia's wealthiest city are unable to generate much money from their football operations proves Sydney cannot support so many teams, yet there are idiots on here who'll argue until they're blue in the face that all clubs are necessary. Some of them have convinced themselves that the Sydney clubs are th richest. Arguing with them is like trying to convince a nutcase that they need help.
Can't work out whether you're a brilliant troll or an unhinged loon. Either way i salute you good sir.

Iamback

Well it was, caps gone down during covid $1mill and grant went up $2.5mill.

Players eba currently being re-negotiated then the clubs will have their begging bowls out and we’ll see where it all ends up.

not denying sydney rich but it’s not translating sponsors for Sydney clubs clearly.

Because you are looking at the individual clubs not the city as a whole in regards to sponsorship

Iamback

Mike Cannon-Brooks is worth $20b
Nick Politis has cracked $1b

The list goes on of wealthy people investing in Sydney clubs

Iamback

We could go on idiots like Donkey f**ker there, look at x team only has limited sponsorship

Yet Sydney has 9 teams, you add them all up
Then the net worth of guys like those mentioned, Assets of the Leagues clubs and you get the true picture of how much wealth is in Sydney particularly in NRL

Wb1234

We could go on idiots like Donkey f**ker there, look at x team only has limited sponsorship

Yet Sydney has 9 teams, you add them all up
Then the net worth of guys like those mentioned, Assets of the Leagues clubs and you get the true picture of how much wealth is in Sydney particularly in NRL
Roosters on their own have ten million cash at bank and own a block of commercial property in Bondi junction that will be a billion dollar development one day

Penrith dogs and eels all own land worth hundreds of millions of dollars

the cowboys financially are literally on par with the weakest Sydney club

Cheese sandwich

Roosters on their own have ten million cash at bank and own a block of commercial property in Bondi junction that will be a billion dollar development one day

Penrith dogs and eels all own land worth hundreds of millions of dollars

the cowboys financially are literally on par with the weakest Sydney club
Lucky they have the nrl grant to bail them out. Well that, a couple of 2nd hand car dealerships selling clapped out old camrys and a pokie den.

Because you are looking at the individual clubs not the city as a whole in regards to sponsorship
reality is doesn't matter what the whole is if the butter is spread too thin to make clubs sustainable. You're literally arguing the point Sydney is over saturated with clubs for the corporate support available, as large as it might be.

What I do find interesting is there is allegedly $15million of Sydney sponsors willing to sponsor a reborn Bears but have no interest in sponsoring any of the other 9 clubs now?

If clubs are so well off why is NRL continually taking money from other areas of the game to put club grants up?

Wb1234

Lucky they have the nrl grant to bail them out. Well that, a couple of 2nd hand car dealerships selling clapped out old camrys and a pokie den.
Nrl finances are so good these days

I didn’t even know so many clubs were acquiring assets

even non Sydney clubs are rich af

the raiders have like four leagues clubs and I think they have one hundred million in assets too

indeed there are very few clubs these days that don’t have either a leagues club and or a significant property portfolio

Nrl finances are so good these days

I didn’t even know so many clubs were acquiring assets

even non Sydney clubs are rich af

the raiders have like four leagues clubs and I think they have one hundred million in assets too

indeed there are very few clubs these days that don’t have either a leagues club and or a significant property portfolio
Its almost like they should be funding their own stadiums, encouraging NRL to invest more in assets and not asking for grassroots funding cuts so they can get bigger grants?

Cheese sandwich

reality is doesn't matter what the whole is if the butter is spread too thin to make clubs sustainable. You're literally arguing the point Sydney is over saturated with clubs for the corporate support available, as large as it might be.

What I do find interesting is there is allegedly $15million of Sydney sponsors willing to sponsor a reborn Bears but have no interest in sponsoring any of the other 9 clubs now?

If clubs are so well off why is NRL continually taking money from other areas of the game to put club grants up?
Enough room for 10 clubs in Sydney is what you're saying. Nice, day out at North Sydney Oval sounds good.

Iamback

Who says the butter is too thin? Clubs are making profits on top of having all these asset

What areas are missing out?

Steel Saints

It’s interesting isn’t it.

I think they have made some decisions which has made it worst.

1. Going to Paramount now when the competition has little traction was a bad one. For people who were casual viewers like myself the more games you can make accessible to us, the more chance I’m going to sit down to watch.

2. They have probably expanded too quickly. I get the strategy with the teams but maybe they just had to wait to make sure the interest was there first.

3. They probably need to go back to the marquee signing era. Nani is a good one for Melbourne Victory but the comp needs more of those players coming down. Players who people have seen in big European comps will make people tune in.

I think they have lost the casual viewer and they are quite important.
There was a time back in 2015 where Australia were the champions in Asia at international and club level. But things started to go pear shape following the late Rebecca Wilson article where it named and shamed fans, who happened to be on FFA's banned list at the time. Fans were unhappy with the what they perceived a breach of privacy from the FFA and News Ltd.

And this lead to fans boycotting games, and the A League hasn't really recovered since. Add to that, the EPL left Fox, leaving the A League isolated.