Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Where has Smith gone wrong?

Jono078

Luke Quigley.

But no, id rather go Michael Young instead of moving our best attacking player and replacing his proper position with someone like Naiqama.

EDIT: Holy sh*t that's freaky, Roopy :|

macavity

Young is not FG standard (sorry PK)

I would look at Matt Thurston from Wests Newcastle - Quigs maybe, sure.

or if we want to bite the bullet, give Stig a go and make sure we have good defenders around him.

The other option is walsh at 7 and dureau at 9, but we have to admit bails at 6 is a failure - and I dont think smith will - and at any rate, we need the best 7 in the club at 7.

so we will see the same crap - kids at 9 (failure), bails at 6 (failure), mullo at 7 (failure) and Dureau getting 20 mins a game (what a waste)

Joker's Wild

I think moving Gids to hooker really buggers up the balance in our backline, Wicks has got to go and Scotty needs to be put at half and left there for the rest of the season. Who do we put at hooker? Youngie would be an obvious choice but Id really like to see a younger guy like Stig (yes Im aware he is a 5/8) get a shot. How much worse off could we really be?

roopy

The only young guy who is half a shot is Joel Brown, or maybe you could give that junior kiwi guy, Osbourne, half a game or so.
Osbourne is bigger and could probably defend at firstgrade level, but only for about 30 minutes i reckon.

Pika

Who is Osbourne Roop?

Byron Freun might be another option.

Tell you what, if I could go back in time I would home deliver Seu Seu as much Maccas as he could eat at whatever time he wanted.........

roopy

Who is Osbourne Roop?
Manaia Osborne - a junior kiwi hooker we picked up the week after Terrence was released from memory. He was terribly unfit and played three games of NYC and 3 games of NSW cup off the bench and was starting to look decent in NSW cup last time i saw him, but still didn't have much game time in him.
Fruen is an aggressive little guy, but not terribly skillfull and would cop a beating in the seniors i reckon.
Tyne Owen might have been ready to step up if we had given him some decent game time.

Pika

owen is back in the training squad.

I think Osbourne is injured.

Yeah, Byron would get towelled. Thats how skinny our options are.

roopy

Pity about Osbourne - he looked like he had some skills - just needed to get NRL fit.

Adsy

I think we all agree that something needs to be done about the team line up with both Bedsy and Hilder out.

I could cop Young being brought back into FG only if we then get to see this. 1. Gidley 6. Mullen 7. Dureau. (Bailey bench) I know Youngy has the attacking skills of Kevin Rudd but atleast he can defend and will give early ball to our 3 playmakers.

Or i think its coming to that stage of the year where we need to bite the bullet and make some bold selection decisions and i can't think of anything bolder then letting Stig have a go at Hooker in FG. His passing game is so good i think if you put him in between Simmo and Houston he wouldn't be found wanting in defence either.

Pika

Stig could not handle the defence of NRL.

I think we need to turn him into a hooker or we will loose him though.

Mullen is our long term 5/8, and at 21, there is no real place for Stig.

Young could do it..... I guess.

Joker's Wild

Stig could not handle the defence of NRL.

I think we need to turn him into a hooker or we will loose him though.

Mullen is our long term 5/8, and at 21, there is no real place for Stig.

Young could do it..... I guess.

His defence was pretty good on Sat against the Dragons. I havnt seen much of NYC this year though so it may just have been a good game for him.

Ill defer to your judgement on this Pika as you see more of the boys day in day out but the boy does have some talent.

Pika

His defence was much improved mate.

He is doing a mountain of extra work on it.

Still not close to NRL.

Its why Stig and only a handful of others out of NYC will get a sniff at NRL. They put in all the extra work to improve.

The rest just turn up, do the minimum, have a game on the weekend, and stuff about the rest of the time.

This is not the thread, but in my opinion, the problem with NYC is you have 2-3 geniune prospects for NRL, 2-3 with potential yet to be realised, 5-6 honest hard workers who will probably not get there.

The rest are either not up to it, or dont care, and are dragging the others down with them.

Jono078

IMO Young has to be hooker.

He's played there all year, he is probably the best defender we can put there.

And if the halves ask for the ball he'll get it to them.

antonius

Well after this weeks team selections ..... I'm over Smith, he can p!ss off any time soon.

Hanscholo

I think Gidley at 9 is fine so long as the FB is awake and interested. Its the one spot on the field you cannot be lethargic or disinterested, and wes at times appears to be both to me. It may just be an impression i have but he reminds me a little of when Abraham was playing back there...

I would really like to see us invest in some young backs that have the potential to play there because I dont think Gidleys career is set there even now. If Gids goes really well at Hooker and he has the potential to be great he might just demand selection there. Then again i wouldnt put it past Kurt to be the first player to play both fullback in defence and hooker in attack, as crazy as it sounds he is something of a freak as far as being able to do that kind of thing.

roopy

Uate will be a fullback from now on i reckon.
He needs to be a bit safer under the high ball - like Kidley in the early days - but he does double or triple the work when he plays fullback and is just an amazing attacking weapon.