Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Where now for Barba ?

What do we lose at center? f**k all, put Barbs there and see what he does with a bit of space. His defense is good but will be targetted off our line. Small price to pay if he finds his legs.

I think he's still going be a white elephant.

Card Shark

Bench or the Jets for mine. It worked yesterday. Don't make changes for the sake of it.

Hearing ya 66 but that's a Flanno attitude.

I know Barba hasnt set the world on fire with us but who has, until yesterday.

Pick the best players in the backs & get them a spot.

Barba in a winning team where he can play without expectation will see him shine I reckon.

PHaTMaN

Yesterday we had 55% of possession, only made 5 mistakes and gave away 4 penalties.

We won't get a better run than that all year, and we still nearly lost.

We were camped on the roosters line for eternity in the first half and couldn't score a try.

Robson has to go. I recall one play in particular where we would have had about 3 on 1 if Robbo went out the back and he hit the front man in Lewis instead.

Ennis can take more control of the team and guide them round from hooker, Robbo runs and passes too slow and his kicking game gets a pass mark at best. He has been a solid servant for the club but his time as a halfback is over IMO.

PHaTMaN

Failing the above (which I realise won't happen) Loots has to go, Bird to centre and Barba to 5/8.

Feej

Yesterday we had 55% of possession, only made 5 mistakes and gave away 4 penalties.

Agree with this, however if we played the same sort footy from round one we're certainly not one win from five starts.

PHaTMaN

Agree with this, however if we played the same sort footy from round one we're certainly not one win from five starts.

Agreed but we need to make sure we take our opportunities better so we don't need to have 55% of possession and win.

The boys shouldn't need 20 plus tackles in your opposition 20 before they score.

Bird can't be moved after a near MOTM performance. Barba can't be left out if we want the best of him later in the year if we get anywhere near the finals. Holmes can't be left out because he's too good and brings the old hackneyed X-factor.

There is no reason at all why Holmes pathway has to change at this stage. Ano reason why the fullback/winger rotation thing can't be done with Barba/Holmes instead of Gordon/Holmes. Keeps Holmes in the team and puts Barba in a more comfortable spot. When BB is on the wing I can see him being very dangerous, in the Nathan Merritt style. Sniffing around, chasing kicks, popping up in broken play, following forwards. Would give 2 better offload sniffers and more options this way.

Leaves Mick gordon on the razors edge and the only real downside to that is who will be goalkicker. Maybe Mickey Ennis or Val Holmes.

The Dad's army mentality needs to go. The boys club needs to be dispersed. I don't see a spot for Gordon in the team, he's a dinosaur and most people's choice to get the can is Beale who is not playing any worse than Gordon. That's just a fact. Never been a Leutele fan either so for mine he wouldn't be missed either so perhaps Gordon/Leutele is a choice to make in the centres with favouritism going to Loots because Gordon can't pass to save himself.

The Sharks need the best team on the oval, both potentially the best team and the actual best team.

Barba, Holmes, Bird and Feki are potentially the best 4 backs and the 3 young ones are actually the best ATM.

So the choice for the rocket, for mine, comes down to Gordon/Beale/Leutele, none of whom are much of anything for whatever reason. Robson stays which makes 8 into 7.

One thing that shouldn't be considered is to damage Bird's confidence by moving him after that game just to put a down on confidence player in the spot. Thats if Bird's confidence can be damaged at this stage. That young man has the confidence and arrogance of a truly elite player. Can he maintain consistency or was he a recipient of the old opposition doesn't know what they are facing thing so everything he did was new and surprising? He could be a Loz Daley reincarnation or he could be like Braith Airwaster, all flash and potential till he got worked out.

Too early to make him an immortal people :)

Card Shark

Agreed but we need to make sure we take our opportunities better so we don't need to have 55% of possession and win.

The boys shouldn't need 20 plus tackles in your opposition 20 before they score.

Knights couldn't score once in 55 attempts, tackled in the Dragons 20, the night before.

We are a team very low on confidence, who rarely score tries.

Yeh we had heaps of pill in good position but we kept plugging away.

No surprise to me we 1st scored from 30m out.

1 step at a time.

We were camped on the roosters line for eternity in the first half and couldn't score a try.

Robson has to go. I recall one play in particular where we would have had about 3 on 1 if Robbo went out the back and he hit the front man in Lewis instead.

Ennis can take more control of the team and guide them round from hooker, Robbo runs and passes too slow and his kicking game gets a pass mark at best. He has been a solid servant for the club but his time as a halfback is over IMO.

Who's your halfback then PHaT?

Jono Russell

To be fair the Roosters had 56 points against them the previous 4 games. The best defence in the NRL. If not for that 36 points that Souths put on them it would be a lot less.

So scoring 20 against them isn't that bad. I believe if we had those numbers against a lesser team we may have put up a much higher score.

We won. Hopefully the team has some confidence now and beat the Knights on Friday.

Snoop Shark

Bird can't be moved after a near MOTM performance. Barba can't be left out if we want the best of him later in the year if we get anywhere near the finals. Holmes can't be left out because he's too good and brings the old hackneyed X-factor.

There is no reason at all why Holmes pathway has to change at this stage. Ano reason why the fullback/winger rotation thing can't be done with Barba/Holmes instead of Gordon/Holmes. Keeps Holmes in the team and puts Barba in a more comfortable spot. When BB is on the wing I can see him being very dangerous, in the Nathan Merritt style. Sniffing around, chasing kicks, popping up in broken play, following forwards. Would give 2 better offload sniffers and more options this way.

Leaves Mick gordon on the razors edge and the only real downside to that is who will be goalkicker. Maybe Mickey Ennis or Val Holmes.

The Dad's army mentality needs to go. The boys club needs to be dispersed. I don't see a spot for Gordon in the team, he's a dinosaur and most people's choice to get the can is Beale who is not playing any worse than Gordon. That's just a fact. Never been a Leutele fan either so for mine he wouldn't be missed either so perhaps Gordon/Leutele is a choice to make in the centres with favouritism going to Loots because Gordon can't pass to save himself.

The Sharks need the best team on the oval, both potentially the best team and the actual best team.

Barba, Holmes, Bird and Feki are potentially the best 4 backs and the 3 young ones are actually the best ATM.

So the choice for the rocket, for mine, comes down to Gordon/Beale/Leutele, none of whom are much of anything for whatever reason. Robson stays which makes 8 into 7.

One thing that shouldn't be considered is to damage Bird's confidence by moving him after that game just to put a down on confidence player in the spot. Thats if Bird's confidence can be damaged at this stage. That young man has the confidence and arrogance of a truly elite player. Can he maintain consistency or was he a recipient of the old opposition doesn't know what they are facing thing so everything he did was new and surprising? He could be a Loz Daley reincarnation or he could be like Braith Airwaster, all flash and potential till he got worked out.

Too early to make him an immortal people :)

Great post old mate

Card Shark

I also agree with Freny, except:

I think we need Gordon in the team, we need someone to convert all the tries we are going to score. ;-)

Snoop Shark

As a business decision Gordon should be released by June 30. It's in the best interest of both the club and player. The fact we have plenty of depth in the outside back department makes the decision even more sensible

I also agree with Freny, except:

I think we need Gordon in the team, we need someone to convert all the tries we are going to score. ;-)

like that sitter that hit the post yesterday :)

he is a great goal kicker but I agree with frenzy, I think we have better options up our sleeve